Sorcerer

Patrick Chamberlin's page

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber. Venture-Agent, Alaska—Juneau 9 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 10 Organized Play characters.


RSS


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Something that I came across when I was reading several spells, was that it would point out that a natural 1 would fail the check.

When I checked the glossary (p. 514 CRB) I came across these entries?

“Natural 1: This occurs when you roll a 20-sided die as part of a game mechanic and the result on the die is 1. A natural 1 is always an automatic failure if it’s rolled for an attack roll or a saving throw, even if your bonuses might otherwise make it a success.

Natural 20: This occurs when you roll a 20-sided die as part of a game mechanic and the result on the die is 20. A natural 20 is an automatic success if it’s rolled for an attack roll or a saving throw, even if the result would not normally succeed.”

This seems to imply that a natural 1 does not automatically fail, and a natural 20 does not automatically succeed at skill checks unless it specifically says so. Is that the case?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber
Hithesius wrote:
CRB P.321: Critical Damage - Shields wrote:
A starship takes critical damage from an attack only if that attack deals damage to the ship's Hull Points, even if the result of the gunnery check is a natural 20. If the attack's damage only reduces a starship's Shield Points, no critical damage occurs.
Shield damage is inadequate. The hull must take damage for critical damage to occur.

Thanks a ton, I missed that.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Thanks for the input. Specifically, I was referring to shooting around obstacles as seen in several SFS scenarios. If the target is on the other side of an obstacle, can you shoot around the obstacle?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

How much control of starship tracking weapons does a character have after it’s been fired?

I know similar questions have been asked (http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2ukpl?Tracking-weapons-and-obstacles#1), but specifically, can a character control a missile/torpedo to travel around corners or take an indirect route during a single round?

Page 321 of the CRB states that tracking weapons have perfect maneuverability and can make turns, as necessary, but this appears to be talking about if the missile is still in flight at the end of its movement and the target moves.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Are the AC and TL for the ships given in the AP and SFS scenarios meant to have PC Piloting ranks added to them?

Page 320 of the CRB says:

“AC = 10 + the pilot’s ranks in the Piloting skill + the ship’s armor bonus + modifier based on the ship’s size + bonuses and penalties from successful or failed stunts and actions”

“TL = 10 + the pilot’s ranks in the Piloting skill + the ship’s bonus from defensive countermeasures + modifier based on the ship’s size + bonuses and penalties from successful or failed stunts and actions”

This implies that the AC and TL given are not complete. Is that the case?

Furthermore page 326 of the CRB describes the glide action: “Glide (Helm Phase, Minor) You move the starship at half its normal speed. The starship can take turns during this movement, but the starship’s distance between turns increases by 2. You can add your ranks in the Piloting skill to the starship’s AC and TL for this round. You can only take this action if no other pilot actions have been taken during the helm phase (including glide).”

Is the addition of these ranks already calculated into the AC or is it counted again?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

An interesting question came up during a recent question in which my PCs had a critical hit against an enemy starship without actually taking down the shields.

Can a starship incur critical damage to a system if there is no damage to the hull incurred from the attack? Page 321 of the CRB implies that it can, but I want to verify.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Several questions regarding starship free attacks:

1) Do free attacks occur in the helm phase (when they are provoked) or during the gunnery phase after it is provoked?

2) Do free attacks function like PC reactions? (i.e. can a starship make multiple free attacks in a single round of combat?)


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

As Venom Spurs and weapons gained from necrografts are given an item level, can they be given Weapon Fusions?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

A question popped up in a recent game. Do persistent damage effects (e.g. burn and corrode) from weapons that are dealing nonlethal damage (due to weapon fusions) deal lethal or nonlethal damage?