Roy Greenhilt

MorkXII's page

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber. Venture-Agent, Online—ACG 1,027 posts (5,235 including aliases). No reviews. 1 list. No wishlists. 17 Organized Play characters. 14 aliases.


1 to 50 of 1,027 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
Yewstance wrote:
1. Somewhat debatable, but you probably shouldn't re-use the same Hour power multiple times in a check or step, no. There was a whole thread that tiptoed around this issue, but my understanding is that it is not counted as playing a boon, but it is still a power and cannot be used multiple times per check or step (much like a character power).

I think the rules are clear here.

Core Rule Book pg 12, Roll the Dice wrote:
Powers that allow or require you to reroll dice happen now; each such power can reroll dice no more than once per check.

Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Yes, any of the three characters could encounter the Before Acting summoned wolf.

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

Hi Burgus!

There are two things going on in the first question:

  • Cure can be played on any turn. There are cards that are restricted so that they can only be played on your turn, but then they will say "On your turn, [discard/recharge/reveal/etc]". So page 28 is just pointing out that if they only meant for Cure to be playable on your own turn, the card would say so.
  • But the rulebook also places limits on what cards you can play in certain situations. On page 8 under Encountering Cards it says: "During each step [of the encounter], characters may play only cards or use only powers that relate to that step, or that relate directly to cards played or powers used in that step." So, from the list on pg 29, you can't play Cure during a combat check or during a Dragon's Before Acting damage step, because Cure isn't directly relevant there. You can play a weapon during the combat, and an armor during the damage, but not Cure. Similarly, pg 6 under Ending Your turn says that you can only play cards during recovery related to recovery checks. So you can play Enhance to boost your Arcane skill to make your recovery checks easier, but you can't play Cure to heal cards.
  • So when can you play Cure? Basically, not during an encounter and not during recovery. But you can freely play cards between steps, so before/after you move, between explorations, or right before you end your turn (or in any of those phases on someone else's turn).

    For your second question, that sentence is just a note to changes to the Golden Rule found on page 3. Since the story book is something that didn't exist in previous version of Pathfinder ACG, they needed to add it to the list of powers that override each other (so now a rule in the story book that tells you that a Dragon always does Acid damage overrides the Dragon's rule to roll a d4 to see what kind of damage it does). The also added that a power that says "always" can't be overridden no matter where it's printed (previous versions of the rule book only had this rule for the word "never").

  • Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    It has to mean "attempt to acquire".

    If they wanted to just let you close for free and get a blessing as a bonus, it would be "You may close this location automatically" and then "When closed: Draw the top blessing of the hourglass." Or, since technically that isn't exactly the same (since it doesn't include guarding), I guess the To Close or Guard could say: "Draw the top blessing of the hourglass." That would make it clear that you just take the blessing without attempting to acquire it.

    "Acquire" means (when it is an instruction) "attempt to acquire". "Summon" only tells you where to get that card (from the vault), just like Dunes does (top ... of the hourglass).

    In contrast, the game uses the "draw" instruction instead of "acquire" instruction when it wants you to gain a card for free.

    Salvator Scream: Discard to draw the top card of the hourglass. If it is not a blessing, shuffle it into the hourglass.
    Blood Pig Bout: If defeated, draw the top card of your location; if it is a bane, banish it.
    Charm Person: On your turn, banish to draw a new ally that lists Diplomacy in its check to acquire.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Sorry, I didn't intend for a click-bait-style title, but I can see now that it looks like one. :)

    This was definitely exceptional. Overall, we had a reasonably easy time through the adventure path on standard difficulty. There were a couple of scenarios that were close, but I don't think we failed any (we did lose a couple of times in Dragon's Demand though).

    And before this last encounter, we never managed to come anywhere close to this result. I think our previous best was 89, and even that was already quite a bit higher than our next best. Everything just came together perfectly right at the end.

    3 people marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    This afternoon, my two oldest children and I just finished Curse of the Crimson Throne. We had a marathon day were we finished 4 scenarios to end the campaign. I was playing Ezren, my son was playing Kess, and my daughter was playing Lem. We had a great time playing this entire adventure path.

