>>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<<


Off-Topic Discussions

5,901 to 5,950 of 6,833 << first < prev | 114 | 115 | 116 | 117 | 118 | 119 | 120 | 121 | 122 | 123 | 124 | next > last >>

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey, Mark,

What are your favorite kinds of questions to answer on this thread?

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
The NPC wrote:

Mr. Mark Seifter,

Can the bloodrager take the mooncursed barbarian archetype?

I agree with Chess Pwn; it is a general rule of archetypes that characters from a different class can't take them. The only holdout is alternate classes, which could use a reckoning but don't have a one-size-fits-all answer (since alternate classes like the ninja and samurai probably should be able to take some archetypes but antipaladins definitely shouldn't be able to take an archetype or feature for regular paladins even if they stumbled into one that only altered features the antipaladin retains a feat with a prereq of "paladin level X" that grants holy benefits, and so on).

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Shalloecoore wrote:

Hi Mark I was hoping you could clarify what item slots a pseudodragon would have access to as an improved familiar. I've searched the boards for all things pseudodragon and can't seem to find an answer.

From the FAQ:

In Pathfinder Society Organized Play, animal companions always have access to barding and neck-slot items so long as they have the anatomy...

Additionally, animal companions have access to magical item slots, in addition to barding and neck, as listed on the inside front cover of the Animal Archive so long as they select the Extra Item Slot feat. The Animal Magic Item Slots table found in Animal Archive is not a legal except under the following conditions. First, an animal companion, familiar, or bonded mount, may choose one slot listed under its body type when taking the Extra Item Slot feat

So if I understand this correctly, a pseudodragon would have access to the neck and barding slots and, assuming I can trade the weapon finesse feat that a pseudodragon comes with for the "Extra Item Slot" feat, I could pick one other additional slot associated with the pseudodragon body type listed in the Animal Archive table. If all that is correct, then what body type would a pseudodragon fall under in the Animal Archive table?

Many thanks!

The way animal/familiar slots work and in PFS specifically has a long history, and I have to admit I didn't fully comprehend the methodology behind policy when it came into play (back when I was just a PFS player). You're better off hoping for the PFS team to have enough time to come up with a newer policy than getting guidance from me, but that would require them to have enough time to do so, which would be pretty tricky (Their wall is covered with so many more tasks than people think, and any time even a secondary task takes a while to complete, there's a lot of grumbling on the PFS boards). One of the players in our home group who loves familiars even more than I do wrote up a tentative rework of slots for all familiars, and while as a group we haven't gone through it in depth yet, I'd imagine we'll adopt (or slightly amend and then adopt) that for our home games.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Are you surprised by the success and attention the kineticist class has received?

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
FiddlersGreen wrote:

Hi Mark, if you were to take a stab at making Zuko from Avatar, how would you go about it (class/feats/stats etc)?

Some touchstones, feel free to add your own:
Fire bender kineticist
Decent unarmed combatant
Competent dual-wielder
Good at stealth
Some kind of multi-class?

Not looking for a full build, just a general concept (though a full build might also be fun). Feel free to name or hint at options from psychic anthology too. =)

Second but potentially related question:
Regular kineticists need to have a free hand to use their kinetic blasts. Is there any feat, talent or item that allows them to do what Zuko does near the end of this clip (linked), either by waiving the 'free hand' requirement or otherwise allowing them to blast whilst holding an item or channel their blast through a sword?

I think a lot of TV characters have broad skillsets that work well as some kind of gestalt character, and Zuko would be no exception. However, you could probably build him as an elemental ascetic with a temple sword and a special ability to use the temple sword with his kinetic fist flurry of blows (and use the flurry to represent the off-hand attacks from dual-wielding). You could add that they don't prevent his blast as part of that special ability, similarly to the kinetic knight's shield. Add in VMC monk from Unchained for a particularly fearsome unarmed combatant.

Designer

2 people marked this as a favorite.
Mike Bramnik wrote:

Heya Mark!

Out of curiosity, what do you think in Pathfinder would match up best to a Georgian KHANJLURI (main bit starts at 2:42 and best bit around the 5:00 mark) type of concept (aside from a Sarenite-ish dervish build, which almost seems too easy)?

Continue to love your work, and hope to see you at Gen Con again this year!

They were moving so fast that it was hard to see exactly what they were doing with those daggers, but it does seem like Dervish Dance, complete with the Perform (dance) prereq, is a good fit. Otherwise, clearly some kind of Slashing Grace. The costuming might lend itself to a masked performer bard with Dance of 23 Steps and casting dance of a hundred/thousand cuts, also using Slashing Grace/Dervish Dance. Maybe choose the former to avoid Sarenrae and worship Ashava to dance those spirits to a peaceful rest.

Barring the unforeseen, should see you there!

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello again, Mr. Seifter!
I'm back with a few questions regarding scroll usage.

First regarding requisite ability score: Does it depending on what class made the scroll? If a wizard made a 2nd level scroll, would a sorcerer need 12 INT to cast it, or 12 CHA, since that's their casting stat?

Second regarding caster level: Does it matter if the scroll user isn't high enough to actually cast the spell? For instance, a 7th level warpriest trying to use a cleric-made scroll of restoration. The warpriest can't cast 7th level spells, but his caster level is the same as a cleric-made scroll of restoration made at minimum CL.

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Limas Venomscale wrote:

Can a familiar gained by Elemental Whispers gain the benefits of magic items via Inscribe Magic Tattoo (Item Creation Feat)?

