RUMBLETiGER's page

9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Kayerloth wrote:

Other fine print, bolding mine:

spell text wrote:
You can only use the breath weapon once per casting of this spell. All breath weapons deal 6d8 points of damage and allow a Reflex save for half damage. In addition, some of the dragon types grant additional abilities, as noted below.

and

CRB, Magic, Polymorph subschool wrote:
In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

By RAW it might prove impossible to cast spells with Material Components(without the appropriate feat(s)). An individual DM might allow you to work around it particularly with some coin spent on getting reequipped properly to carry a component pouch etc..

I talked with my DM about breath weapon and material components. I assured him that even if I only had 1 use of breath weapon ever, the other buffs were worth it, he generously houseruled I could breathe once per minute.

I pointed out to my DM the rule about the material components and gear being absorbed. I wasn't going to go thru with it if it meant my spell book was inacessable. We agreed that if I just took off the relevant items before the Polymorph, than picked them back up after, problem solved, not absorbed, and so I can use my spell components pouch. In game, our city had just been destroyed and is in ruins, I flew over the city, cast Locate Object to look for a pack saddle, and replaced my backpack with that for more effectively carrying my gear in the new form.

I'm playing my PC as still being a PC. He's going around saying to other people, "hey, it's still me!" And so far not trying to come across as an actual dragon. I'm sure an opportunity to pretend to try to be a monster will be handy, but we've only had 1 session as a dragon.

I will be taking the spell Infuse Self next level to return to a Tiefling form for brief periods of time. I have another thread on here discussing how 2 polymorph spells with different durations should be expected to interact.

Believe me guys, all of this has been researched, thought thru, and discussed with DM. We just need to figure carry capacity.


I don't understand. Form of the Dragon I states "you become a Medium chromatic or metallic dragon" in its opening line, and it lists Bronze as one of the Dragon options. Medium sized bronze dragon is what the spell does.

It is definitely possible that it could be dispelled. However it was cast by a creature with caster level 17, so the DC to do so is 28. I expect I can get a few levels worth of adventuring before that happens. Since we are level 5 right now, im looking at an opponent with a CL 8 rolling a nat. 20 to pull a dispel off, hopefully I won't run I to that or greater trouble for a while.

My DM has already approved of and applied the Wish, we are all good there. Everything I wished for was solidly within the rules for the Wish spell.


Polymorph Any Object duplicates Greater Polymorph.

Greater Polymorph duplicates Form of the Dragon I.

Form of the Dragon I turns you into a medium Dragon. I'm the size of a wolf or small pony.

So, same type (+5), same or lower INT (+2), same size (+2) gets me the 9 magic number for duration permanent.

I'm aware of all the changes, just needed to hammer out the carry capacity detail.


It is not mount related, my level 5 Tiefling Wizard was given a Wish for a quest completion and said, " I Wish to become a Bronze Dragon as per the Polymorph Any Object spell."

So, I'm trying to figure how much I can carry now. I'm looking for rules/mechanics support for one over the other.


My DM and I are trying to clarify if a dragon, specifically Bronze metallic but the chromatic and metallic all seem the same in missing this information, counts as a quadrupled for multiplying STR carrying capacity.

Can't find any clear info either way.


Polymorph Any Object says "This spell functions like Greater Polymorph"...

Greater Polymorph says "This spell functions as... Polymorph...Beast Shape VI... Elemental Body III... Alter Self... Plant Shape II... Form of the Dragon I..."

I think the argument of Same vs. Different spells doesn't apply, PAO says it functions like these different spells. Mechanically, they should operate under the rules as if they were the same spell.

I just needed someone to point me to the rules on how overlapping spells with different durations interacted.


I'm curious as to how two polymorph spells with different durations would interact.

The rules for polymorph spells (https://www.d20pfsrd.com/Magic/#TOC-Transmutation-Polymorph) reads, in part,

"You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell."

What I want to know is what the phrase "Taking the place of" means in the following situation:

My Wizard PC would like to use the Polymorph Any Object spell to become a medium sized dragon, as per the spell Form of the Dragon I, with a permanent duration. Now, there may be some times when becoming humanoid again would be convenient. If Alter Self was cast, I understand that I can choose to have the Alter Self spell override the Polymorph Any Object.

What I need to know is, does the duration of permanent on the Polymorph Any Object dragon form continue after the Alter Self spell expires, or is it gone?

I imagine there exist someplace rules for explaining spells with different durations overlapping, but I cannot find them.


I am building a Hayclon Druid for an upcoming game.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/core-classes/druid/archetypes/paizo-druid-a rchetypes/halcyon-druid-druid-archetype

The important part of the archtype for this discussion is that it grants a bonded object (which happens to be a mask) like a Wizard. I got to wondering if I could gain a second bonded object such as a ring from Eldritch Heritage (Arcane), and came across a few forum discussions debating if a Wizard could get a second bonded object by the feat.

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2quze?Wizard-with-Eldritch-Heritage-Feat-2-Arca ne
https://www.reddit.com/r/Pathfinder_RPG/comments/5cp8jl/can_a_wizard_have_t wo_arcane_bonds_through/

It appears the points that suggest a Wizard cannot get a second bonded object are tied to not having "spells known", and interpretations of the wording of the Wizard/Sorcerer stacking in the bloodline. I'm curious if being a Druid instead of a Wizard sidesteps these pitfalls, allowing for the entire Druid spell list to count at "spells known" and otherwise validating the build.

Input would be appreciated.


Since learning about maze cores, I've wanted to put a weapon or other technological item inside a prosthetic limb.