Sahji Softpaw's page

No posts. Organized Play character for Elbedor.




I ask because of the Rogue Talent "Spell Storing".

Spell Storing (Su):
Prerequisite(s): Use Magic Device 1 rank

Benefit(s): The rogue can store within himself a single targeted harmless spell of up to 2nd level. The spell must have a casting time of 1 standard action. Anytime a spell that meets these conditions is cast on the rogue, and he does not already have a spell stored, he can choose to store it rather than have it take effect immediately. Anytime afterward, as a standard action, the rogue can have the spell take effect (acting in all ways as if it had just been cast on him).

I was curious if something like Shield or Mirror Image would work (assuming the Rogue either had the proper class, wand, or scroll to cast the spell). Although they are not technically listed as (harmless), it could easily be assumed that any spell with a target of "you" is automatically (harmless).


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Several threads have addressed the Brawler hybrid class and how it is meant to interact with the Monk's Robe. Multiple positions have been discussed, but I haven't seen a consensus with regards to specific questions before those threads either come to an end or wander off onto sidetracks.

What benefit does a Brawler gain when wearing a Monk's Robe? How does this change if the Brawler takes an Archetype that gives up his Unarmed Damage and/or AC Bonus progression (yet retains his Close Weapon Mastery class feature)?

We can certainly discuss it here with new or old points of arguments, but I'd also like to attempt getting a FAQ generated for this. Past threads have shown evidence for table variance and it'd be nice to get a definitive answer. If I'm remembering correctly, several of the past positions have been:

#1 Replace "Monk" in the text with "Brawler". Advance accordingly. Any class features traded away through Archetypes cannot be advanced.

#2 Unarmed Damage progression advances as normal, but a Monk's AC Bonus is added to the existing Brawler's AC Bonus since one is untyped and the other is a Dodge bonus. Any WIS bonus may or may not apply and the Monk bonus may be calculated at 5th level or at 'appropriate class level +5' (depending on the argument).

#3 Monk's Robe text of "as a monk" is similar to the Close Weapon Mastery text "of a Brawler". Consensus seems to be that an Archetype like Strangler who trades away his Unarmed Damage progression still retains it through Close Weapon Mastery (albeit at 4 levels lower). Translated to Monk's Robe, this means the wearer's abilities aren't treated as 5 levels higher (like some magic items are written), but he is granted specific abilities equal to a monk 5 levels higher than his level.

Relevant details:

Monk's Robe:
When worn, this simple brown robe confers great ability in unarmed combat. If the wearer has levels in monk, her AC and unarmed damage is treated as a monk of five levels higher. If donned by a character with the Stunning Fist feat, the robe lets her make one additional stunning attack per day. If the character is not a monk, she gains the AC and unarmed damage of a 5th-Level monk (although she does not add her Wisdom bonus to her AC). This AC bonus functions just like the monk's AC bonus.

AC Bonus:
Brawler: At 4th level, when a brawler wears light or no armor, she gains a +1 dodge bonus to AC and CMD. This bonus increases by 1 at 9th, 13th, and 18th levels. These bonuses to AC apply against touch attacks. She loses these bonuses while immobilized or helpless, wearing medium or heavy armor, or carrying a medium or heavy load.

Monk: When unarmored and unencumbered, the monk adds his Wisdom bonus (if any) to his AC and his CMD. In addition, a monk gains a +1 bonus to AC and CMD at 4th level. This bonus increases by 1 for every four monk levels thereafter, up to a maximum of +5 at 20th level. These bonuses to AC apply even against touch attacks or when the monk is flat-footed. He loses these bonuses when he is immobilized or helpless, when he wears any armor, when he carries a shield, or when he carries a medium or heavy load.

Close Weapon Mastery:
At 5th level, a brawler's damage with close weapons increases. When wielding a close weapon, she uses the unarmed strike damage of a brawler 4 levels lower instead of the base damage for that weapon (for example, a 5th-level Medium brawler wielding a punching dagger deals 1d6 points of damage instead of the weapon's normal 1d4). If the weapon normally deals more damage than this, its damage is unchanged. This ability does not affect any other aspect of the weapon. The brawler can decide to use the weapon's base damage instead of her adjusted unarmed strike damage—this must be declared before the attack roll is made.