    But the point of this post is the final combat check of the game. We were prepped to encounter the villain and set things up perfectly for a massive final roll by Ezren. This is how it happened:

  • Lem had previously played Shapechange and chosen a hand size of 10. At the start of Ezren's turn, Ezren handed Lem a card. Kess did the same at the beginning of her turn, so Lem had 12 cards in hand.
  • Kess encountered the villain, and defeated the first combat check. During this encounter, she displayed Lyrune-Quah Moon Maiden, which also added +1d6 to Ezren's combat check.
  • Ezren took the second combat check, first casting Boneshatter to use his Arcane skill: d12+6+2d12.
  • Then he freely cast Enhance for +8
  • And freely cast Quickened Ray for +2d6
  • Revealed Academae Scholar for +1
  • Freely reloaded Ring of Splendid Security for +7
  • Freely revealed Headband of Mental Superiority for +1d4
  • Kess then recharged Blackjack's Dagger for +1d4+1.

    Here's where it starts to get a little crazy: Remember I said Lem had 12 cards in hand? Well that's relevant because one of those cards was The Beating.

  • Lem buried The Beating and all other cards in her hand to bless the combat check 12 times, +12d12.
    That gave Ezren a massive 15d12+3d6+2d4+23.

    Also, one thing I left out: Before the encounter, Ezren played EMBIGGEN. So that 15d12+3d6+2d4+23 was actually 15d20+3d10+2d8+23. Having rolled all those dice, Ezren rolled a whopping 194 on the final combat check of the game!

    ...But he figured he could do better. So he spent his last hero point to reroll all the dice, and managed to beat the previous roll: 211.

    The best part was we really didn't have to take much time to set up for this kill - almost everything was naturally in place when we got to the villain. We went one extra time around the table simply so Lem could choose hand size 10 and the other two could pass her a card. (Ezren managed to draw a couple extra useful cards as well.). It was a silly, but very fun way to finish off an excellent adventure path!

  • Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Completed: 7A: The Inevitable Betrayal

    Character Name: Ezren
    Role Card: Wizened Explorer
    Skill Feats: Intelligence +4, Wisdom +2
    Power Feats: +2 hand size, ([X] or recharge)([X] or reload), [X]On your non-Intelligence check, you may discard a spell to add your Intelligence, [X]When you defeat a card using a non-combat check, you may draw a card.
    Card Feats: Spell +3, Armor +1, Item +2
    Unspent Hero Points: 0.
    Weapons: The Tall Knife
    Spells: Enhance, Embiggen, Enervation, Chain Lightning, Poison Blast, Death's Touch, Disintegrate, Quickened Ray, Boneshatter, Dominate
    Armors: Hellknight Plate
    Items: Gem of Mental Acuity, Brooch of Protection, Headband of Mental Superiority, Ring of Immolation, Staff of Greater Healing, Ring of Splendid Security
    Allies: Bound Imp, Leech, Acadamae Scholar

    Character Name: Kess
    Role Card: Blackjack
    Skill Feats: Strength +4, Dexterity +1, Constitution +1
    Power Feats: +2 hand size, ([X]or Melee +1d12 and add the Magic Trait), When you defeat a monster, you may heal a card ([X]or an Ally), [X]When you would recharge, shuffle, discard or bury a boon for your character or role power, you may reload a Blackjack boon instead, [X]Gain the skills Acrobatics: Dexterity +3, Stealth: Dexterity +3, and Diplomacy: Charisma +3.
    Card Feats: Ally +4, Blessing +2
    Unspent Hero Points: 2
    Weapons: Blackjack's Daggers, Blackjack's Rapier
    Armors: Glamered Leather Armor, Impervious Chain Shirt, Sable Company Leathers
    Items: Gem of Physical Prowess, Zellara's Harrow Deck, Belt of Physical Might, Blackjack's Gear, Silver War Paint
    Allies: Ruan Mirukova, Sklar-Quah Thundercaller, Aerilaya, Asyra, Lyrune-Quah Moon Maiden, Darb Tuttle, Hippogriff, Toff Ornelos, Venster Arabasti
    Blessings: The Carnival, The Cyclone, The Real Rabbit Prince, The Winged Serpent, Our Lord In Iron

