The basic problem is that the paizo folks thought it was obvious that only the active player could defeat, evade, or succed at a check.
The thing is that board gamers are all Rule's lawyers at heart, so they didn't see this as obvious.
The solution is to state specifically in the rules that "only the player encountering a card can defeat, evade, or succed at a check". Without this change, you will never satisfy the obtuse.
Q1) Has been answered before. You add just the skill die. So if you have a skill that is d12+4, and then a blessing is played you would get 2d12+4 not 2d12+8. If your skill is d6 and you play a weapon that gives a d10, then play a blessing, your roll is 2d6+1d10. There is no choice of die.
Q2) I actually agree with h4ppy here. If a blessing is played and then Lini switches her strength dice to a d10, you would still roll 2d10.
For example if Lini discards a card to change her d4 to d10 then plays a blessing she rolls 2d10 for that strength check.
But I would also rule that if she plays the blessing first than discards a card to change the d4 to a d10 she would still roll 2d10 rather then 1d10+1d4.
Why? Why not it is a coop game. There is no tactical advantage to the order of card play, so why punish a player for making a random decision.
Here is a list of all the boons you can use to help anyone anywhere that I can find:
Here is the list of the boons you can use to help anyone at your location that I can find:
Here is a list of the boons that you can use to help someone at a different location (not your location) that I can find:
Light Crossbow (2nd power only)
Note this list does not include hero powers, and I might be missing something. Please ask if you think something is missing or wrong.
The Poison Pill
"Add 2 to your checks to acquire allies."
All cards the improve your roll have the "add X to ... checks" form.
Approach to Thistletop
"The difficulty to defeat monsters with the Goblin trait is increased by 1d4"
Add 1d4 to the difficulty.
All cards which make checks harder all use the "difficulty ... s increased by X"
it is pretty easy to distinguish between the two.
Charles Scholz wrote:
This has been confirmed you add two to your roll for allies in Poison Pill.
(If you want proof Vic has confirmed this elsewhere. I can look it up latter if you prefer.)
edit: link - http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2q2q3?The-Poison-Pill
In general, boons that add dice (Blessings) or bonuses (Strength for example) are good.
Boons that say "defeat", "evade" or "succeed" are not allowed to be played on others. (For example: Invisibility)
Exceptions are thing that specifically break this general rule. (For example: many allies can only add dice to your checks, but some can help others, or Sanctuary says specifically you can help others at your location evade.)
For the Rulebook (p. 18)
"Attempt to Temporarily Close Open Locations: When a player encounters the villain, each player at any other location may immediately attempt to fulfill the “When Closing” requirement
Each character at a location can attempt to temporarily close the location. If ANY player succeeds his location is temporarily closed.
As said above:
From Rulebook (p. 18)
"If You Defeat the Villain, Close the Villain’s Location: You do not need to fulfill the “When Closing” requirement. Examine the location deck; if there are no additional villains in it, banish all of the cards and flip the location card over. The location is permanently closed, and the location’s “When Permanently Closed” effect is triggered. If there are villains remaining in the deck, banish everything except the remaining villains and shuffle the deck if needed; the location is not permanently closed, but it is temporarily closed, and the defeated villain cannot escape to it."
This is very clear. Defeat a villain and you close the villain's location.
NOG the Demoralizer wrote:
There a lot of cards that help others.
All of the blessings.
Some spells like Guidance, Aid, and Cure
Some items like the blast stone.
Many Allies like the Guard, most of the named allies can help anyone.
What about cards that evade or defeat a monster like caltrops.
The rules make it clear that, in general, only the active player may evade an encounter.
Rules (p. 10)
Note if YOU have a power or card that lets you evade. So in general other heroes can't help you evade, except in cases where the card says otherwise, like with Sanctuary.
Mike has said on the geek that only the active player may play a card that "defeats" a bane, like Caltrops.
Hope that helps.
Here is a link to Mike's response to this on BGG.
Hope that helps.
Maybe this concept got caught up in one of our discussions of the ongoing story arc. If you're playing in "campaign mode," your characters won't get the rewards for *winning* the same scenario over and over again. You're expected to move on, because the villain you just beat is presumed to be six feet under, and thus can trouble you no longer.
Well, except the villains who *like* being six feet under.
One thing I like is that the tactics of the game change depending on the number of heroes and the particular heroes in that group.
There is no one way to play that is correct for every group. If you have two heroes you have to things differently then with 4 or 6. This makes the replayability very high.