As far as I'm aware, to date no Errata or FAQ has been published to change or clarify a Brawler's interaction with this magic item.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I am wondering as to how this Barbarian power actually works. There has been little discussion on it here. So i figured I'd ask. Namely;

1). Is the Fort DC calculated WITH or WITHOUT any DR being considered?

2). Can this power be used to reduce ANY type of Hpt damage or only that from physical attacks (not spells)?

For #1 it seems that "damage dealt" is just that, since any damage stopped by DR isn't actually dealt. So 30 pts of rolled damage would mean a Fort DC of 20 to a Barbarian with DR 10/-. Then on success the actual damage would be 15 of nonlethal which is then reduced to 5 by the DR.

For #2 the ability does not appear to have any limiting text like a Rogue's Defensive Roll talent does. So it would appear to work against anything that causes Hpt damage.

Is this correct? Or am I missing something?


I've seen this asked in a few much earlier posts that didn't get a lot of responses, but I'd like to nip this before it becomes a point of argument in my VTT groups.

Can a druid who is wildshaped (therefore unable to speak) still perform Handle Animal in order to Handle and/or Push his companion?

My thought is Yes, because the skill does not say it is language dependent. Plus creating the Druid class in such a way that makes one ability shut down another ability would seem to be a poor design. But I was hoping to get others' thoughts and reasons in order to have something concrete to point to when this comes up in my VTT groups.


Although the Strangler Archetype gives up the Brawler's Unarmed Strike and AC bonus, he retains Martial Training.

Martial Training wrote:
At 1st level, a brawler counts her total brawler levels as both fighter levels and monk levels for the purpose of qualifying for feats. She also counts as both a fighter and a monk for feats and magic items that have different effects based on whether the character has levels in those classes (such as Stunning Fist and a monk's robe). This ability does not automatically grant feats normally granted to fighters and monks based on class level, namely Stunning Fist.

So what happens when a Monk 1 / Strangler 6 puts on a Monk's Robe?

Does he gain the Unarmed Strike damage and AC bonus of a 6th level Monk?

Or does Martial Training mean he gets those features as if he was a 12th level Monk?


34 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

I know there have been several threads floated around over the past few years that tackle this issue. But I've not seen anything definitive that helps to carry this topic out of the "grey" area. So this is more of a FAQ request to help clear up a core issue that has been debated for quite a few years now.

Argument For:
Inspire Courage CAN be maintained while Raging because none of the Rage restrictions are being violated. Inspire Courage is not listed as requiring Concentration or Patience and does not require a Skill Check to use.

Argument Against:
Bardic Performance is a collection of magical effects that are described as being created by use of the Perform skill, regardless of whether any skill check is made or not. Since Perform is a Charisma-based skill that is not given as an exception in the Rage description, it is disallowed.

Feel free to post your arguments FOR or AGAINST the use of Inspire Courage while Raging. But also please hit the FAQ button to see if we can get this answered definitively.


Sort of a dumb question here, but I'm looking at the Grapple rules and I seem to be missing something. I have no confusion over initiating a grapple. But the rules on ending or maintaining seem a bit vague.

If I'm controlling a grapple on a subsequent round, I must either spend a Free Action to end it or my Standard Action to maintain it (with a +5 bonus to the check). Well if I'm maintaining something, that must mean I'm continuing to do it; which suggests that I started my turn doing it and need to spend my Standard to continue to do it or spend a Free to stop doing it (which is the default action if the Standard isn't spent).

But the rules don't say WHEN I must spend that Standard. There's nothing in the text that says something like "At the start of your turn you must choose to end or maintain the grapple..."

The wording for it is very similar to the Duration of Concentration for certain Spells. Neither of these specify WHEN the Standard Action to maintain must be spent. Which leaves me with defaulting to the normal rules for Action Types; that is to say, it can be spent at any time during my turn.

That just seems odd though to think "At the start of my turn I am grappling. So first I Rake as Free Actions, then I redirect an active spell of mine as a Move action, then as a Paladin I self heal with my Swift action, and now...oh yeah, I spend my Standard to maintain."

I know opinions on this vary, but I'm trying to get at the core of the RAW concerning this.

Is this right? Or am I missing something?