    Character Name: Lem
    Role Card: Busker
    Skill Feats: Charisma +4, Dexterity +2
    Power Feats: On a local non-combat check ([X]or another local character's combat check), you may recharge a card to add 1d4 ([X]1d6), [X]On your non combat check at an Urban location, add 1d4. ([X]You may additionally recharge a card to bless the check by the deity Shelyn.), [X]When you suffer damage, you may recharge an ally to reduce it by 1 ([X]3).
    Card Feats: Spell +2, Ally +2, Blessing +2
    Unspent Hero Points: 1
    Weapons: Serithial
    Spells: Divine Blaze, Divine Fortune, Restorative Touch, Icy Prison, Steal Soul, Shapechange.
    Items: Mist Horn, Staff of Minor Healing, Staff of Greater Necromancy
    Allies: Bodyguard, Fortune-Teller, Djinn, Jasan Adriel, Lyrune-Quah Truthspeaker, Salvator Scream
    Blessings: The Beating, The Midwife, The Paladin, The Publican, The Lucky Drunk

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    It looks like Sarkoris Guide Alase's final power does not match Vic's statement here.

    Current wording wrote:
    □ When a character at Tonbarse’s location fails to defeat a non-story bane and would shuffle it into their location, you may draw Tonbarse and display him at another open location to shuffle the bane into that location instead.
    Suggested wording wrote:
    □ When a character at Tonbarse’s location fails to defeat a non-story bane monster or barrier and would shuffle it into their location, you may draw Tonbarse and display him at another open location to shuffle the bane into that location instead.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Can Cogsnap's final Bloodbomber power be updated?

    Current wording wrote:
    □ The first (□or any) Alchemical or Liquid item you play does not count against the number of items you can play on a check or step.
    Suggested wording wrote:
    □ The first (□ or any) Alchemical or Liquid item you play may be played freely.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I'm trying to figure out that other thread about the Double Chicken Sabre, and I'm not seeing the contradiction. Can you summarize?

    This seems like an exact situation that the "follow the instructions even if the card isn't in your hand anymore" rule is intended for - when a card itself has an instruction to perform an action and the card isn't in your hand anymore, you still have to follow that instruction. If another power causes you to manipulate that card in your hand, but its not in your hand anymore, that "follow the instructions" rule doesn't apply, and it is impossible.

    I don't have time right now to look at Drelm or Simoun, but I'll try to look at them later.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I don't think that the "Cards often have instructions that you need to follow after you play the card; follow these instructions even if the card is no longer in your hand" rule comes into play here.

    In that rule, "the card" (bolded above) is referring to the card that was actually played played (italicized above). In this case, that's the character card and not the drawn card, so this rule doesn't apply.

    And if that rule doesn't apply, then "recharge it" becomes an impossible instruction and you ignore it. So if you don't play the card for its power but the card is no longer in your hand, then all that that happens is that you become Poisoned. The card stays wherever you put it.

    (I just had a conversation about that rule a couple days ago. It's a strange rule that I'm not really sure has a valid use anymore, since other rules [recovery, set aside until you know what happens to the card] have supplanted it. I was told it may originally have been intended for cards like Tidepool Dragon.)

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    AD5 starts with 4 wildcards, but each scenario you play will reduce the count by 1. And yes, I would assume those wildcards would be in addition to the 3 wildcards if you're continuing characters from Dragon's Demand using the rules at the beginning of the storybook.

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I love the new Core box. It does everything I want a big box of cards to do: it holds everything snug, it allows me to sleeve my cards, it has room for extra cards and bits, and it does it all in a reasonably sized box. The only complaint I have is that I would have loved to see the divider cards be more rigid, possibly plastic.