Do elemental Whispers familiar's have any senses when not manifested?

So there's a lot of things to think about with the manifested whispers and a tattoo. In theory, a tattoo involves inflicting damage with ink in such a way to leave a permanent marking, and the familiar can take damage. On the other hand, in some ways its damage is more so to the whisper familiar's lifeforce and animating essence, since the kineticist manifests it anew from elemental matter each time, so it seems like even if you could tattoo a magic sigil onto air, it wouldn't be on the new air you used the next time. That said, it probably wouldn't be unbalanced for the kineticist to somehow "collect" some of the elemental matter that supposedly housed the tattoo to reuse for the next body (put the "tattooed" air in an airtight bottle, etc) and then spend some kind of action to reuse it, much like she'd need to spend actions to reequip the familiar with other gear.

The whisper familiar doesn't have any of its own senses when not manifested, but it can still talk to the kineticist and help provide information based on what the kineticist sees and communicates.

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Haldelar Baxter wrote:
Are any of the new void talents considered evil to use and affect alignment?

Anything directly casting a [evil] spell would be an evil act, and otherwise so would anything that tells you it's evil. Remember that performing an evil act won't necessarily affect your alignment without repeated or casual use (not that a kineticist won't be repeated with her wild talents, of course).

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Taenia wrote:

Hey Mark, not sure if you saw my earlier question so hope you don't mind if I ask again.

What is the cast time on Spark of Life. It references Summon Monster only in what it is summoning not how it is cast so wasn't sure whether it would follow the Standard action or 1 round casting time. If not expect a surprise visit next time I am at Paizo.

Thanks

I can't remember my thought process 100% on that one (and the true answer is likely that more precise wording got squished a bit while I was copyfitting), but I think it was supposed to have summon monster's cast time. It's certainly not fully clear one way or the other on the cast time as it stands, though it does more than just reference what creature it summons with the "as if" (the "as if" also means it counts as summoned, it has all the limitations of the spell, etc).

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
GhostwheelX wrote:
Hi Mark, got another question if you'd be so kind; if a character with the Versatile Channeler feat later takes a level of Life Oracle and took the Channel ability, would they also be able to channel negative energy with their oracle channel?

It should be separate; the life oracle's channel ability is only capable of positive, as opposed to the cleric channel energy ability that has both sides to it. That said, while it contradicts the FAQs on channels, a houserule to find some way to consolidate channel progression instead of having a bunch of different pools probably wouldn't be too problematic (maybe one pool of the max size of all your pools, then add the levels together to determine the results? The big problem is deciding which one "wins" when there are differences).

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Luthorne wrote:
Hey, Mark, I was looking at the ectoplasmatist and fractured mind archetypes for the spiritualist due to a wacky idea I had for a kitsune flavoring it as attacking with spiritual tails, and surprisingly they seem to stack, but without a phantom, can emotional power provide anything? Or am I wrong about them stacking? This is likely going to be for Pathfinder Society, by the by, though I would certainly also be interested in seeing how you would handle it outside of that as well.

To be honest, emotional power actually alters the phantom ability emotional focus, even though it isn't called out. In terms of causality, the alteration flows kind of in the other direction which is one reason we probably missed it. In a home game, you could probably reconcile it by just undoing the swap for emotional power and getting back the original powers, but on the other hand, the idea of the fractured mind as coming from within is slightly flavorwise in conflict with the ectoplasmatist's close focus on ectoplasm and the Ethereal (not that it couldn't be reconciled, of course, but they're looking at some of the class's foci in opposing ways).

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Krol Thorngage wrote:

Hi Mark, I'm here looking for two answers on the swashbuckler (also mouser) and his deeds.

Here we go:
If the mouser/swashbuckler is on a difficult terrain, can he use his deeds Dodging Panache and Underfoot Assault ?
And what if he's swimming? Flying?

Also, for the Mouser Underfoot Assault, if i am below an enemy, can he take 5 foot steps? And if he can, can he 5 step to a zone where i'm no longer below him and would he provoke an attack of opportunity (would he be able to use acrobatics to avoid it)?

Reference:
Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

(Mouser)
Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is considered to be flanking the foe...

1) It's a bit of an odd duck, as they are unspecified "move 5 feet". There clearly has to be some boundary for when you can do it (for instance, certainly if you were completely immobilized you couldn't use it to move, and if you were in an effect like web where any movement requires a successful check to see if you get stuck instead, I'd say you need to make the check), but where an individual group wants to draw that line might vary from group to group. I'd roughly suspect that it wasn't intended to provide significant overall movement boosts to, say, a swimmer with a 40 foot land speed swimming in difficult waters who would otherwise be barely moving 5 feet per move action.

2) Definitely they can 5-foot step out, but as to the AoO? This one is basically about whether the "5-foot steps never provoke attacks of opportunity" wins over the rules of underfoot assault, and it likely wouldn't by the usual specific-trumps-general guideline. As to Acrobatics, I think the skill was written long before the time when such a situation was under consideration, so it definitely doesn't allow for it by the strict wording of what the Acrobatics check avoids (it avoids AoOs from moving through threatened squares, but the mouser AoO is from a slightly different form of movement), but if a player was trying to use the Acrobatics check to avoid a mouser foe in my home game, I'd likely allow it if they can best the CMD.