Does the Fast Shifter alternate Kitsune trait affect the economy cost of shifting into Fox Shape in addition to Change Shape? Or does it apply only to Change Shape?


I have 12 characters registered with PFS currently that range from -1 to -14 and for some reason -7 and -13 don't exist. If I try to make a new character, the system will number it as -15.

A while back I had created a new character concept that was listed as -7, but then deleted it before it was ever used (this was when I had 6 characters at the time). But then later when I wanted to reconsider a 7th character, it gave me the -8 numbering for it and skipped -7 completely. I'm not sure why -13 was skipped also.

This is really a minor issue, but is there any way for me to get -7 and -13 back so I don't have gaps?


If a spell, effect, feat, ability, etc that applies the Confused Condition to a target is mind-affecting, it is described as such in its text (i.e. "This is a mind-affecting effect"). However, the Confused Condition text itself does not say it is mind-affecting specifically and there are a few things that can apply this Condition that are not said to be mind-affecting.

Nightmare Vapor (poison) for one.
Madness Variant Channel ability for another.

Both of these apply the Confused Condition, but neither make any mention of being mind-affecting. The first is a Poison. The second is a Harmful channel.

So what happens when a Vermin inhales Nightmare Vapor and fails its save? It is immune to mind-affecting effects, but not to poison effects. So does it sufferer Wisdom damage and the Confused condition? Or just the Wisdom damage?

Same question with performing a Harmful Madness variant channel on anything living or undead.


Ok, maybe this is a dumb question and maybe I'm just missing the obvious, but this came up in discussion elsewhere with a regular gaming friend of mine and his take on it is vastly different than mine.

When a Sorcerer uses a Divine scroll, a Cleric uses an Arcane scroll, or a Rogue uses any Scroll, what are all the UMD checks that are required to succeed?

My understanding was that you would make the standard UMD [Using a Scroll] check at a DC of 20+caster level. Assuming your ability score was high enough, this is all you have to do. Otherwise you also must make a UMD [Emulate an Ability Score] check.

The alternate viewpoint is that in addition to these another UMD [Emulate Class Feature] check is needed.

So which way is correct? Am I removing an important step or is he adding an unnecessary one?


Ok, I posted this question in another thread, but it's probably better to toss it up here where it will get more visibility.

I GM'ed the 5-6 table for this event just yesterday during an official Online Convention and:

Spoiler:
The House achieved 44 Victory Points for an Impressive Performance, but failed to stop or convince the BBEG. So the overall mission failed and everyone was caught in Earthfall. I'm not sure of the other tables, but mine specifically kept their Kreighton Shaine instance alive for Part 3.

So if the NPC was kept alive (Part 3 ended the moment we moved into the Conclusion) and the House scored 44 pts for the Impressive Performance, doesn't that satisfy the requirement for the 2nd Prestige point?

The Overseer/Head organizer says no. I think yes. Anyone have an official ruling on this? Maybe I'm just missing something. It IS a large packet packed full of detail, so that's possible.


I was pulling the description of this item from the Adventurer's Armory which reads:

"This bitter red chew comes from the dried leaves of galtroot, a stunted bush found in Cinderlands. It stains the teeth dark crimson but also increases the duration of barbarian rage entered into during the next hour by 1 round."

It wasn't clear whether this affected a single rage or any rage since it says "increases the duration of barbarian rage" not "increases the duration of a barbarian rage".

Also I had another player point out that on the ArchivesofNethys site, it is listing Barbarian Chew as costing 25gp per pound and only benefiting a single person once per day. This conflicts with the Armory listing that has it as 1gp, no weight, and no limit on uses per day.

So which listing is correct and what exactly is the right way to interpret how this chew works?


I was asked this and thought it a good question that I didn't have a RAW answer for. So figured I'd toss it in here to get feedback:

A wizard casts Shocking Grasp and holds the charge as he steps into a room with an enemy monk in it. The wizard goes first and readies an action to discharge the spell into the monk at the moment the monk hits him. On the monk's turn, the monk makes an unarmed attack and hits the wizard. The readied action is triggered. So now what happens?

Does the wizard need to make a touch attack roll? Or does the shocking grasp discharge automatically since contact is being made at that moment between the two?

Thoughts?