    On the other hand, the Curse box is not great. If and when a new AP comes out, I'm going to want to take the Curse cards out of the Core box, and the Curse box is not suitable for storing those cards.

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I have yet to play any version of Sajan - I need to correct that, soon.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    CD Oloch 4:
    I think this was mentioned previously, but there is an inconsistency here: The character card says "When another local character fails a check to defeat [..]" and the role cards both say "When another local character would fail to defeat [..]".

    The wording on the role cards are incorrect, since the power needs to fire off a check to defeat, not on whether the monster is defeated or not. (See this FAQ). The character card card wording is closer to the FAQd wording, but to be honest, I don't think it's correct either, since I don't think the FAQd wording actually does what the FAQ says it should. (As worded, I think the player would still take damage, even though the FAQ says they shouldn't.)

    I believe CD Oloch 4 should be updated to read "When another local character would fail a check to defeat [..]."

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    redeux wrote:
    Abraham Z. wrote:
    I played my first non-PbP game of PACS this weekend - much fun. However, when I go to report it I don't see any entry for Fangwood Thieves. Anyone have any idea what I might be doing wrong?

    You're not doing anything wrong, those scenarios aren't on the scenario list yet for reporting

    They're there now though! Every currently available PACS scenario should now be in the list for reporting.

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    The new example for Taking One for The Team in 6.1 mentions "advancing to Tier 7" (top of page 8), which isn't a thing.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    At home, we have finished 4C (so one scenario to go) and we've earned 17 respect points so far. This is a three-player game with Kess, Lem, and Ezren. We didn't alter our typical play style, other than to go big against banes whenever we felt like we had a decent chance of pulling off a Respect Point.

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    Thanks, Vic!

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    #2. It's the only one that matches how Kasmir worked previously.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Thank you so much, Tonya!

    I think we're missing two scenarios yet:
    5-P2: Heaven's Call
    CotCT 7A: The Inevitable Betrayal

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    3 people marked this as a favorite.

    I would like to propose a change to the "Building the Vault" section of the rules.

    Before Guide 6.0, there were several options for building the vault, but they all basically amounted to the same thing: you would remove all Basic/Elite banes (either as you encountered them or when setting up the box), and you may remove any Basic/Elite boons from the box.

    The sanctioning document for Curse of the Crimson Throne effectively does the same thing. Adventure 3 says to "Start with all level 0, 1, 2, and 3 cards from the Core Set and the Curse of the Crimson Throne Adventure Path, then remove all Level 0 non-Veteran banes and you may remove any Level 0 non-Veteran, non-blessing boons.

    However, Guide 6.x tells us that when playing pre-Core adventure paths, to use these new rules instead: "Start by adding all of the cards from the listed products to the vault, then remove all Basic and Elite non-blessing cards whose level is at least three lower than the # of the adventure."

    There is no option anymore to keep Basic or Elite boons that may be worth keeping around. This affects several Loot rewards (like SoFF-Scorpion Whip, Filter Hood, Compass, Camel. SoTT-Monkey), as well as Sunburst Market in MM-based games and the reward power in SoTT that lets you take a Basic boon from the box instead of a Plunder card.

    My suggestion is to update the wording as follows:
    "To build the vault for a scenario in one of those adventures, start by adding all of the cards from the listed products to the vault, then remove all Basic and Elite banes, and any Basic and Elite non-blessing boons whose level is at least three lower than the # of the adventure."

    This would bring it much closer to how it worked previously and how it works in new APs, and fixes certain rewards that players may find useful in those particular APs.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Hi RoninwarAC!

    Each storybook will have its own instructions for how to configure the vault for each adventure. In CotCT, for example:

  • Adventure 1 says to use all level 0 and 1 cards from Core and CotCT.
  • Adventure 2 says to add all level 2 cards from Core and CotCT.
  • Adventure 3 says to remove all level 0 non-Veteran monsters and barriers and any number of level 0 non-Veteran boons, then add the level 3 cards from Core and CotCT.