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Joana wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
Ectar wrote:

Regarding both the heavens oracle mystery and heavens shaman spirit:

The level 20 abilities state that if you die you are reborn 3 days later as a star child. What is a star child?
I don't really know. I think someone asked this when the APG first came out and the answer was that it was flavor text describing your rebirth and not mechanical, but I can't find the thread.
This one, maybe?

Could well be just the one!

Silver Crusade Contributor

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This came up in PFS the other day, and while I'm inclined to disallow it, I figured I'd get a second opinion. ^_^

Does a magus's black blade have to be a manufactured weapon independent of the user, or could - let's say - a changeling choose her claws as her black blade? What about a multiclassed ectoplasmatist spiritualist choosing their lashes? A multiclassed kineticist choosing their kinetic blade?

Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.
N N 959 wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:


2. Probably a case by case basis, depending on the pre-existing conditions when initiative is rolled

Thank you for providing some clarity on the topic. I wanted to follow up on #2. Just for reference, my original question was:

NN959 wrote:
2. If the Bard is first to act after Initiative is rolled, can a bard use Fascinate or does the rolling of Init preclude the use of Fascinate/Shining Star?
So in the nominal case a party is in a dungeon, turns the corner and finds a group of predatory (and hungry) ogres. Init is rolled, fighter goes first and he delays. Then the bard goes. Can she fascinate the ogres?

I don't think there's a truly definitive "dividing line" litmus test, so I think It's likely going to be a judgment call based on a variety of factors. For instance, if the bard appears out of nowhere and just starts the fascinating performance, I'd be much more inclined to call the fascinate as pre-existing the fight and thus avoiding the fact that the distraction of nearby combat and other dangers still prevent the ability from starting, having not been removed by the archetype. What would seem to be "other dangers"? It might be fair to say that the giant adventuring party arrayed for murder, including the warrior who is holding his blade and waiting for the bard counts, but if the rest of the party was just disguised as a troupe of minstrels with no weapons, maybe not. It gets into the psychology of the monsters too; an arrogant dragon might not see a nearby adventuring party as being particularly dangerous compared to a craven kobold.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If you could choose two classes to feature in a future Pathfinder Tales novel, which two would you choose and what sort of personality would you want each to have?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Krol Thorngage wrote:

Hi Mark, I'm here looking for two answers on the swashbuckler (also mouser) and his deeds.

Here we go:
If the mouser/swashbuckler is on a difficult terrain, can he use his deeds Dodging Panache and Underfoot Assault ?
And what if he's swimming? Flying?

Also, for the Mouser Underfoot Assault, if i am below an enemy, can he take 5 foot steps? And if he can, can he 5 step to a zone where i'm no longer below him and would he provoke an attack of opportunity (would he be able to use acrobatics to avoid it)?

Reference:
Dodging Panache (Ex): At 1st level, when an opponent attempts a melee attack against the swashbuckler, the swashbuckler can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet; doing so grants the swashbuckler a dodge bonus to AC equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 0) against the triggering attack. This movement doesn't negate the attack, which is still resolved as if the swashbuckler had not moved from the original square. This movement is not a 5-foot step; it provokes attacks of opportunity from creatures other than the one who triggered this deed. The swashbuckler can only perform this deed while wearing light or no armor, and while carrying no heavier than a light load.

(Mouser)
Underfoot Assault (Ex): At 1st level, if a foe whose size is larger than the mouser's is adjacent to her and misses her with a melee attack, the mouser can as an immediate action spend 1 panache point to move 5 feet into an area of the attacker's space. This movement does not count against the mouser's movement the next round, and it doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity. While the mouser is within a foe's space, she is considered to occupy her square within that foe's space.

While the mouser is within her foe's space, the foe takes a –4 penalty on all attack rolls and combat maneuver checks not made against the mouser, and all of the mouser's allies that are adjacent to both the foe and the mouser are considered to be flanking the foe. The mouser is

...

In simple difficult terrain where your movement is halved, would he be able to use his deed? Cause many say "No you cant cause in difficult terrain your movement costs 10 ft and it says move 5 ft."


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Thanks for answering all these questions! (I mean, I guess that's what the thread is for huh...)

Here's another question about wording and whatnot. The impale infusion reads:

Impale wrote:
Make a single attack roll against each creature or object in a 30-foot line, starting with the closest target. If the result is a critical threat, roll to confirm against only the first target you hit.

The line about the critical threat seems to imply that this means "Roll once, compare that result to every enemy's AC, roll damage against what you hit", but "Make a single attack roll against each creature or object" can be interpreted as meaning one attack roll per target.

I see it played the first way more often (ie: one attack roll, compare against all creatures) but that seems to make it pretty all-or-nothing since a lot of the time creatures bunched up that close together have similar ACs. Then again, perhaps that was the intent of the infusion in the first place...

I was planning on using this with an Air Purist, like one of those cool anime air cannons that blow holes through people and buildings and stuff (Big O immediately comes to mind).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hey, Mark, got my copy of Psychic Anthology, which has a lot of great stuff, but two things I wanted to check with you on...and one additional thing that made me raise an eyebrow.

Spoiler:
1) Maelstrom should be a form infusion rather than a substance infusion, shouldn't it? It looks like it's based off of deadly earth, and it says it can be used with grappling infusion, itself a substance infusion...not to mention, Paizo usually seems to title substance infusions '[X] Infusion', while form infusions are usually just '[X]'.

2) Positive Admixture should be of the wood element, not the void element, right?

