Nikaea's page

10 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


Hello, dear forum members. I need some clarification.

Inspired weapon special ability states that "...but in addition to adding the result of the inspiration roll to the attack roll, the investigator adds twice the result of the inspiration roll to the weapon's damage roll."

Manyshot feat states that "When making a full-attack action with a bow, your first attack fires two arrows. If the attack hits, both arrows hit. Apply precision-based damage (such as sneak attack) and critical hit damage only once for this attack. Damage bonuses from using a composite bow with a high Strength bonus apply to each arrow, as do other damage bonuses, such as a ranger's favored enemy bonus. Damage reduction and resistances apply separately to each arrow."

Uh, so, suppose my Investigator made a full attack with Inspired shortbow. He used inspiration point on the first roll and hitted. Well, since using Inspired weapon, (1d6)*2 points will be added to damage. Question is, would this damage added to Manyshot's second shot?


Ah, thank you. Never knew Expanded Arcana even exists :(


Hello, dear forum members. I just need a bit of (final) clarification on an issue that has already discussed multiple times before... My apology, my English is bad and need some help from you guys to fully amd correctly understand (at least to me) confusing sentence.

So, I get that FAQ (No. Adding a spell to your list of spells known does not add it to the spell list of that class unless they are added by a class feature of that same class. For example, sorcerers add their bloodline spells to their sorcerer spell list and oracles add their mystery spells to their oracle spell list. The spell slots of a class can only be used to cast spells that appear on the spell list of that class.) effectively stopped non wiz/sorc to cast wiz/sorc spell since it is not on your spell list.

Well, if a spell that is added through this method is in both wiz/sorc spell list and non-wiz/sorc class's spell list (for example, for some reason if A Bard is trying to add Heroism (Wiz 3, Bard 2 spell) through New Arcana and cast it) would the caster not be able to cast it because the spell is technically from Wiz/Sorc list and/or the spell level does not match?


Ah, ok then. Thank you guys.


Melkiador wrote:
Quote:
This ability otherwise functions as the summoner’s normal summon monster I ability.

Ok. So only SM1 equivalent, right?


Hi, on Master Summoner Archetype' page's Summoning Mastery ability part, it is written:

Summoning Mastery (Sp)

Starting at 1st level, a master summoner can cast summon monster I as a spell-like ability a number of times per day equal to 5 + his Charisma modifier. The summoner can use this ability when his eidolon is summoned. Only one summon monster spell may be in effect while the eidolon is summoned. If the summoner’s eidolon is not summoned, the number of creatures that can be summoned with this ability is only limited by its uses per day. This ability otherwise functions as the summoner’s normal summon monster I ability. Other than these restrictions, there is no limit to how many summon monster or gate spells the summoner can have active at one time.
This ability replaces the summoner’s normal summon monster I ability and shield ally.

My question is, does this ability progress as the original summoner's Summon Monster X ability does? Like, at higher level, cast SM 2, 3, 4 and so on and get Mastery's benefit?
Because from what I see by RAW only SM I is replaced/augumented by this :(

Or I may be illiterate and missed something. Or it might be the whole point.

In any cases, please clarify this for me. Thank you.


Hello, forum users. I need a wording/rule clarification regarding Investigator's Inspiration ability, because well, I'm not so good at English; need you people's help to understand it better...

It is written that "Inspiration can also be used on attack rolls and saving throws, at the cost of expending two uses of inspiration each time from the investigator's pool."

What Im getting confused is... If I spend single use of (two Inspiration points spent, but used only once that round) Inspiration to boost attack, do I get boost on a single attack roll made in that round, or on all of the attack rolls (provided that I have high enough BAB) made in that round?

Thank you for your time and have a nice day.


Ipslore the Red wrote:

You can use this to search for specific descriptors, sources, spell lists, subschools, domains, duration, components, anything.

Aqueous orb deals 2d6 nonlethal damage with a reflex save to negate. Not great, it's mostly used for the rider rather than the damage.

Flurry of Snowballs does 4d6 in a 30-foot cone.

Vortex, while 7th level, does damage and is the only one so far actually on the shaman list.

River Whip is arguable. The spell doesn't technically do damage, the weapon it makes does. Still not shaman.

Geyser is the last one I can find.

Advanced Spell Search function looks amazing. Did not know it exists. Many thanks.


Hello, dear forum users.

Crashing Waves, one of the Hexes available for Shamans with Wave spirit, states:

"Crashing Waves (Su): The force of a waves shaman's water spells can bring even the mightiest of foes to the ground. When the shaman casts a spell with the water descriptor, she does so at 1 caster level higher. If that spell deals damage, the target must succeed at a Fortitude saving throw or be knocked prone. At 8th level, the shaman casts water spells at 2 caster levels higher. At 16th level, her ability to knock creatures prone extends to any spell that deals damage."

Problem is, I cannot find a lot of spells that has [Water] descriptor AND deals damage to target. In fact, I've only found one - Snowball (http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/snowball), and unfortunately Shamans cannot cast it without Arcane Enlightenment. Is there any other spells that has [Water] descriptor and deals damage you know of? My search-fu is weak and cannot really find anything. Cleric/Oracle or Wizard/Sorcerer spell is fine too, since there are some ways for Shamans to add it to spellist.


Hello, I'm making a shaman character for new Kingmaker campaign. However, there are some confusing parts on its abilities that I would like clarification. Your help will be very appreciated.

1) When Arcane Enlightenment from Lore spirit is gained through Wandering Hex feature, would 'spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list' added to character's spell list when this Hex is gained be GONE next day (when new Wandering Hex is selected)? And also, if that's the case, would my character be able to add DIFFERENT sorcerer/wizard spells from last time, when Wandering Hex - Arcane Enlightenment is renewed next day?

2) Regarding Monstrous Insight spirit ability from Lore spirit. It is written that 'As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster's type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level.' Will this ability be impossible to use on untrained Knowledge skill check for DC 11+?

3) This one would be more like English comprehension case. Fortune Hex states: 'The shaman grants a creature within 30 feet a bit of good luck for 1 round. The target can call upon this good luck once per round, allowing it to reroll any ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check, taking the better result.' Regarding that 'once per round' and 'any attack roll,' does this mean only one attack roll from a character's number of attacks (from high BAB, haste, etc) will be reroll-able?

Thank you for your time. Again, your thought would be very appreciated.