For reference:

PRD wrote:

Ricochet Shot Deed (Grit)

You can ricochet a firearm shot off the wall and still hit your target.

Prerequisites: Grit class feature or Amateur Gunslinger feat, Blind-Fight.

Benefit: You can fire a shot at a wall or piece of solid terrain, and have it ricochet off. When you do, use the square immediately in front of the wall or piece of solid terrain to determine line of sight to a target, and this square is considered the new origin square of the attack. Use that square to determine the effects of cover, and your own square to determine the effects of concealment. You can make this shot as long as you have at least 1 grit point. When making this shot, you can spend 1 grit point to ignore the effects of all cover or concealment. You must choose to spend the grit point before you make the attack roll.

Highlighting mine.

Ok, so I've seen this come up in just a few threads from a while back and none of them really seem to answer my questions.

#1 Can I really shoot at a section of wall with my musket 200ft away, bounce the bullet off it, and hit another target 40 ft further on and have it count as my first range increment (since the space by the wall is now counted as the origin of my shot)?

#2 Same as #1, but now the target is invisible (Total Concealment) and ducking down peering at me from behind a rock (Improved Cover) from 240 ft away. So I spend a Grit point and do the same thing. No penalties involved. If I can roll his Touch AC, then I hit.

???

This seems a bit overpowered, doesn't it? Or am I just reading it wrong? I can't think the average GM would go for #1 at all and would instead count the entire trip of the bullet as the range. For #2, same issue with distance. But spending Grit to remove Cover/Concealment penalties, no problem there.


Ok, I have a character concept for PFS which I would like to build on. Ozburn Borehammer, an old codger of a dwarven soldier from The Five Kings Mountains who has a long history of fighting giants within the mountains and goblin raiding parties from Isger.

His weapon of choice is the musket as he was part of a small division that used those. He's come out of retirement and dusted off his old firearm to lend his services to the Pathfinder Society. I'm currently planning 5-8 levels of Musket Master and am not sure where to go from there (5th gives training, 7th some useable deeds, and 8th a free Feat). I would like to take Glory of Old and Killer as Traits and to pick up Steel Soul in addition to the standard array of ranged Feats like PBS and Precise shot.

Why Dwarf? Fits the character concept in addition to nice Con and extra Wis for Grit and Will Saves (never liked being shut down in the middle of a good fight).

I'm planning him out for 11 levels as those are ones he will see play at. So that leaves 3-6 levels that I can use on other things. If possible, I'd like to keep the BAB progression full so once he hit's 11th, he has his +11/+6/+1 BAB going. If I trade away BAB, it would have to be for something worthwhile...something worth losing an attack over (albeit a very low attack).

I've looked at dipping into Ranger. Doing so gives me wand usage (Abundant Ammunition and Longstrider specifically). I also noticed the Martial Flexibility of Brawlers that could prove nice with just a single level dip. Having IUS available to threaten around him is a plus in addition to the ability to temporarily pick up any Combat Feat he qualifies for. Paladin offers little unless I went with Divine Hunter just to get Precise Shot and open up Pali wands for use. And Fighter or Urban Barbarian are always options too.

One last note, in addition to standard gear that buffs Dex and Wis, I'd probably be looking to get hold of a +1 Seeking, Thundering weapon of Distance. Plus Weapon Blanche on the bullets to punch through material dependent DR.

Thoughts or ideas?


This is a PFS build idea that I'd like to tighten up for play. I may or may not apply some GM credits to it in the near future in order to help get it off the ground. In the meantime though, I'd appreciate any help in trying to get this thing nice and tight.

Kitsune race

Male, Lawful Good

Paladin (Sacred Shield) 3
Magus (Eldritch Scion) 8

STR 09
DEX 17 +1 (lvl 8)
CON 14
INT 10
WIS 10
CHA 17 +1 (lvl 4)

Feats: Weapon Finesse, Dervish Dance, Spell Penetration, Greater Spell Penetration, Extra Arcane Pool, Improved Critical, (free spot; but considering Lunge for Reach or Agile Maneuvers and Spellcombat with a Truestrike Wand).

Traits: Magical Knack, Fate's Favored

Arcana: Arcane Accuracy, Wand Wielder

Skills: Some Diplomacy and/or Intimidate, a smattering of Knowledge skills, and enough UMD to use Wands.

