Tpy0's page

Organized Play Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So, to clarify, if you're vaccinated, but haven't received a booster in the past 90 days (the eligibility window), you're ineligible to attend, do I have that correct?

Can we get some definitive clarification on that, as not only is that an incredibly tight timeline, its not an insignificant amount of money to spend to only be turned away due to poorly-defined guidelines.


MrCharisma wrote:

I think the specific-trumps-general rule is in place here. It looks like the Feed option is in place of maintaining a grapple. As you say it has Grab, so if the attack succeeds it can also attempt a grapple check, and the victim takes CHA-drain.

Also yes it's giving up it's full-attack, but the feed ability targets touch AC (so much more likely to succeed) and deals ability drain, so it's pretty strong.

I don't think that's clear at all here, there's nothing in the language to imply feed is in place of maintaining a grapple, it in fact specifically calls out it has to be used on a target you are currently grappling. Short of adding class levels and grabbing some of the grapple feats, as far as I can tell this ability doesn't work at all. Grapple rules go:

Your turn

>First thing you do - choose to maintain the grapple y/n

>From there get your turn

So, if I feed, do I automatically maintain the grapple? Do I need to roll to maintain the grapple? Do I get to maintain AND feed? Can I feed multiple rounds in a row? Does the target still have the grappled condition EVEN if I don't roll to maintain the grapple? etc, etc etc.

I know of several monsters with this issue, would love a RAW clarification.


Alright, got a weird one.

Last night, we were running this creature: https://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/aberrations/yangethe/

Under it's ability "Feeding Tentacles": As a standard action, a yangethe can use its mouth tenta/cles to feed on a helpless creature or a creature it is currently grappling. In this case, if the yangethe hits with a melee touch attack, the feeding

Mechanically, this doesn't work, does it? The monster has grab (ex) but on anything other than a helpless target, you wouldn't be able to initiate the feed, would you not?

Think of this scenario - the Yangthe attacks as a standard action, free action grabs. It is unable to use it's "Feeding Tentacles"

Ah, ok so it has to be next turn...except, maintaining a grapple is a standard action....and the ability is a standard action.

Am I missing something? I feel like monsters run into these grapple issues all the time, but as deeply as I study the rules I can't find anything other than

"Do all your tentacle attacks, constrict, release, attack again." due to the flawed action economy of maintaining a grapple.

Maybe the argument could be made that you could do the feed as part of your full attack action but...that's pretty house-ruley.

Would love to hear people's thoughts.