Raistlin

Pit Wizard's page

9 posts. Alias of Taperat.


RSS


Definitely needs an errata, because I would have just assumed it was the Monk's key ability score. I even went on the 2e Archives of Nethys and used Ctrl+F to try and find mentions of Wisdom, and I found nothing. If it is Wisdom, that puts a damper on my plans for a Ki Monk with Sorcerer Dedication.


What ability score is tied to the Monk's ki spells? The 'Sample Monk' sidebar for the Ki Monk says "Wisdom empowers your ki spells", but I can't find rules text in the Monk class that has anything to do with Wisdom.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I asked the same question earlier. As written, it's not totally useless but it doesn't seem to be a very good use of your money. Adamantine shields, on the other hand, would be very useful.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I don't see any reason why not, at least for home games. There doesn't seem to be anything particularly special about the books themselves, other than the fact that they're called out as separate items and not just 'books'. Society play might be more strict about that sort of thing.


The bonus to trips that Wolf Stance gives you if you have Handwraps is nice and all, just kind of lame that it doesn't apply at 1st level when you'll probably be getting it.


Crexis wrote:

Thanks guys all is clear!

Except one small thing. At level 8 you have 2 focus points. Can I use both of them on my higher level (8th) Focus spell slot?

Yep, you can spend the Focus on whichever Focus spell you want.


Crexis wrote:

Once I hit level 8 and have 2 focus points. Can I use both to cast my 8th level advanced school spell or do I have to get them to use 1 of each?

And does it take 10 mins or 20 mins to get 2 focus points back through refocus?

It costs 1 Focus point to cast either school spell, and you get 1 point back per 10 minutes you spend Refocusing.

*Edit: Refocusing, not Defocusing. Stupid phone.

**Double Edit: You can only use the Refocus action if you've spent at least 1 Focus point since the last time you Refocused.


Lord_B wrote:
I agree with what Pit Wizard said. Our statements are not mutually exclusive. The language is what's confusing. A School Spell is not a Wizard Spell, it's a Focus Spell available to Wizards.

Exactly. I agree with the sentiment that Focus spells should have remained known as Powers. Especially with Wizards getting extra spell slots from their Arcane School, and 'School Spells' from their Arcane School, but those spells don't go in those slots. It's confusing.


When you choose your Arcane School, you get an associated school spell, which is cast using your Focus point. It only ever costs 1 Focus to cast a Focus spell (in this case, called a 'school spell'). You can gain an additional Focus spell by taking the Advanced School Spell class feat at level 8. This feat also gives you an additional Focus point.