Also unrelatedly, is Foxfire the first utility wild talent to require you to have multiple elements? Since it's a fire talent, but requires you to have aether, void, water, or wood as well to have access to kinetic healer/wood healer (since it counts as kinetic healer for prerequisites) or void healing.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
You could add that they don't prevent his blast as part of that special ability, similarly to the kinetic knight's shield.

Wait, the what now?

Kinetic Knight?


3 people marked this as a favorite.
Throne wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
You could add that they don't prevent his blast as part of that special ability, similarly to the kinetic knight's shield.
Wait, the what now? Kinetic Knight?

It's exactly what it sounds like. ^_^

I recommend checking out Psychic Anthology. (And not just because I wrote for it.)


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Isabelle Lee wrote:


It's exactly what it sounds like. ^_^

I recommend checking out Psychic Anthology. (And not just because I wrote for it.)

That's a horrible tease when it says it's not available for another week!


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
This is why I say "Always futureproof" whenever anyone says you don't need a precaution in case of future releases because it works with everything currently published (aside from the fact that enough is currently published that I don't think anyone can be truly confident that they covered literally everything currently published). Of course, we can't always follow through with that sentiment, even if we try, and in this case, a bit of flavor text about color coordination led to the issue.

I'm not sure if this is outside your wheelhouse to weigh in on, but it seems to me a similar case of forgetting to adequately futureproof a feat;

The monk has a bunch of class abilities which can't be used with a shield.
The Unhindering Shield feat, which looks intended to remove all the little downsides of using a buckler, has a Special: note saying it lets a monk use a buckler without losing those abilities.

The Devoted Muse also has class abilities which it loses if it uses a shield, but since it came in a later book than Unhindering Shield, no note calling it out as able to use a buckler with that feat, so by RAW it can't, though it looks like RAI it probably should.

Do you feel it should, or shouldn't?

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Throne wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:
This is why I say "Always futureproof" whenever anyone says you don't need a precaution in case of future releases because it works with everything currently published (aside from the fact that enough is currently published that I don't think anyone can be truly confident that they covered literally everything currently published). Of course, we can't always follow through with that sentiment, even if we try, and in this case, a bit of flavor text about color coordination led to the issue.

I'm not sure if this is outside your wheelhouse to weigh in on, but it seems to me a similar case of forgetting to adequately futureproof a feat;

The monk has a bunch of class abilities which can't be used with a shield.
The Unhindering Shield feat, which looks intended to remove all the little downsides of using a buckler, has a Special: not saying it lets a monk use a buckler without losing those abilities.

The Devoted Muse also has class abilities which it loses if it uses a shield, but since it came in a later book than Unhindering Shield, no note calling it out as able to use a buckler with that feat, so by RAW it can't, though it looks like RAI it probably should.

Do you feel it should, or shouldn't?

UH actually does say Monks can still use their abilities. The only other ability not mentioned was Evasion, and that's because they didn't need to. Monk Evasion only calls out armor interfering with it, nothing about shields.

Unhindering Shield (Shield Mastery) wrote:


You are accustomed to fighting with your shield. Prerequisites: Shield Focus, base attack bonus +6 or
fighter level 4th, proficiency with bucklers.
Benefit: You still gain a buckler’s bonus to AC even if you
use your shield hand for some other purpose. When you wield a buckler, your shield hand is considered free for the purposes of casting spells, wielding weapons, and using any other abilities that require you to have a free hand or interact with your shield, such as the swashbuckler’s precise strike deed or the Weapon Finesse feat.
Special: A monk with this feat is not considered to be using a shield for the purposes of his AC bonus, fast movement, or flurry of blows.

Pretty sure the first bolded statement also covers Devoted Muse (then there's art of said Devoted Muse wielding a buckler).


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
UH actually does say Monks can still use their abilities. The only other ability not mentioned was Evasion, and that's because they didn't need to. Monk Evasion only calls out armor interfering with it, nothing about shields.

Yeah, typo, should've been note rather than not. Corrected in post.

Rysky wrote:
Unhindering Shield (Shield Mastery) wrote:


You are accustomed to fighting with your shield. Prerequisites: Shield Focus, base attack bonus +6 or
fighter level 4th, proficiency with bucklers.
Benefit: You still gain a buckler’s bonus to AC even if you
use your shield hand for some other purpose. When you wield a buckler, your shield hand is considered free for the purposes of casting spells, wielding weapons, and using any other abilities that require you to have a free hand or interact with your shield, such as the swashbuckler’s precise strike deed or the Weapon Finesse feat.
Special: A monk with this feat is not considered to be using a shield for the purposes of his AC bonus, fast movement, or flurry of blows.

If the first bolded part covers the DM, then it would also by the same logic cover the Monk and make the note redundant (not that redundancy would be all that unusual). I took it to mean that the first part didn't alleviate blanket 'you can't do this if you're using a shield' restrictions, rather than 'can't do this with anything in your off-hand' rules. If it is supposed to cover all restrictions, then the monk note actually becomes unhelpful, since it then reads as an exception proving the rule.

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Throne wrote:
Rysky wrote:
UH actually does say Monks can still use their abilities. The only other ability not mentioned was Evasion, and that's because they didn't need to. Monk Evasion only calls out armor interfering with it, nothing about shields.

Yeah, typo, should've been note rather than not. Corrected in post.

