Search Posts
I was trying to make a red mantis elf rogue the other day, and noticed something off with the Red Mantis Dedication (which I shall refer to at RMD from now on). The requirement for Sawtooth Saber seems to unfairly hurt non human ancestries. I will go over it below. Fighter gets Advanced Weapon Proficiency, and can take RMD at level 2. Cleric gets Sawtooth Saber Proficiency and can also get RMD at level 2. Champion, Ranger, and Barbarian only have Martial Weapon Proficiency, which means they need to get Weapon Proficiency feat once at level 3, so they can take RMD at level 4. All other classes (including rogue) need to take Weapon Proficiency twice, at levels 3 and 7, meaning they can't take RMD until level 8. Human can spend it's heritage and ancestry feat to get two weapon proficiency feats at level 1, which allows most classes to get RMD at level 2. Half humans can spend ancestry feat to get weapon proficiency and allow champion, ranger, and barbarian to get it at 2, and all other classes at 4. Most other ancestries don't have a way to speed up getting weapon proficiency, and are stuck with the normal class progression to get them. This is weird as they are a cult, and their god, Achaekek, has the Anathema of "become fixated on petty matters such as others’ gender or ancestry", yet have a prerequisite that seems to specifically target non human rogues. I would imagine Red Mantis would have some way to fast track or make it easy for new recruits to learn Sawtooth Saber, and not delay elf/dwarf rogues to wait until level 8, and take all the level 1 choices for human.
On page 48 of Threefold Conspiracy 5: The Cradle Infestation, there is a list of new guns. Two guns in the Moon Splinter line, Full and New, have the exact same stats. They are both level 10 (Guns before them are level 4 and 9), priced at 19,000 (Gun before is 13,000), deal 2d12 E damage (which is weird as all the guns up to this point were doing C & B damage and the entire line is marked Cyro), and have the exact same special properties: Bright, force, hybrid, living, polarize 1d8. The only difference is Full has a capacity of 80 and a usage of 4, while New has a capacity of 100 and a usage of 5. So they both still only have 20 shots per clip, but New costs more to refill than Full. I feel these guns are both misprinted. Adding on to this possible issue, the Frost Maw, Roar-Class also shares the level 10, price 19,000 trait (with the previous gun also being level 9 and costing 13,000)
In Threefold Conspiracy 3, we have got a new starship armor and a new starship sensor that gives bonuses that are radically different than the original sensors and armors. But the book fails to mention if it is possible to have two different armors or two different sensors installed. So, can a starship have two different armors installed if both do different things? And what about sensors?
In Alien Archive 3, we have got a new Solarian feat called Periastra Training (Page 31). It gives the following ability. When you have 1 or 2 attunement points and use a stellar revelation, you can spend 1 Resolve Point to use that revelation as if you were fully attuned to your current mode. You cannot benefit from this feat if you have disproportionate revelations. Now the issue is Stellar Revelations fall into two categories, Zenith and Normal. Zenith are powerful, but you can't use them unless you have a full attunement. As this feat gives attunement after you pick which revelation you want to use, you can't pick Zenith. All the normal revelations on the other hand don't care if you are fully attuned. They give their bonus ability regardless of full or partial attunement. And the bonuses don't get better if you are fully attuned. So either this new feat is worded wrong, and is supposed to say "If you spend 1 Resolve point, you can use a revelation as if you are fully attuned", or it currently can't do anything. Could we get some clarification?
I was going through the Starfinder APs pages, and noticed a weird pattern in the expected release days. September: Attack of the Swarm 2 and Attack of the Swarm 3
It feels like Attack of the Swarm 3 to 5 were accidentally moved one month up. Not sure if this is intentional or by accident, just wanted to bring this up just in case it is an accident.
I know kinectist won't be in the core rulebook, but I can see it eventually coming along. And while talking about other parts of the playtest today, I had a realization that I really think is a great idea and want to pass along to the fine folks at Paizo. When we reach the point the Kinectist is added back to play, it should use the Words of Power system for it's abilities. With it getting a base element word at level 1 (and any level it might gain more powers), and getting metamagic and transformation words as either class feats or from certain levels. This could make the kinectist a lot more versatile.
When a planet has a global calamity, the shock wave of so many souls leaving the planet at once can cause a weird ripple that temporarily creates a breach between the material plane and first world, and a Calecor forms in the first world, then flies through the breach with the one goal of trying to repair the world. When Eox fired it's super weapon and blew a chunk of the planet up while also burning the atmosphere away, was a calecor formed? And if it was, what happened to it?
So, I noticed Mountain's Stoutness has this line:
Does this mean that Mountain's Stoutness and Toughness don't stack with the Gray Maiden feat Unbreakable? Or do all three stack with each other, and this line just causes confusion?
The higher level crossbolters have a usage of 4, 6, or even 8 per shot, yet the crossbolter can also use grenade arrows. Does this mean that it fires 8 grenade arrows per shot, and it does 8 grenades worth of damage? Or is it limited to only one arrow per shot, in which case a level 1 bow is better with grenade arrows because of quick reload and not having the unwieldly trait.
On page 45 of dead suns 6, right above "BASE FRAME" it states that a supercolossal ship has a -8 TL and AC. On page 46 under "COUNTERMEASURES" it states that supercolossal ships take a -8 penalty to the TL they gain from a defensive countermeasure. Are these numbers supposed to stack, or is it just stating the penalty TL a second time? -16 seems very high of a penalty, but it also matches with the progression between ships. (Huge -2, Gargantuan -4, Colossal -8) |