Tpy0's page

Organized Play Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




Alright, got a weird one.

Last night, we were running this creature: https://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/monster-listings/aberrations/yangethe/

Under it's ability "Feeding Tentacles": As a standard action, a yangethe can use its mouth tenta/cles to feed on a helpless creature or a creature it is currently grappling. In this case, if the yangethe hits with a melee touch attack, the feeding

Mechanically, this doesn't work, does it? The monster has grab (ex) but on anything other than a helpless target, you wouldn't be able to initiate the feed, would you not?

Think of this scenario - the Yangthe attacks as a standard action, free action grabs. It is unable to use it's "Feeding Tentacles"

Ah, ok so it has to be next turn...except, maintaining a grapple is a standard action....and the ability is a standard action.

Am I missing something? I feel like monsters run into these grapple issues all the time, but as deeply as I study the rules I can't find anything other than

"Do all your tentacle attacks, constrict, release, attack again." due to the flawed action economy of maintaining a grapple.

Maybe the argument could be made that you could do the feed as part of your full attack action but...that's pretty house-ruley.

Would love to hear people's thoughts.