Jesalin's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.




Quote:

Umbral Spell (Metamagic)

Source Inner Sea Magic pg. 15
Targets of your darkness spells radiate darkness.

Prerequisites: Tenebrous Spell.

Benefit: An umbral spell gains the darkness descriptor. As long as the spell is in effect, the creature or object affected radiates darkness in a 10-foot radius, reducing illumination similar to the effects of the darkness spell. Nonmagical sources of light, such as torches or lanterns, do not increase the light level in this area. Magical light sources only increase the light level in an area affected by an umbral spell if they are of a higher level than the umbral spell’s unmodified spell level. This effect does not stack with itself or with any other effect that creates darkness. An umbral spell uses up a spell slot two levels higher than the spell’s actual level.

You cannot use this feat on a spell with an instantaneous duration or a spell that does not target a creature or object.

Is it possible to cast an Umbral Continual Flame, and if so, how would it manifest?

Trying to come up with ways, other than the Umbral Arcane Mark, to help a character who like darkness (and dim-ness) without inconveniencing other party members with weaker eyes.


Rules wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.

Does this mean that a character could get a Permanent Enlarge cast on them, and then use Alter Self (which is a polymorph effect, unlike Enlarge) to temporarily shut down the Enlarge, and be size Medium or Small when convenient?


Say I had a character that is a Brawler 6/Fighter (Varisian Free-Style) 6.
Both classes bestow Martial Flexibility, and I've been told that since there is no language about them stacking, they would be separate pools.

So, combat begins, I dip into my Brawler pool and grab two combat feats as a move action. Can I then use my remaining Standard action (as a Move action) to dip into my Free-Styler's (separate) pool of Martial Flexibility and grab two more feats?