    The Dragon's Demand adventure path has a little bit different rules - all level 0-3 Coreboons are added to the vault right from the beginning, but you only add the banes that match the level of the adventure you're playing in (this is to make sure that there are enough boons in the vault to build character decks and locations with the smaller box).

  • Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    11. To keep it functionally the same, 'proposal 3' from foxoftheasterisk is the only one so far that works, I think. I just don't know if its worth the extra language. I vote for just making it 'At the end of your turn'. Yes, its slightly different, and it has some disadvantages for Kasmir. But Kasmir already got a boost from the improved cohorts, so I think he can afford the hit.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber
    Slacker2010 wrote:

    Cogsnap updated power that reads "After you defeat a monster, you may discard (□ or recharge) a card to draw a new Alchemical or Liquid item."

    Shouldnt this read: "After you defeat a monster, you may discard (□ or recharge) a card to draw a new Alchemical or Liquid item from the box/vault."

    Its my understanding that when you "draw" its always from your deck unless otherwise specified.

    "new" overrides that already, because a 'new' card always comes from the vault.

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    Abraham Z. wrote:
    I played my first non-PbP game of PACS this weekend - much fun. However, when I go to report it I don't see any entry for Fangwood Thieves. Anyone have any idea what I might be doing wrong?

    You haven't done anything wrong - the Fangwood Thieves scenarios (and several others) have not yet been added to the list of scenarios on the reporting page.

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    Race Dorsey wrote:
    To the point of SoRight, I'd like to see the feats made AP specific. Something like this. "Choose a [skill/card/power] feat and note it on your chronicle. For the rest of this AP and (corresponding capstone, if applicable), you gain this feat. If playing a scenario outside of this AP then you do not gain this feat."

    It's not quite that simple, since you might later use a hero point to gain a power feat that requires that previous feat. Now if you take that character to another adventure path, you have a sub-feat without its main feat. Maybe:

    "Each character gets a [skill/card/power] feat, and their [skill/card/power] feat cap for the rest of this AP is increased by 1. "

    Then the guide could be updated to add:
    "When you start a scenario, if your feat count exceeds your feat cap for that [scenario/adventure/adventure path], temporarily uncheck feats until you are back at your cap."

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    One more bump (hopefully).

    In addition to the previous list, Season 6 Adventure 1 was available at Gencon, so there are 4 more scenarios that now need to be reportable.

    To summarize:

    Needs to be removed from the list of ACG scenarios:

  • We Be Heroes? - Pathfinder Adventure Card Game: We Be Heroes? PDF (to be replaced with the two scenarios as indicated below)

    Needs to be flagged as an ACG scenario instead of an RPG scenario:

  • Adventure Card Guild #5-6: Clashing Tides - 5-6E: Akinaru's Last Chance

    Needs to be added to the list of ACG scenarios:

  • ACG Scenario 5-P2: Heaven's Call (1 scenario)
  • ACG Fangwood Thieves adventure (4 scenarios)
  • ACG We Be Heroes? adventure (2 scenarios)
  • ACG Dragons Demand adventure path, sanctioned for PACS play (10 scenarios)
  • ACG Curse of the Crimson Throne adventure path, sanctioned for PACS play (26 scenarios)
  • ACG Season 6 Year of Rotting Ruins Adventure 1 (4 scenarios)

  • Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    5 people marked this as a favorite.

    i don't think this has been raised in the forums, although I know there has been plenty of chat about it in various PbP games. One of my biggest issues with the process of converting characters is how the +1 to feat caps is applied.

    Using Season of Tapestry's Tides as an example, there are several bonus feats granted. A card feat for completing Adv 2, a power feat for completing P1, and a skill, power, or card feat for completing Adv 5 (lets assume we pick skill feat, since we can't get more than +1 of each feat anyways). Additionally, a character that earned their role card before converting would have gained an extra power feat.

    If we start a brand new character to play through TT using Core/Guide 6.0 rules, that character will earn those rewards (except the bonus feat with the role card), and all their feat caps will be increased by 1. No problems here.

