Shaman Hex questions.


Rules Questions


Hello, I'm making a shaman character for new Kingmaker campaign. However, there are some confusing parts on its abilities that I would like clarification. Your help will be very appreciated.

1) When Arcane Enlightenment from Lore spirit is gained through Wandering Hex feature, would 'spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list' added to character's spell list when this Hex is gained be GONE next day (when new Wandering Hex is selected)? And also, if that's the case, would my character be able to add DIFFERENT sorcerer/wizard spells from last time, when Wandering Hex - Arcane Enlightenment is renewed next day?

2) Regarding Monstrous Insight spirit ability from Lore spirit. It is written that 'As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster's type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level.' Will this ability be impossible to use on untrained Knowledge skill check for DC 11+?

3) This one would be more like English comprehension case. Fortune Hex states: 'The shaman grants a creature within 30 feet a bit of good luck for 1 round. The target can call upon this good luck once per round, allowing it to reroll any ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check, taking the better result.' Regarding that 'once per round' and 'any attack roll,' does this mean only one attack roll from a character's number of attacks (from high BAB, haste, etc) will be reroll-able?

Thank you for your time. Again, your thought would be very appreciated.


Nikaea wrote:

Hello, I'm making a shaman character for new Kingmaker campaign. However, there are some confusing parts on its abilities that I would like clarification. Your help will be very appreciated.

1) When Arcane Enlightenment from Lore spirit is gained through Wandering Hex feature, would 'spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list' added to character's spell list when this Hex is gained be GONE next day (when new Wandering Hex is selected)? And also, if that's the case, would my character be able to add DIFFERENT sorcerer/wizard spells from last time, when Wandering Hex - Arcane Enlightenment is renewed next day?

2) Regarding Monstrous Insight spirit ability from Lore spirit. It is written that 'As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster's type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level.' Will this ability be impossible to use on untrained Knowledge skill check for DC 11+?

3) This one would be more like English comprehension case. Fortune Hex states: 'The shaman grants a creature within 30 feet a bit of good luck for 1 round. The target can call upon this good luck once per round, allowing it to reroll any ability check, attack roll, saving throw, or skill check, taking the better result.' Regarding that 'once per round' and 'any attack roll,' does this mean only one attack roll from a character's number of attacks (from high BAB, haste, etc) will be reroll-able?

Thank you for your time. Again, your thought would be very appreciated.

1. Yes. Do note that using the Paragon Surge FAQ as a precedent, you have to wait one day to select new modes. Because of how Wandering Hex works though this shouldn't become an issue and you will be able to trade them each day.

2. You cannot make an untrained Knowledge Check that has a DC above 10. Nothing in the ability allows you to circumvent this.

3. Yes, only one attack roll can be re-rolled, not all of them. The ability to only re-roll once per round becomes relevant when Fortune is used in conjunction with Chant, or when it's duration naturally increases at 8th and 16th level.

Enjoy Shamaning.


Nikaea wrote:
2) Regarding Monstrous Insight spirit ability from Lore spirit. It is written that 'As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster's type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level.' Will this ability be impossible to use on untrained Knowledge skill check for DC 11+?

Spirit Ability

Monstrous Insight wrote:
As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster's type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level.

General Knowledge:

Knowledge Skill DC's wrote:
Identify a monster's abilities and weaknesses .. Varies .. 10 + monster's CR

Modifiers

Training wrote:
You cannot make an untrained Knowledge check with a DC higher than 10.

Lets posit a shaman with no skill ranks in any Knowledge skill. Normally, they cannot make any DC 11 or greater check, which means they can never* identify a monster's abilities and weaknesses.

Now, they take this hex and gain a Supernatural ability to just know stuff. They still have no skill ranks, yet they have this knowledge. Clearly, the hex overrides the untrained skill limit.

/cevah

* CR < 1 monsters can be identified


Strictly speaking it would need a clause similar to the bards

bardic knowledge wrote:
Bardic Knowledge (Ex): A bard adds half his class level (minimum 1) on all Knowledge skill checks and may make all Knowledge skill checks untrained.

to enable the monstrous lore ability to make knowledge checks greater than 10. Good thing the rest of the ability isn't dependent on success.


It doesn't need the clause because the ability already says the Shaman can make the checks. Specific overrides general.


It says to make checks, not to make checks untrained. It doesn't actually change the basic knowledge rules, so 'specific beats general' doesn't apply.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

It says that you can make the check, period, therefore you can make the check regardless of any general rule that says you can't. This is the epitome of specific beats general.

For example, remove the bolded clause from the Bard ability above. All you get is a bonus to your skill checks. Nothing (apart from the bolded clause) would give you the ability to make knowledge checks untrained.

The Shaman ability is different:

Quote:
As a standard action, the shaman can attempt a Knowledge skill check to identify a creature and its abilities (using the appropriate skill for the monster’s type) with an insight bonus equal to her shaman level.

Not only does it give you a bonus, but it also explicitly says that you can make a knowledge skill check. Therefore you can use this ability to make an untrained check.

General says you can't do something, specific says you can do something, specific wins.


On item one, I had the same issue, and I made up different spell lists prior if I knew in advance where I was going to be, either adventuring or downtime. In downtime I would select crafting spells like Make Whole and Permanency vs utility spells.
The only "wish list" items I would have like them to include in the Shaman would have been getting higher range witch hexes available at some point, even within Mythic characters, or some of the oracle mysteries.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Shaman Hex questions. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.