Rysky wrote:
Unhindering Shield (Shield Mastery) wrote:


You are accustomed to fighting with your shield. Prerequisites: Shield Focus, base attack bonus +6 or
fighter level 4th, proficiency with bucklers.
Benefit: You still gain a buckler’s bonus to AC even if you
use your shield hand for some other purpose. When you wield a buckler, your shield hand is considered free for the purposes of casting spells, wielding weapons, and using any other abilities that require you to have a free hand or interact with your shield, such as the swashbuckler’s precise strike deed or the Weapon Finesse feat.
Special: A monk with this feat is not considered to be using a shield for the purposes of his AC bonus, fast movement, or flurry of blows.
If the first bolded part covers the DM, then it would also by the same logic cover the Monk and make the note redundant (not that redundancy would be all that unusual). I took it to mean that the first part didn't alleviate blanket 'you can't do this if you're using a shield' restrictions, rather than 'can't do this with anything in your off-hand' rules. If it is supposed to cover all restrictions, then the monk note actually becomes unhelpful, since it then reads as an exception proving the rule.

Fair points.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
N N 959 wrote:
Mark Seifter wrote:


2. Probably a case by case basis, depending on the pre-existing conditions when initiative is rolled

Thank you for providing some clarity on the topic. I wanted to follow up on #2. Just for reference, my original question was:

NN959 wrote:
2. If the Bard is first to act after Initiative is rolled, can a bard use Fascinate or does the rolling of Init preclude the use of Fascinate/Shining Star?
So in the nominal case a party is in a dungeon, turns the corner and finds a group of predatory (and hungry) ogres. Init is rolled, fighter goes first and he delays. Then the bard goes. Can she fascinate the ogres?
I don't think there's a truly definitive "dividing line" litmus test, so I think It's likely going to be a judgment call based on a variety of factors. For instance, if the bard appears out of nowhere and just starts the fascinating performance, I'd be much more inclined to call the fascinate as pre-existing the fight and thus avoiding the fact that the distraction of nearby combat and other dangers still prevent the ability from starting, having not been removed by the archetype. What would seem to be "other dangers"? It might be fair to say that the giant adventuring party arrayed for murder, including the warrior who is holding his blade and waiting for the bard counts, but if the rest of the party was just disguised as a troupe of minstrels with no weapons, maybe not. It gets into the psychology of the monsters too; an arrogant dragon might not see a nearby adventuring party as being particularly dangerous compared to a craven kobold.

That is all very helpful, thank you.

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

I got a question again,if I use the acid as a material in grease,it got 1 acid damage per turn.As a Elemental bloodline Sorcerer,can I turned this acid damage to fire damage or else?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey there again! Thank you for the answers to my previous questions! I have another interesting thing that was brought forth to me.

Clerics and Domains particularly ones forced into domains. Some Cleric Archetypes specify that you must take a certain domain, similar to the Merciful Healer. Which states:

Merciful Healer wrote:
Willing Healer: A merciful healer must choose the Healing domain. She does not gain a second domain. If the cleric worships a deity, that deity must be one that grants the Healing domain. A merciful healer must channel positive energy.

Would you be able to take subdomains of the Healing Domain (Such as Restoration, Resurrection, or the new one Medicine?), or is it only base Healing Domain? (And thus would this apply to other ones that force you to take other Domains?)


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:

D-d-d-d-d-d-d-d-double FAQ!

FAQs wrote:

Haste: Haste says a hasted creature can make an additional attack during a full attack with a natural or manufactured weapon, but what about other sorts of attacks like unarmed strikes?

Unarmed strikes and other attacks that work via full attacks (such as mystic bolts, kinetic blade, and flame blade) all allow an extra attack with haste. However, single attacks such as incorporeal touch attacks or melee touch spells delivered round by round after holding the charge do not.

Touch Spells: In the Magic and Combat chapters, it says that I can touch a single ally as a standard action or up to six allies as a full-round action and that I can combine delivering a touch spell with a natural attack or unarmed strike. But what if I just want to deliver the touch spell to an enemy? It just says I can do it “round after round.”
Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack.

Despite two this week, we still might be able to have one next week, but definitely not the week after.

Sadly not this week, after all. :(


1 person marked this as a favorite.
FAQs wrote:

Haste: Haste says a hasted creature can make an additional attack during a full attack with a natural or manufactured weapon, but what about other sorts of attacks like unarmed strikes?

Unarmed strikes and other attacks that work via full attacks (such as mystic bolts, kinetic blade, and flame blade) all allow an extra attack with haste. However, single attacks such as incorporeal touch attacks or melee touch spells delivered round by round after holding the charge do not.

Touch Spells: In the Magic and Combat chapters, it says that I can touch a single ally as a standard action or up to six allies as a full-round action and that I can combine delivering a touch spell with a natural attack or unarmed strike. But what if I just want to deliver the touch spell to an enemy? It just says I can do it “round after round.”
Making a touch attack against an enemy by touching it, beyond the free action to do so as part of casting the spell, is a standard action. It can’t be used with a full attack.

I was curious about those FAQs. I had always considered incorporeal touch attacks either monster ability or via spell to be akin to either a natural attack, or "touch" UAS. So this FAQ implies they are not, and are basically their own barely defined category of attack? I understand balance considerations here, just want to clarify that basic point which is relevant to broader issues than just Haste.