Tactics are to SpellStrike with Shocking Grasp and/or Frostbite and Spellcombat either with spells or wands. Tripping casters is an option or sundering Spell component pouches after Truestriking through a wand or slot.

He is planned out to 11th level as he'll probably see very little play once he hits 12th. Order of progression is up in the air right now. Gear-wise, I'm only tracking a handful of things like weapons, armor, and such. A few basic things to consider:

+3 Scimitar
+2 Mithral chainshirt
Silver Smite Bracelet
+1 AC Ioun
Jingasa of the Fortunate Soldier (for +2 AC goodness from trait)
Cloak of Resistance
Handy Haversack

So advice is not only welcome, but requested; anything you see that might need to change or be added to make him better.


I've run into this topic in only 1 spot on an unrelated thread. The discussion there was short-lived and didn't seem to really go anywhere. So I'll ask here because I'm curious.

If something like a Magus/WHW or a Magus/Alchemist used Spellcombat to cast True Strike and then attack with their hair/tentacle, what happens?

They get the +20 on the roll to hit.

Does that +20 carry over to the following grapple check because the grapple is part of the same attack?
Or are the two rolls treated as separate and so it doesn't translate because it ends immediately after the "to hit" portion?

And if the second (meaning the two are separate instances), can you use Spellcombat as a full-attack action to Attack normally and cast True Strike...and then Grapple as your Free action after the full-attack?


Does it just clatter to the ground?

Does it burst open/shatter on impact and deal splash damage as normal?

They are designed to break on impact, but I'm wondering if just dropping it provides enough of that "impact" to count.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Offered as a FAQ candidate, as the title says:

Do I still threaten with a worn Cestus outside my turn when I use an item in that hand on my turn?

Examples of items held in the hand wearing the cestus include:

Wand; Can I activate a wand on my turn and still threaten adjacent squares with the cestus?

Dagger; Can I attack with a dagger on my turn and threaten with both the dagger and the cestus? (perhaps a target has DR/bludgeoning and another has DR/slashing).

Reach weapon; Can I attack 10ft out with the reach weapon and still threaten adjacent with the cestus?

A current discussion can be found here. Comments can be directed there. This thread is primarily to FAQ it and bring it to the attention of the Devs. Please hit FAQ if you'd like to know. And if you're sure you DO know, still hit FAQ for the rest of us ignorant lot. :p


1 person marked this as a favorite.
PRD wrote:
Cestus: The cestus is a glove of leather or thick cloth that covers the wielder from mid-finger to mid-forearm. The close combat weapon is reinforced with metal plates over the fingers and often lined with wicked spikes along the backs of the hands and wrists. While wearing a cestus, you are considered armed and your unarmed attacks deal normal damage. If you are proficient with a cestus, your unarmed strikes may deal bludgeoning or piercing damage. Monks are proficient with the cestus. When using a cestus, your fingers are mostly exposed, allowing you to wield or carry items in that hand, but the constriction of the weapon at your knuckles gives you a –2 penalty on all precision-based tasks involving that hand (such as opening locks).

Bold mine. But what does "using" mean in this sentence?

Wearing? If so, why doesn't it just say "When wearing a cestus..."?

Wielding? Other rules seem clear that when you can or cannot "use" something, it is referring to performing the function of that item. You must "use" a shield in order to get the AC bonus from it. Also when wearing a Light Shield, you can carry but not "use" weapons in that hand.

Does this mean I can wield a Cestus while wielding a dagger in the same hand such that any attack or AoO that I make can be done with either weapon? (Note, I didn't say both weapons).

An example would be punching a target with the Cestus on my turn and discovering that the target has DR/slashing. Then when he provokes an AoO on his turn, I elect to slash with the dagger.

And for clarification, I'm not talking about TWF with both weapons. The FAQ about that topic makes it very clear that you can't make an "off-hand" attack in cases where you don't have an off-hand.


So assuming I earn a Chronicle Sheet that has on it:

1 XP
2 PP
500gps

Which of these can I voluntarily give up? If for some reason I don't want the gold award, can I just claim 0 gps?

What about the Prestige?
What about the XP?

Can I just voluntarily take a 0 on any/all of these if I so wished?


