Lien Gib's page

Organized Play Member. 6 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 9 Organized Play characters.


RSS


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Doug Hahn wrote:

The "special" byline is often used when you choose the same thing multiple times.

I believe in this case, you can accumulate multiple copies of this boon but you can only cash them one in at a time and once per adventure. When you do so, the boon is expended.

For example, you could purchase 3 copies of this boon and spend all 24 days of downtime after a module to have 3 Practiced Medic Boons on the same PC. In the next game you play you spend one of them to make a check better. Now you have a total of 2 copies on that PC, and you can't spend either of those copies during that same adventure.

Thank you for the clarification Doug. I appreciate it.


Do I only need to obtain the Practiced Medic Boon (see below) once to apply the process described in the boon multiple times, or must I "repurchase" it again each time I expend it in a game if I want to use it again in a future game? I can see both possibilities in the description and in comparison to the language found in other boons. Thank you for your help.

Practiced Medic (Radiant Oath)
By spending your off-hours administering medical aid to those in need, you have developed extraordinary first aid instincts. After
purchasing this boon, you can spend Downtime to provide medical services to others. Once you have expended 8 days of
Downtime in this way, you can expend the boon as a free action before attempting a Medicine check to Administer First Aid,
Treat Disease, Treat Poison, or Treat Wounds. You improve your check’s degree of success by one step (such as if you roll a
failure, you get a success instead); the boon is not expended if your original roll is a critical success. Once you expend this
boon, it provides no other benefit.
Special: You can apply this boon multiple times to the same character, though you cannot expend more than one copy of this
boon per adventure.


I started playing PFS about a month ago. I have looked carefully through the PFS online documentation, but I still need some guidance so that I don't make an improper assumption. Thank you in advance for your help.

Question 1: I received a chronicle sheet with the information shown below in the "Boons" section. Does this information mean that I may use the indicated spell in future games for a total of two times? The GM didn't mention the availability of the boon during the game itself. I only learned of the boon from the chronicle, so it seems like the boon would be for a future application.

The boon starts with two open check boxes to the left of the name of the boon.

Valais's Assurance (General, Limited) Valais Durant is the leader of the Radiant Oath, in no small part because of her kindness and willingness to share her power with those in need. You may check a box next to this boon and spend an action to use the champion focus spell "Lay on Hands", heightened appropriately for your level. This does not cost a focus point.

Question 2: Also, when items are listed, does it mean that I have access to those items (for my tier) anytime in the future if I choose to buy any of the items? Or, am I supposed to add the items to my inventory directly from the chronicle for no cost?

Thank you for your time and consideration.


Is there a limit - other than the constraints of time, currency, and access to spells/other spell casters - to the number of spells that may be attempted to be learned during downtime?

For example, could one attempt to learn a spell each day of downtime? It seems reasonable because of the amount of time required to "Learn a Spell". Although I may have missed it, I could not find a limit in the CRB or in the Archives of Nethys.

For Pathfinder Society play, the below rule indicates to me that one may only attempt to learn one spell during each eight-day unit of downtime. Please correct me if I misunderstand the Pathfinder Society rule.

"Multiple different activities can occur in a single downtime unit, but you can only ever roll once for a given activity in any given unit." (found in the downtime section of the Additional Character Options guide located at https://www.organizedplayfoundation.org/Lorespire/pfs2guide._.Additional-Ch aracter-Options#contentSchools-4)

Thank you for your help.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Must a player or creature be immediately adjacent to an object or character used for the purpose of providing cover? For example, would a creature in the open have cover from a halfling hiding thirty feet away behind a large tree stump? All the examples that I could find seem to indicate that "behind" includes the meaning of being adjacent to the object/creature providing the cover. Thank you for any clarification that you can provide.


Must a player or creature be immediately adjacent to an object or character used for the purpose of providing cover? For example, would a creature in the open have cover from a halfling hiding thirty feet away behind a large tree stump? All the examples that I could find seem to indicate that "behind" includes the meaning of being adjacent to the object/creature providing the cover. Thank you for any clarification that you can provide.