On the second FAQ, touch spells/attacks can still be discharged via AoO, correct? So the limitation to "Standard Action only, no Full Attack" isn't meant to apply more broadly? Albeit if one can use Full Attack to cause an opponent to provoke AoO (e.g. Greater Trip), one could then use Held/Touch Attack for that AoO, correct?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Hey, Mark. I played a lv10 magus, and he learnt Monstrous Physique II,and bought a bane baldric.
(1)Can he take the form of a Four-Armed Gargoyle and makes spell combat while wielding his longsword two-handed to add 1.5*STR to damage?
(2)Can he enhance his longsword with his arcane pool and use ready action to activate bane baldric in the same round?

By the way, (3)how does the feat Hidden Presence interact with Magic Circle against Evil? Will the evil possessing creature fail to control his victim's body if he enter the circle and his victim make a successful save?

Hidden Presence

Spoiler:

You are adept at hiding within your host.
Prerequisites: Int or Cha 17, ability to cast possession or
greater possession.
Benefit: While possessing another creature, you can hide yourself from divinations and pass through wards such as magic circle against evil or the effects of a forbiddance spell. You must attempt a Will save against the spell (even if it doesn’t normally allow a saving throw). If you succeed, the spell treats you as if you were your host
(for instance, divinations would reveal only the host’s alignment, and forbiddance keyed to the host’s alignment wouldn’t damage you). If your saving throw fails, the spell functions against you as normal; if the spell normally allows a save, your previous failure doesn’t count as a failed save against the spell’s normal effects.

Magic Circle against Evil

Spoiler:

All creatures within the area gain the effects of a protection from evil spell, and evil summoned creatures cannot enter the area either. Creatures in the area, or who later enter the area, receive only one attempt to suppress effects that are controlling them. If successful, such effects are suppressed as long as they remain in the area. Creatures that leave the area and come back are not protected. You must overcome a creature's Spell Resistance in order to keep it at bay (as in the third function of protection from evil), but the deflection and resistance bonuses and the protection from mental control apply regardless of enemies' Spell Resistance.

This spell has an alternative version that you may choose when casting it. A magic circle against evil can be focused inward rather than outward. When focused inward, the spell binds a non-good called creature (such as those called by the lesser planar binding, planar binding, and greater planar binding spells) for a maximum of 24 hours per caster level, provided that you cast the spell that calls the creature within 1 round of casting the magic circle. The creature cannot cross the circle's boundaries. If a creature too large to fit into the spell's area is the subject of the spell, the spell acts as a normal protection from evil spell for that creature only.

A magic circle leaves much to be desired as a trap. If the circle of powdered silver laid down in the process of spellcasting is broken, the effect immediately ends. The trapped creature can do nothing that disturbs the circle, directly or indirectly, but other creatures can. If the called creature has Spell Resistance, it can test the trap once a day. If you fail to overcome its Spell Resistance, the creature breaks free, destroying the circle. A creature capable of any form of dimensional travel (astral projection, blink, dimension door, etherealness, gate, plane shift, shadow walk, teleport, and similar abilities) can simply leave the circle through such means. You can prevent the creature's extra-dimensional escape by casting a dimensional anchor spell on it, but you must cast the spell before the creature acts. If you are successful, the anchor effect lasts as long as the magic circle does. The creature cannot reach across the magic circle, but its ranged attacks (ranged weapons, spells, magical abilities, and the like) can. The creature can attack any target it can reach with its ranged attacks except for the circle itself.

You can add a special diagram (a two-dimensional bounded figure with no gaps along its circumference, augmented with various magical sigils) to make the magic circle more secure. Drawing the diagram by hand takes 10 minutes and requires a DC 20 Spellcraft check. You do not know the result of this check. If the check fails, the diagram is ineffective. You can take 10 when drawing the diagram if you are under no particular time pressure to complete the task. This task also takes 10 full minutes. If time is no factor at all, and you devote 3 hours and 20 minutes to the task, you can take 20.

A successful diagram allows you to cast a dimensional anchor spell on the magic circle during the round before casting any summoning spell. The anchor holds any called creatures in the magic circle for 24 hours per caster level. A creature cannot use its Spell Resistance against a magic circle prepared with a diagram, and none of its abilities or attacks can cross the diagram. If the creature tries a Charisma check to break free of the trap (see the lesser planar binding spell), the DC increases by 5. The creature is immediately released if anything disturbs the diagram - even a straw laid across it. The creature itself cannot disturb the diagram either directly or indirectly, as noted above.

This spell is not cumulative with protection from evil and vice versa.

Alright the last problem: (4)if a ghost possesses my teammate, may I use command undead to cast it out?


Hello again, Mark. Here's a new question:
Magical Lineage says I can apply metamagic feats to a specific spell, and treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level. And Wayang Spellhunter says I can apply metamagic feats to a specific spell, and the spell uses up a spell slot one level lower than it normally would. So, may I use Magical Lineage to make the empowered fireball a level 4 spell, and then use Wayang Spellhunter to spend a level 3 spell slot to memorize it?

Magical Lineage

Spoiler:

One of your parents was a gifted spellcaster who not only used metamagic often, but also developed many magical items and perhaps even a new spell or two—and you have inherited a fragment of this greatness. Pick one spell when you choose this trait. When you apply metamagic feats to this spell that add at least 1 level to the spell, treat its actual level as 1 lower for determining the spell’s final adjusted level.

Wayang Spellhunter

Spoiler:

You grew up on one of the wayang-populated islands of Minata, and your use of magic while hunting has been a boon to you. Select a spell of 3rd level or below. When you use this spell with a metamagic feat, it uses up a spell slot one level lower than it normally would.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

That's the way those two traits have been used for years now. They do different things, so they stack. It locks you into a single spell, so it's not really powerful as the game goes on(just when you first get it, and a few levels after).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hi~ Mark, I have some question about four hand race(such as Kasatha or Shobhad) with Multiweapon Fighting feat.