White-haired Witch, Prehensile Hair Hex, and Final Embrace Feat.

There have been discussions on these and similar topics in how they work. But I have not found anything definitive that talks about how these 3 interplay with each other.

I am considering a variant build for PFS based on Mathwei apNiall's Defiler found in this guide.

In reading through the various pdf's, FAQs, and discussions, I come away with the following:

As WHW2/Hexcrafter4+ I have White hair that is always active. With it I:
Can attack targets 5ft away.
Use my Str on attack rolls.
Deal 1d4 + Int in damage on a hit.
Get a free grapple check (using Int) to grapple the target that I hit which, if successful, does not leave me grappled.
Deal 1d4 + Int constrict damage as a swift action on a successful grapple.

If I take Final Embrace, I:
Change the Constrict from a swift to a free action, but only on targets that are my size or smaller.

Lastly, by activating Prehensile hair, I:
Increase the reach of my hair from 5ft to 10ft.
Use my Int on attack rolls.
Add 1.5x Int on hit and constrict damage if it is my sole attack.
Can Spell Combat with the hair because it is associated with a hand.

Is this an accurate reading of how these interact? Or do I have it wrong somewhere?


I am trying to purchase a shirt and I keep getting:

"Sorry, there was a problem handling your request. The system administrator has been notified.

Please contact customer.service@paizo.com if you continue to have difficulties."

This has been happening for over a week now. My address is correct as is my billing information. But when I attempt to place the order I get the above error. I have sent 2 emails, but have received no responses. Please fix this so I can make purchases. I intend to purchase not only a shirt, but several PDF's as well.


Are there any items or abilities out there (PFS legal) that boost Intelligence (either permanent or temporary) that would stack with a Tome or a Headband?


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm sure this must have been asked somewhere already, but I can't seem to find it in Search anywhere.

'Fighting Defensively as a Standard Action' doesn't mention needing an "Attack Action", but lists only "when attacking". I can only assume this means whenever you make an attack roll.

Grappling is an attack.

#1 You make an attack roll to grapple.
#2 The PRD says "Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll."
#3 If the target is under the effects of something like a Sanctuary, you need to save against that.
#4 If you are invisible, making a Grapple attack breaks the invisibility (I assume).

So can you Fight Defensively while Grappling? What am I missing here?


Sun's Blessing wrote:
(Su): Whenever you channel positive energy to harm undead creatures, add your cleric level to the damage dealt...

Highlighting, mine. Maybe an obvious question. Maybe not.

Does this mean a 4th lvl Cleric adds 4 to the initial damage before any saves? Or is the 4 added to the damage actually dealt?

#1 Zombie makes save and takes (2d6+4)/2.

#2 Zombie makes save and takes (2d6)/2 + 4.

???


Player #1 buys two 4th lvl "Scrolls of X" for 700gps each to use in a rare emergency. During play, such an emergency arises and he uses one of the scrolls.

Player #2 sees this and requests the other of those scrolls to be cast on him.

Can Player #2 offer 700gps to Player #1 for the other scroll thereby treating it as if Player #2 had made the purchase normally and Player #1 is now just borrowing it to cast it on #2?

This does not apply to anything with charges (such as players paying 15gps per charge off a wand). This is in regards to single use items such as scrolls or even potions.

Similarly if I have an Elixir of Swimming and someone else needs it, could we trade gold/Elixir? Or do I have to choose between losing gold or not helping out a teammate?


Ok, I've tinkered with this guy after looking over some Cleric guides and wanted to get feedback on how to make him shine. I have him planned out to 11th level on purpose. I'm not sure how much play he'll get once he hits 12th. So I'm really focusing on 1-11 playable range.

Logus Blithe
Human
Cleric of Desna
Chaos (Revelry) and Luck Domains
Longspear for reach

STR 17 +1
DEX 14
CON 14
INT 10
WIS 15 +1
CHA 07

Feats:
Combat Reflexes, Additional Traits, Impr Init, Toughness, (empty), (empty), Divine Interference.