    But if a character has already played part of TT and then converts, deciding WHEN to convert becomes a big issue. For example, if you convert immediately after finishing adventure 5 and tiering up to Tier 6, your only feat that will get the +1 to its cap is Power feats. After adventure 5, your character will have:
    -6 skill feats
    -7 power feats
    -6 card feats
    Only Power feats is higher than your tier, so that's the only one that will get the boost.

    If you were to convert immediately before the last scenario in adventure 5, all of your skills will get +1. This Tier 5 character has:
    -6 skill feats
    -6 power feats
    -6 card feats.
    All 3 feats are higher than your tier, so all 3 get +1 (and then you'll get a free hero point for the Adv 5 reward instead of another feat).

    This problem occurs in a lot of different situations, and makes it even tougher to make the switch from the old rules to the new. I would like to suggest that instead of determining how many feats you have compared to your tier, that if you have earned any bonus feats (either from a reward or as a result of earning your role card), you get +1 to the cap for that particular feat type. This will make transitioning much smoother.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I had my Poog all set to go, but something got messed up in my deck tracker, and I need to redo it. I'm actually away on vacation this week, so if we could plan to start on the weekend or early next week, that would be ideal for me.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Oops, my mistake. They gave him *Healing* proficiency, not Divine. Sorry about that. But my core point is still valid - he doesn't need that power to give Divine proficiency. He's already proficient with all the cards to which it is applicable.

    Also, looking at the Hedge Witch power, you could probably abbreviate the upgrade power to (□ or an Arcane, Divine, or Magic boon).

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    What happens if you're dealing with Dire Boar ("When you would reveal a Melee weapon on the check to defeat, recharge it instead") with a weapon that says "reveal, additionally reload"?

    Can you use the 'additionally' power at all? If yes, where does the card end up? Recharged, or reloaded?

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    For reference, Kasmir was already given Divine proficiency in the Conversion FAQ.

    Hi! I'll post more info as we get closer to the start of Gameday, but in the meantime, please go ahead and dot into the Gameplay and Discussion tabs.

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    James Sinnett wrote:
    Something I'm not seeing a mention of here, that seems Very Relevant Indeed: Using the We Be Heroes? goblins for organized play seems like it's going to run into a major issue the moment you earn role cards, as they do not appear to actually *have* role cards. Is that going to be addressed somehow?

    Yep! See the end of this blog post here.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I'm not disagreeing with your suggestion, but your suggested changes are changing those powers' functionality. "Villain or henchman" doesn't cover exactly the same cards in Core as it did previous rule books, and for the most part, it seems paizo is fine with powers not working exactly the same in Core as long as they don't become broken.

    That said, if we are move forward with changing those powers anyways, I do have one suggestion:

    Brother Tyler wrote:
    "(non-)villain or henchman" > "(non-)story bane monster or barrier"

    I think "villain or henchman" can just be "story bane", where "non-villain or henchman" needs to be "non-story bane monster or barrier"

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Wouldn't "At the end of your turn" work just as well, with fewer words? Granted, its not exactly the same, but I'm having a hard time coming up with reasons why it would be significantly different.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    With the Core rule book now stating that each exploration is a seperate step, does that affect powers that trigger "at the end your explore step"?

    For example, can Kasmir use his power after each exploration?

    Kasmir wrote:
    At the end of your explore step, you may discard a card to choose another character at your location to shuffle 1d4 ([] +1) random cards from his discard pile into his deck.

    I'm sure that's not the intent, so does Kasmir need a minor update? Would changing it to fire "At the end of your turn" be a significant change to the original intent?

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    2 people marked this as a favorite.
    Tyler Beck wrote:
    Kess (CotCT) - Barbarian + Ultimate Equipment - Since she doesn't need weapons or armor, Ultimate Combat is all wrong for Kess. Equipment, though, gives her access to a Staff of Minor Healing, Gem of Physical Prowess, Dryad Sandals... the list just goes on.

    For Kess, I'd be much more likely to take Ultimate Wilderness for 2 key cards: Amulet of Mighty Fists (B), and Amulet of Furious Fists (5). There's also lots of allies in there to make use of, although the armor selection is lacking.

