Is Periastra Training Useless?


Rules Questions


10 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

In Alien Archive 3, we have got a new Solarian feat called Periastra Training (Page 31). It gives the following ability.

When you have 1 or 2 attunement points and use a stellar revelation, you can spend 1 Resolve Point to use that revelation as if you were fully attuned to your current mode. You cannot benefit from this feat if you have disproportionate revelations.

Now the issue is Stellar Revelations fall into two categories, Zenith and Normal. Zenith are powerful, but you can't use them unless you have a full attunement. As this feat gives attunement after you pick which revelation you want to use, you can't pick Zenith.

All the normal revelations on the other hand don't care if you are fully attuned. They give their bonus ability regardless of full or partial attunement. And the bonuses don't get better if you are fully attuned.

So either this new feat is worded wrong, and is supposed to say "If you spend 1 Resolve point, you can use a revelation as if you are fully attuned", or it currently can't do anything. Could we get some clarification?


I see the language issue but that's really parsing out the words in an unfavorable way.

I can't interpret it in any other way besides letting you use Zenith revelations for an RP.

And if you really want to get picky, the Zenith revelations don't say you can't use them without being fully attuned, they just don't do anything unless you are.


A little bit of common sense would suggest that this feat is clearly meant for you to use resolve to fuel a Zenith revelation before you become fully attuned.

You'd have to read it in a very singular way to come up with "I have to choose a revelation, and then I can use resolve to fuel it, but if I couldn't use it, then how would I choose it?"


I agree that it feels like it should be to allow Zenith. And when I first read it, I read it as "This lets you use a Zenith for a resolve point." But, since AA3 has started shipping, I have seen this come up multiple times, and thought it would be a good idea to get an actual quote from Paizo on how it is supposed to work, as it is easier to point to a FAQ or quote from a dev than to have to have an discussion on what is the RAI is everytime someone reads it that way. A common response I have seen people say is that COM is going to add Solarion Revelations that are different based on Attunement status.


Mark von Drake wrote:
I have seen people say is that COM is going to add Solarion Revelations that are different based on Attunement status.

That was my first thought when reading the rules text quoted in the first post. 'This must be for any normal revelations that have a different effect when fully attuned'. Not having the details of the revelations fully memorized, I am not sure that there aren't any in the CRB that don't have effects that are different when fully attuned.

So yeah. It seems very ambiguous to me.


This is mostly to allow you to use the OPPOSITE attunement type to allow for fully attuned effects even if not in that attunement.

Since it does not call out that you must be attuned specifically to a mode, or to a specific type when using those resolve points to count as a specific attunement (only that you have at least 1 or 2 points of [general] attunement) you can spend a Resolve to act as though you were fully attuned (but does not call out that it must be your current mode).

Ergo, you can be 1~2 points into Photon and spend a Resolve to use a Graviton revelation as though you were fully attuned.

You CANNOT use Zenith Revelations this way, since you must ALREADY be fully attuned before you use a Zenith Revelation.

This feat essentially makes your Revelations more powerful when you use them while in the opposite mode.


Sounds nice, but no.

Quote:
use that revelation as if you were fully attuned to your current mode.

Paizo Employee Starfinder Lead Designer

11 people marked this as a favorite.

We do generally try to print options that do things, which can be taken into account when running games with your friends!

That said, the first sentence of Periastra Training's benefit line should read "When you have 1 or 2 attunement points, you can spend 1 Resolve Point to use a stellar revelation as if you were fully attuned to your current mode."


Starfinder Superscriber

So it's basically just a way to use a Zenith early? As (at least currently) all the others grant extra abilities if you're attuned or fully attuned.

That sounds like what you're saying, just trying to confirm.


I thought there were some non-Zenith Revelations that had effects that increased if you were fully attuned rather than just partially attuned.

Perhaps I'm recalling incorrectly.

Paizo Employee Starfinder Lead Designer

9 people marked this as a favorite.
pithica42 wrote:

So it's basically just a way to use a Zenith early? As (at least currently) all the others grant extra abilities if you're attuned or fully attuned.

That sounds like what you're saying, just trying to confirm.

Correct!


Starfinder Charter Superscriber

The Solarian player in my group is going to be very, very happy about this!


If that's the case, then this is a very, very nice little boost for Solarians.

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Starfinder Maps Subscriber

I have been hoping that both Periastra training and nanite patches make it to the additional resources for Starfinder.

Hmm

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Is Periastra Training Useless? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.