No. From the rules: (p 12)"
Summoning and Adding Cards
Sometimes you will be told to summon a card and encounter it, or to add a card to a deck. When this happens, retrieve the card from the box. If you need to summon or add a number of cards and there aren’t enough copies of that card in the box, the current player decides how to distribute the cards that are there; ignore the rest. After encountering a summoned card, return it to the box unless you’re instructed otherwise. If the summoned card is a villain or henchman, defeating it does not allow you to close a location or win the scenario—ignore any such text on those cards."
Look at the last sentence. It clearly states that you may not do this.
Let me try again.
There are two kinds of powers.
Card power listed on cards like, spells, allies, weapons, armor, and items.
Character Powers, listed on the character sheet.
From the rules:
during a check you can play card powers one of each type of boon, (p11)
and use each character power once each. (P11)
When you play a card, (not a character power) you are revealing, displaying, discarding, burying, or banishing the card. (P10).
So for example:
When Lini Reveals her longsword for a fight this DOES count as playing a weapon since she played a card power on her card. She may not play another weapon.
When Lini Discards her blessing to become a bear this DOES NOT count as playing a blessing because it is a character power on her character sheet. She may play another blessing.
When Lini Reveals her Animal Ally to add the d4 this DOES NOT count as playing an ally because it is a character power on her character sheet. She may play another or even the same ally for its effect.
This is actually something that is not clear in the rules, but has been confirmed by Mike in many posts. I hope you found this helpful. If not I will stop.
I'm pretty sure that it has been mentioned a number of times in this subforum that revealing a card isn't playing it. That is why it doesn't go against the 1 card type per check rule.
TClifford Chad Brown is one of the developers of the game.
He is correct.
Besides it is written in the rules that revealing a card is playing it when it is written on a "card" power.
For Lini she can also play an ally because revealing an animal ally is a "character" power, NOT because revealing is not playing a card. If that was the case, Valeros could reveal 4 weapons on a check, which is obviously silly and against the rules.
Yes this correct. You can explore many times in a turn up to 10 ;).
Also, as far as I can tell reveals don't count towards limit of 1 card per type. That is why say Lini can reveal a Snake Ally for the 1d4 to the check and then Discard the Snake Ally for an additional 1d6 based on the text on the card.
Reveals do count as playing a card. Lini can do this since one is playing a card and the other is using a character power. During a check you can play (reveal, discard, dispel, etc whatever it says in card power box) one of each type card, and use each character power once.
Each player can use one of each type boon in a check, so each player could play an ally, blessing, spell, weapon, armor, and item.
But must weapons your checks.
You are also limited to one card or power that changes the type of check. So you couldn't play acid arrow and the longsword together since the longsword makes the check melee and acid arrow makes the check arcane.
Charles Scholz wrote:
My point is you can't close a location until you defeat a henchman. Unless the henchman is near the top, there are not enough blessings if the villain is in the last location explored.
A couple of things, blessings you find in game can also be used to explore. Many allies also let you explore. The odds of all henchman and villains being on the bottom of all the decks is very small. (1 in 100,000,000 for 6 players). Blessings also can sometimes be recharged, so they might able to be used again to search.
Basically the chance of a group being unable to finish a scenario due to the villains/henchman being to low in the location decks is probably about 1 in a 1000 for 6 heroes and much less for even 5 heroes.
Will it happen to some groups? Sure maybe once, but it will not happen very often.
Disinherited Knight wrote:
Not Mike, but none of what you are saying works. Playing the card is using the "card" power not the "charecter" power.
So if you discard the animal ally to fuel the "charecter" power you do not get to recharge.
If you discard the spell you do not get to recharge it either.
Update: Friday night, 4 buisness days after the order was declared ready by paizo, UPS claims they have sorted the package, and that it will arrive in next Friday in 5 business days.
I have never heard of 9 day shipping before.
What is your recommendation for shipping on future orders? So that I do not have to UPS again. I find nine business day shipping to be crazy, I would prefer not to use UPS if that is their standard shipping practice.
Is USPS better to the East Coasst?
Here is what the UPS website says Friday morning:
Do you think they just haven't updated the tracking information, but the package is on the way?
Or do you think UPS is so swamped that it is still sitting in their warehouse 4 days latter?
Thanks again, I guess I am just used to online game stores where the tracking information gets updated right away.
Sorry for being a pest.
Vic Wertz wrote:
Of course, thank you!