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    For old sets, you could safely change "non-henchman, non-villain" to "non-story bane." But in Core, story banes can be used in ways that are neither a henchman or a villain - the danger, and anything summoned from a story bane roster roster. I don't think we can make that change without a FAQ from Paizo.

    2 people marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    There should be be two reportable items in the list for We Be Heroes (ACG):
    WBH 1A: Dead Meat
    WBH 1B: Chicken Run

    There are a number of other scenarios missing from the list as well.

    3 people marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Bump - These 2 ACG scenarios are still not reportable.

    In addition, there are a number of new scenarios that need to be added:
    Fangwood Thieves adventure (4 scenarios)
    ACG We Be Heroes? adventure (2 scenarios)
    Dragons Demand adventure path (10 scenarios)
    Curse of the Crimson Throne adventure path (26 scenarios)

    Hi all!

    I'm going to be playing Cogsnap, I think. Cogsnap is already Tier 2 with 0 XP. If SirRogue would like to see his chronicle sheet to verify, I'll need to prioritize finishing off chronicle sheets for that game. :)

    Relevant to turn order, I am in the EST timezone. Also, I am going to be away Tues-Fri next week, returning early evening on the 21st. I know this will slightly impact the start of this game, since that's the start date, so if it makes sense, maybe we can put my character last in the turn order.

    Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    yestance wrote:
    Mark Koopman wrote:
  • Your starting deck still gets built exclusively from your character deck cards, but you can swap in a legal Core deck immediately afterwards (Witches get their level 1 Fox, Rogues don't get their level 0 Archer).
  • Monks still need to wait until Tier 3 to get a cure.
  • As mentioned, I don't actually think you're correct on the first part - all Core boons, as the Card Guild Guide is written, would be illegal to build a starting deck with in most cases.

    I don't think giving Monks access to low-level Cure spells is an issue... we have Ultimate Add-On decks allowing for that, anyway.

  • Fox is a Basic card in the Witch deck, so the loot-type-swap would allow a Witch to get a Core Fox into her starting deck.
  • The only Monk CD spell that exists in any of the Ultimate decks is Cure, and only in Ult Magic which is a pretty unlikely pairing for a monk. I think Ult Wilderness is the only other deck with a healing spell lower than level 3 (Cauterize, AD2). You are right though, in that the Ultimate decks do give Monks access to spells in general much earlier.

    I'm not firmly stuck on the idea of treating Core cards as loot-swaps. I'm just looking for any rule that I can apply consistently. Of the Witch and Monk example I posted previously, which character can add their respective card back to their deck without a deck upgrade?

  • Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    Vic Wertz wrote:
    Given that you're not allowed to make your character deck illegal, and that you can swap cards between scenarios, the difference between the two seems minimal to me. Am I right that the difference would only matter if an effect happens during a scenario that allows you to use a card from your box that isn't in your deck?

    I think the main reason why it would matter if the Core card is in your class deck is that it changes when you have access to the cards. The lower the level of the card, the easier it is to get into your character deck. The Monk CD is the most extreme example of this, with Cure, Detect Magic, and Confusion moving from AD 3, 5, and 6 all the way to 0. If the Core card becomes part of your class deck, monks can take a spell feat at Tier 1 and start using those spells. If the original card is still technically in the class deck, they still need to wait until Tier 3/5/6 before they can take the spell, and then swap it for Core version.

    If the intent is that you still have to wait until Tier 3/5/6 to use those spells, then that is effectively answering my question (Core cards are not in your class deck).

    Another minor example is something that has already occurred in one of the games that is about to get started for Cards Against Gnomanity: A player was going to build his starting deck with Archer (Core-0), but the Archer from his class deck (Rogue-B) has the Elite trait. Both cards are legal for his deck. If the Core-0 card is in his class deck, he could probably start the game with it. If the original Elite card is in his class deck, he can't.