As you can see my 7th and 9th lvl Feat picks are empty. I could go with Power Attack as he'll be wielding a spear and something else to feed off that (like bullrushing to push targets back beyond spear reach so they have to close in again). I considered Sacred Summons, but in looking at his spell selection that I'd most likely run with, there isn't much room for Summoning. Was really REALLY hoping to Retrain for Quicken SLA (Bit of Luck) out of the Bestiary...but in PFS, no go. :(

Traits:
Fate's Favored (Faith), Observant (Grand Lodge), Reckless (Combat), Paragon of Speed (Regional)

He's set to gain a nice little bonus to any Luck effect on him (which will be from Divine Favor/Power and Prayer mostly). Observant and Reckless make Acrobatics and Perception class skills so he's less likely to be surprised and can frolic about the battlefield as needed.

Skills (all favored class bonuses here):
Acrobatics and Perception both 11.
Some in Heal, Profession, and Sense Motive.
1 point each in various Knowledge, Linguistics, and Spellcraft (he didn't pay much attention in class).

Some Gear:
+1 Conductive, Courageous, Vicious Longspear
+4 Str Belt
+4 Wis Headband
+1 Moderate Fortification Mithril Breastplate
Sprinkling of Ioun Stones placed in Wayfinders (+2 Dex, +1 Init, +2 changeable skills x2, +1 Saves).
Pots, Scrolls, Wands, and other odds and ends.

His tactics would be to Enlarge via pots (early on) or Righteous Might (later) for size and reach. Spend his actions casting, buffing, and healing. AoO anything that moves around the battlefield with either Longspear (15-20ft) or Unarmed (5-10ft). I could add spikes to the armor and pick up Martial Proficiency (armor spikes) instead of having IUS through the Dex Ioun, but not sure that's worth the feat.

He can deliver his Chaos Touch through his weapon so BBEG has to double roll on attacks or saves and he can buff friends with Luck. Bless, Good Hope, Prayer, Divine Favor, Divine Power, and Righteous Might would all get some play (making sure not to layer similar bonuses that don't stack). And between his Trait and Weapon, he'd be enjoying a +1 to any Luck or Morale bonus (although I could drop Courageous for the +1 there and free up 14k gold for something else).

Ok. So what am I missing? What can I improve? What change can make my delicious bundle of chaos an awesome force to be reckoned with and a welcome ally to whatever party he runs in?

Advice?


You can have Weapon Focus (Grapple). Which is basically using your body to restrain someone. You can also use Weapon Focus for whatever weapon you're using to Disarm, Trip, or Sunder.

What about Bull Rush and Overrun? Here you're using your body to either shove someone or push past someone. Can you Focus with those just like you can Grapple?


For reference:

Greater Overrun wrote:
Whenever you overrun opponents, they provoke attacks of opportunity if they are knocked prone by your overrun.
Vicious Stomp wrote:
Whenever an opponent falls prone adjacent to you, that opponent provokes an attack of opportunity from you.
Trip FAQ wrote:
Yes, the two triggering acts are similar here but they are different. One occurs when you trip a foe. The other occurs when a foe falls prone. It requires a large number of feats to accomplish, but you can really pile on the attacks with this combination.

Thoughts? Rule quotes? I did a board search but didn't find the answer to this anywhere. If I have Vicious Stomp and knock a target prone with Greater Overrun, does he provoke twice or just once?


31 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

Can I use Greater Trip on a prone target and make that target provoke AoOs for me and my allies? Why or why not?

Where an AoO lands in the trip sequence and what constitutes a “successful trip” have been points of contention for a while now. If “success” is determined by the Roll only, then it would suggest the answer to the above question is “Yes”. But if both the Roll and the Knocking Prone must take place, then the above answer may be “No”. The rule wording tends to get ambiguous.

This gets slightly more complicated when throwing in debate over whether non-stacking, non-worsening, and non-lengthening conditions can be reapplied for the purposes of triggering abilities (i.e. “Whenever you trip a target…”, “Whenever you blind a target…”, “Whenever you diarm a target…”, etc).

There are other threads to debate these issues as have been done at length. For this, please hit the FAQ button and let’s see if we can get this answered.


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Greater Trip and the placement of the AoO before or after the Prone effect have been discussed on here extensively by many people (myself included). But a scenario has come to mind that begs the question of how this trip event should resolve.