1). Can kasatha wield two two-handed melee weapons, like two greatsword, and use two-weapon fighting?

2). Can kasatha wield one two-handed melee weapon and two one-handed melee weapons, like one greatsword and two short sword, and use multiweapon fighting?

In a Bow Nomad(kasatha ranger archetype)'s Twin Bows ability, it can let kasatha simultaneously wield two bows and use two-weapon fighting. According to this ability, normal kasatha can't wield two bows, am I right?

So it can be inferred to that kasatha can't wield two two-handed melee Weapons?

Thanks you!

Multiweapon Fighting:

This multi-armed creature is skilled at making attacks with multiple weapons.

Prerequisites: Dex 13, three or more hands.

Benefit: Penalties for fighting with multiple weapons are reduced by –2 with the primary hand and by –6 with off hands.

Normal: A creature without this feat takes a –6 penalty on attacks made with its primary hand and a –10 penalty on attacks made with all of its off hands. (It has one primary hand, and all the others are off hands.) See Two-Weapon Fighting.

Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms.


Multi-Armed:

A kasatha has four arms. One hand is considered its primary hand; all others are considered off hands. It can use any of its hands for other purposes that require free hands.

Bow Nomad:

Twin Bows (Ex)
At 1st level, a bow nomad can simultaneously wield a combination of two of any of the following ranged weapons: shortbow, longbow, and their composite versions. When a bow nomad makes a full attack with two bows, two-weapon penalties apply and can be offset with Two-Weapon Fighting feats. Since bows aren't light weapons, a bow nomad with Two-Weapon Fighting takes a –4 penalty on attacks with each of her bows. Extra attacks from other sources, such as those granted by Manyshot or Rapid Shot, can be applied to only one of the wielded bows per round.

This ability replaces wild empathy.

Bow Nomad link

Contributor

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Mark, I noticed the foxfire utility talent lists void healer or kinetic healer as a prerequisite. Being that the talent is fire based, is this a typo or is it meant to only be available to kineticists who have multiple elements?

Thanks in advance!

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Can a mooncursed barbarian take the Raging Vitality feat?

Shifting Rage alters rage, as opposed to replacing it. This leads me to believe that shifting rage should count as rage for feat prereqs and such. However, I'm certain that a contingent of people will disagree with me (maybe even more disagreeing than agreeing).


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Another question for you Mark, as there is some confusing wording on one of the Aether Infusions. Many Throw states that you select a number of targets, but doesn't state you can't select the same target again. Is this intentional? Are Aether Kineticist's supposed to be allowed 17+ blasts at a singular target? Or is it meant to not be allowed to target the same person? As most abilities that don't let you target the same person more than once, state so in it's ability if I am remembering correctly.

Thank you for taking your time once again!


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Mark Seifter wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
Are we going to be fortunate enough to have a FAQ or a follow up on gauntlets and such?
We were planning on it and even had unusually high early-week activity on FAQ stuff, but then Jason was sick for the last few days, so we couldn't finalize it. Let's wish for him to get well soon, and we should be seeing something next week if he does!

Any more updates on this?


GhostwheelX wrote:

Hi Mark, quick question for you, and thank you in advance!

If a character with the Animal Ally feat later took a level in druid and chose an animal not on the Animal Ally list as their animal companion, would that animal companion have its effective level be equal to the Druid level, or the Druid level and the Animal Ally effective level combined?

Mark Seifter wrote:
The feat doesn't seem to have a difference in that final section depending on if the new companion is on the list or not. That said, you can't double-count the same level for the same thing, so it would be druid level + non-druid-levels-combined - 3.

This is pretty solid answer, but it seems like it could lead to some weird corner cases where the character in question actually loses power to effective druid level.

Like, say, if you have a druid level 5 with an domain, and you take a level of fighter (or whatever) - in theory, they might want to take an animal companion (and may do so). If, for character purposes, they later retrain their domain to animal companion to beef that puppy up... do they effectively lose druid levels because of the feat (although they get a companion, so that's a new thing)? Or even retrain the level of fighter (or whatever) out entirely... what then?

The retraining seems legal, to me - especially if the feat still abides even after you've taken your first level of druid.

Or maybe a 1st level fighter (or whatever), 3rd level ranger takes the feat, and then hits 5th level ranger and selects animal companion: is that choice just illegal? Does the ranger kind of sort of lose an effective druid level by ignoring one or the other? Do you stack both penalties? It's a curious thing...

I might just be missing something, and that's fine, but that just seems like a really weird possible corner case.

That said, I don't know that it really needs fixing. It's "corner enough" that it could be considered irrelevant. Just something that immediately sprang to mind.

(Sorry if this comes off weird. I just wanted to ramble; I actually think your answer is pretty solid, it just made me think... XD)

Dark Archive

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hello Mr. Siefter first off i would like to ask how your day has been then i have a question on mage's magnificent mansion spell. Does it lead to the same place every time or create a new demiplane each time it is cast?


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Just so no one gets their hopes up, Mark is out of office this weekend at a convention in Boston. No FAQs.