    I think I like what Parody is suggesting. The Core swap works like (and happens at the same time as) the Loot swap - you swap it in at the beginning of the scenario, and out again at the end, but with the additional requirement that you can't swap in a Core card with a level higher than your Tier. That would be a technicality since the cards are owned by the player and don't need to go back in the game box. But I think it would also clarify a number of things:

  • Your starting deck still gets built exclusively from your character deck cards, but you can swap in a legal Core deck immediately afterwards (Witches get their level 1 Fox, Rogues don't get their level 0 Archer).
  • Monks still need to wait until Tier 3 to get a cure.
  • If I don't want to (or can't) use a Core card any more, I can just use the original card.
  • My first question (added to class or character deck) becomes irrelevant
  • MY second question (can you switch back to the old card) gets answered in the way that is most flexible for players.

  • Venture-Agent, Online—ACG aka MorkXII

    3 people marked this as a favorite.

    I have a few questions about the swapping in of Core/Curse cards.

    Am I swapping cards into my character deck, or into my class deck?

    Once they've been added to my deck, are they permanently there? Can I revert back to the original cards still? (Maybe my Core box wasn't in use at the time I made the swap, but now I want to start using it for a new game.)

    Related to both questions: I'm a Tier 6 Monk and I have Confusion (Monk CD-6) in my deck. The Core version works nicely against barriers and allies, so I swap in the Core-0 version instead. But something caused me to banish it. We're processing deck upgrades now, and there are no Spell 6s available. Is the Core-0 version now permanently in my class deck, meaning I I can re-add it? Or is the Monk CD-6 card still the card that is in my class deck, meaning that it is impossible to use it to fill an empty slot?
    Or the opposite scenario: I'm playing a Tier 1 Witch and I had swapped out by Fox (Witch CD-B) for Fox (Core-1). Nice free upgrade for characters that care about the level of their cards. But I had to banish it, and there are no ally deck upgrades available. Can I re-add the Witch CD-B card (its Basic) and then between scenarios swap it again to the Core-1 version? Or is the Core-1 version now permanently part of my deck, so I have to wait until Tier 3 before I can automatically take it to fill a hole in my deck?

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    I noticed a similar issue to your second question a couple nights ago with ignoring BYA Structural damage. 5-5E has a henchman/villain that does 1d4 Structural damage then each char does a Str/Con 11 check or takes 1d4 Combat damage.

    Is it possible for the Structural damage to get blocked at all by a card like Cloud Puff?

    2 people marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Those new armors started appearing in the Ultimate decks already, and I think you'll find a lot of agreement around here - they've breathed new life into the Armor card type!

    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    Vic explains in depth here how it works. Basically, you can do it the hard way (CotCT setup) if you want, but if you finish DD, the reward is a somewhat easier method. You do one or the other.

    Regardless, I doubt I would ever use either option. While it probably works, CotCT is intended to be played with fresh level 1 characters, and I think (for me and my group) it will be much more fun to play it that way.

    1 person marked this as a favorite.
    Pathfinder Card Game Subscriber

    There's two rules in the "Searching and Examining" section of the rule book that you're looking for:

    CRB pg 13-14, "Searching and Examining" wrote:

    Examine the cards in the order you find them, and put them back in the same order unless instructed otherwise. If anything would cause you to shuffle the stack you are examining, shuffle only after you put back any examined cards that do not leave the stack.

    Cards that have the Trigger trait have powers that happen when you examine that card. When a card has the Trigger trait, it’s highlighted in red and listed first so you can easily spot it. If you are examining multiple cards and a triggered power interrupts your examinations, set the remaining cards aside and examine them after you deal with the triggered power. While set aside, the cards still count as being in the location.

    So if Shrieky Plant was on top, you would have dealt with the trigger and the random monster right away before examining a second card. Then once those encounters were done, you would then examine the Longsword.

    No matter what order they were in to start, you get to put them back in any order because that's what Spyglass says to do. However, both cards now get shuffled back into the location since you failed to defeat the plant. ("If anything would cause you to shuffle the stack you are examining, shuffle only after you put back any examined cards that do not leave the stack").

    1 to 50 of 1,027 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | next > last >>