Search Posts
Can I use the Butterfly Sting's effect more than once in a round? In other words, assuming I crit'd 4 times in a round, could I pass off all 4 crits? Would it matter if I hit multiple opponents? Feat: Butterfly’s Sting (Critical) You can forgo a critical hit in order to pass it on to an ally. Prerequisite: Combat Expertise. Benefit: When you confirm a critical hit against a creature, you can choose to forgo the effect of the critical hit and grant a critical hit to the next ally who hits the creature with a melee attack before the start of your next turn. Your attack only deals normal damage, and the next ally automatically confirms the hit as a critical.
Under the Traps, Hazard, & Special Terrains section of the SRD:
In the Advanced Players Guide:
The Adventurer's Armory says:
Which of the three is correct/current? Further, as 3 of the 4 "standard" bears withing Pathfinder are large creatures, is is safe to assume that a bear trap will work equally well on an ogre as "bear traps work as well for trapping humanoids or monsters." And finally, if I wanted to secure the trap to a tree instead of spiking it to the ground, would you consider the chain that is part of the trap (for spiking it to the ground) is of sufficient length to wrap around a typical tree?
I am looking for advice on whether or not an NPC in a party should receive loot. Note, I am not in need of a distribution method. It would seem that if the party hired the NPC, then the amount of reward would have been decided in the contract. But what if the NPC is just someone you encountered on the road and happens to be heading your way? For example, Shalelu in the Rise of the Runelords AP (please no specifics, I am a player, not the GM). Is she entitled to loot? It does seem quite clear that Paizo does intend that she NOT take away from the party's XP earned. Also, one might argue that she helps the party and risks life and limb while doing so. But, is she really on par with the rest of the members of the party? Is she geared as a PC would be for her level? Is she of equal level to the party? If not, she is either not pulling a full "share" of the weight, or may in fact be pulling too much of the load (if higher in level and gear). Assuming she is lower in respect to level/gear/power, then she is similar to a cohort. Cohorts don't inherently earn a share of loot, or do they? While the above is my specific situation, I am asking the question with the hopes of finding a more general reply.
If anything, within GM caveat, can be considered an improvised weapon, and you can threaten adjacent squares with improvised weapons (fact), then wouldn't almost everyone always threaten and be eligible to conduct attacks of opportunity? If so, does this break part of the "flavor" of the game. More importantly, to me personally, by threatening, they increase the likelihood of a rogue being able to get into a sneak attack position. 1) a bard playing a musical instrument could use the instrument as an improvised weapon. 2) a ranger could use his bow as an improvised weapon (not to shoot arrows with but to strike the opponent with physically), or an arrow for that matter. 3) a wizard with a sheathed sword cane could use the "scabbard" as an improvised weapon. Thoughts?
In this recent thread: http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2p0l7?At-what-point-does-a-Coup-de-Grace-break I agree with most of the others who are supporting the idea that invisibility drops after the completion of the attack. I would go further and say it as after the attack action. This would in turn imply that a rogue sneak attacking an opponent while invisible using multiple attacks via the full round attack action would indeed get sneak damage on each individual swing. Which I also happen to believe is correct. However, several posts I have seen elsewhere indicate that a rogue only gets the first "swing" as a sneak attack and the rest as normal attacks. Can anyone point me to a PF FAQ or Dev comment stating something specific one way or another? Thanks,
While a poison use class (rogue, ninja, or alchemist) cannot accidentally poison himself while applying the poison to a weapon, what about other times? If he rolls a natural 1 to hit, does he suffer the same fate as non-poison class persons? What about when he is collecting the poison/poison components from it's/their natural source(s); ie, snakes venom, purple worm poison etc? The classes themselves speak of: "At 1st level, a poisoner is trained in the use of poison and cannot accidentally poison herself when applying poison to a blade. " Which is not the same as what is stated in the poison section: "Whenever a character applies or readies a poison for use there is a 5% chance that he exposes himself to the poison and must save against the poison as normal. This does not consume the dose of poison. Whenever a character attacks with a poisoned weapon, if the attack roll results in a natural 1, he exposes himself to the poison. This consumes the poison on the weapon. Characters with the poison use class feature do not risk accidentally poisoning themselves." Additionally, there are several monster races which describe poison use as: "...are skilled in the use of poison and never risk accidentally poisoning themselves." Also, does applying poison to a weapon provoke an attack of opportunity? Would/should it count as an "oil?" Thanks for any help provided.
|