Setting: 3 PCs (each with Halberd, Greater Trip feat, and plenty of AoOs available) track down and fight Mr. BadGuy (MBG). Combat begins and everyone moves into position. Flanking is unimportant.

PC#1 has the Initiative and declares a Trip attack. The roll is a success. Now whether the AoO happens here or after the Prone condition is unimportant at the moment. By the end of PC#1's action, we know that MBG is still alive, is prone, and all PCs have had their AoOs. Onto PC#2 who is next.

PC#2 declares a Trip Attack against MBG who is prone on the ground. Assuming his roll beats the CMD, what happens? We know his application of the prone condition will not take effect as it's already there. But what about the AoOs generated by the feat due to a "successful trip" as laid down in the Greater Trip feat?

This is Point A.

Point B moves beyond PC#2's action to MBG's action. He stands up. This generates yet more AoOs, but PC#3 decides that his attack will be a Trip. Again we know that the Prone from this cannot take effect as MBG is still technically prone, but just like Point A, can PC#3 force another series of AoOs through the feat rules?

Your answer may depend on whether you believe the AoO is supposed to come before or after the "prone" and what constitutes a "successful trip", but I'm curious as to how people would rule this.

Thoughts?


Ok GMs and rule-junkies, put your thinking caps on. How should this weapon be ruled? You've got the Net. No problem there. But how to call the +5 enhancement and Flaming?

Questions to consider:

#1 Does the Flaming apply damage on the hit?
The touch attack counts as a hit for many things like splash weapons and touch spells.

#2 Does the Flaming apply automatically each round?
This wouldn't seem to be the case per the rules, but hard to imagine how it wouldn't.

#3 Is the Burst/Escape DC increased?
Magic weapons have higher hardness and hpts, so it would seem to make sense they're harder to break.

#4 If the +5 only applies to attack rolls, are you stuck with paying 50K gold just for an attack bonus with no other benefit?

#5 What if this were a +5 Flaming Snag Net?

I've found 3 other posts concerning similar issues, but most responses in them were conjecture. I'm curious about RAW...or lacking that, RAI. Or lacking that, heck just do the best you can, but please try to keep it rule interpretation and not House Ruling.


I'm not going to put down all the specifics, but just wanted to toss out the idea. I heard it mentioned in passing before and wondered if anyone had experience with playing it or seeing it in action.

Fighter.

IUS, Impr Grapple, Greater Grapple.

WF and GWF in Grapple and Heavy Shield Bashing.

Shield Bashing feats line.

Wpn Spec and Greater Wpn Spec in Heavy Shield Bashing.

Weapons Training: Close.

Vital Strike feats line.

Basically you initiate the Grapple in Round 1 at a -4 since you only have 1 hand free. In Round 2, use your Move Action to maintain the Grapple and Pin your target. Use your Standard Action to Greater Vital Strike him with your Heavy Spiked Shield of Bashing. Damage should be around 8d6 + Str + enhancements if Shield Master + Feats and class abilities + any enhancements you've put on the shield spikes as a weapon (flaming, shocking, etc).

Repeat until you've pounded him senseless into the ground.

This would primarily be for taking down casters, if not other targets.


I'm reluctant to drag up this old topic, but as much as I've searched the forums, I am unable to find anything official by the developers on this...unless the official response is enjoying a Concealment effect against my Search attacks.

I understand the difference between Unarmed Striking and Grappling. They are differentiated in the Weapon Focus Feat and as such it makes sense that WF (Unarmed Strike) does not translate into a bonus on Grapple checks and vice versa. Even though they both employ free hands, they are two different styles of combat. Got that.

The lingering question, and I know there have been a plethora of legitimate and well-reasoned responses on both sides of this, is:

Does having magically enhanced gauntlets and/or the Mighty Fists Amulet grant a bonus to Grapple CMB?

The implication at first glance would seem to be 'yes'. Since grappling requires you to have both hands free to avoid a penalty, then the hands are being used. However, as stated above, using hands that grab as opposed to fists that strike are two different combat modes. But then so are striking with a sword and using that sword to Trip (and yet the bonuses translate over from one fighting technique to another).

As mentioned, I have read all sorts of replies and reasoning on this topic, but I am curious as to any "official" ruling on this matter other than "delegated to DM ruling".

So if anyone can elaborate on this, I would be most thankful.