Now my hopes are up even higher~! >:(

No. No they are not. Thanks for the info!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey Mark! I've got a question about the wording on a specific magical tea set that has been driving me crazy

The Karyukai Tea Set has a slightly strange wording in its listing
My question is, do all of the effects listed last 12 hours as the first effect is listed?
Or do the effects last as long as the spells would normally last?
I'm wanting to get the tea set on one of my characters in a game but I don't want to brew tea for an hour only to get 11 minutes of greater heroism


1 person marked this as a favorite.

And I'm back for a third question! I'm quite sorry for barraging you with all these questions, but otherwise I'll forget. It's about the Elemental Ascetic Kineticist Archetype.

Elemental Wisdom wrote:
An elemental ascetic can use his Wisdom modifier instead of his Constitution modifier to determine the DCs of Constitution-based wild talents, the duration of wild talents with a Constitution-based duration, and his bonus on concentration checks for wild talents. This ability alters the key ability scores of wild talents.

How come it doesn't replace amount of Burn one can take and all other Constitution based class features? I remember you stating above that it was supposed to just not add the damage, which Kinetic Fist doesn't allow, so was this a missed thing, or was this supposed to be replacing with all Wisdom?

Thank you once again!

Silver Crusade

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Mark do you see any thing wrong with a wondrous item, that is a salve that heals 1d8 per dose and comes in a tin of 50 doses for 750gp?
it is spread on the wound and that activates the magic healing.

I priced it the same as a wand of cure light. The actions econmy is a little different as you have to open the tin and spread it on the wond a free action to open the tin and one standard action to spread it on the wound. This is from another game that it worked fine in. It is mainly for non casters that do not have UMD to activate a wand.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I thought maybe three was enough, but I am apparently insatiable! I apologize as I release another question on you. This one, Catfolk Claw Blades.

Are Claw Blades considered the Claws for the purposes of other abilities, such as the Catfolk Slayer Talent Vicious Claws? Which reads:

Vicious Claws wrote:
A catfolk with this talent uses d8s to roll sneak attack damage instead of d6s, but only when she uses her claws to make the sneak attack. A catfolk rogue must have the cat’s claws racial trait before taking this talent.

Thank you once again for your time!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Hey Mark, hope you're having a good day. Was hoping you could settle a question for me and my friends.

If I have an Occultist with Legacy weapon or a Fighter with Warrior Spirit (both abilities that allow you to temporarily enchant your weapon), as well as the weapon versatility feat, can I do the following?

>Have a piercing weapon
>Use weapon versatility as a swift or free action to make it deal bludgeoning damage
>Use Legacy Weapon or Warrior Spirit to apply Quaking to the weapon.

A similar situation one could imagine for someone using a hammer and applying Keen when they use Weapon Versatility to make it deal piercing damage.

Relevant links:

Quaking:
Restriction This ability can be placed only on melee bludgeoning weapons.

The wielder of a quaking weapon can strike the ground as a standard action to perform a trip combat maneuver that applies to all foes within a 5-foot-radius spread, a 10- foot cone, or a 20-foot line along the ground. The wielder can trip creatures of any size this way. This trip maneuver attempt provokes attacks of opportunity unless the wielder has some feat or ability that prevents it, and the wielder can never be knocked prone as a result of failing this special trip combat maneuver check.

Legacy Weapon:
As a standard action, you can expend 1 point of mental focus and touch a weapon to grant it an enhancement bonus. The bonus is equal to 1 + 1 for every 6 occultist levels you possess (to a maximum of +4 at 18th level). Enhancement bonuses gained by this ability stack with those of the weapon, to a maximum of +5.

You can also imbue the weapon with any one weapon special ability with an equivalent enhancement bonus less than or equal to your maximum bonus by reducing the granted enhancement bonus by the appropriate amount. The item must have an enhancement bonus of at least +1 (from the item itself or from legacy weapon) to gain a weapon special ability. In either case, these bonuses last for 1 minute.

Weapon Type on D20PFSRD:
Type: Weapons are classified according to the type of damage they deal: B for bludgeoning, P for piercing, or S for slashing. Some monsters may be resistant or immune to attacks from certain types of weapons. Some weapons deal damage of multiple types. If a weapon causes two types of damage, the type it deals is not half one type and half another; all damage caused is of both types. Therefore, a creature would have to be immune to both types of damage to ignore any of the damage caused by such a weapon. In other cases, a weapon can deal either of two types of damage. In a situation where the damage type is significant, the wielder can choose which type of damage to deal with such a weapon.

Treated as: If a weapon’s description says it is “treated as” another weapon, a character lacking the appropriate exotic weapon proficiency, can still use it as if it were the other kind of weapon and feats such as Weapon Focus still apply, as do abilities requiring a certain weapon. For example, the butterfly knife allows a proficient user to open or close it as a free action and is otherwise treated as a dagger, meaning she can wield it as a dagger, gain the benefit of Weapon Focus (dagger) when wielding it, use it as the target of a spell that only affects daggers, and so on.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Forgot to list this too:

Weapon Versatility:
Benefit: When wielding a weapon with which you have Weapon Focus, you can shift your grip as a swift action so that your weapon deals bludgeoning, piercing, or slashing damage instead of the damage type normally dealt by that weapon. You may switch back to the weapon’s normal damage type or another damage type as a swift action. If your base attack bonus is +5 or higher, using this feat is a free action instead.

5,901 to 5,950 of 6,833 << first < prev | 114 | 115 | 116 | 117 | 118 | 119 | 120 | 121 | 122 | 123 | 124 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Gamer Life / Off-Topic Discussions / >>Ask *Mark Seifter* All Your Questions Here!<< All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.