Jakoli's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I'm sorry if this is an obvious answer question but I'm not sure I understand something about Magic Gear from what I've read on the d20pfsrd.com site.

My question is about enhancement abilities that have a "Base Price" as a gp cost but NOT (?) a specified Bonus "Cost."

Examples like Benevolent (+2000) is listed on the +1 Armor Bonus Table; or Jousting (+3750) is listed on the +2 Armor Bonus Table. As compared to something like Balanced (+1 Bonus) or Spell Resistance [13] (+2 Bonus).

The thing I don't get is how those enhancement abilities interact with the +10 max enhancement bonus and actual cost of the weapon.

Lets say I start with a +2 Chainmail and I wanted to add Benevolent.

Is that now considered a total "+3" Chainmail armor (+2 & Benevolent), and would I pay the difference of 5000gp from a +2 enhancement to the +3 enhancement or the listed +2000gp? Then if I wanted to upgrade to a +3 Benevolent Chainmail would I need to pay out the difference of 16000 - 9000 (difference of a generic +4 to +3) or 16000 - 6000 (presuming 4000 for the +2 armor and +2000 for Benevolent)?

This question is meant to help me understand higher powered enhancement abilities.

Like changing +5 Chainmail into +5 Righteous Chainmail

vs

Changing +1 Righteous Chainmail into a +5 Righteous Chainmail?

Adding the Righteous Property to +5 Armor only costs 27000?

Where as adding +4 to "+6" Armor costs 64000? (100000 - 36000)

Thanks in advance for any help/clarity you can give me!

-Jakoli


Here's another quick question because I missed it on my first read through of the Grapple Weapon Quality and the Grapple Combat Maneuver.

"Humanoid creatures without two free hands attempting to grapple a foe take a –4 penalty on the combat maneuver roll."

Will the grapple check, from a grapple weapon (on a successful critical), incur this -4 penalty? I mean the rules seem clear, but you're not even using your hands (directly) to do the grapple anyways! I know this is very specific conditions, but I like to know all the ins/outs before stumbling into something without an answer.

Thanks again!


I've got a question regarding grappling, this appears to be the place to ask it.

My question is about how certain weapons/creatures with reach/range grapple capabilities work with AoO's from leaving threatened squares.

the rules about Grapple state:

"If you successfully grapple a creature that is not adjacent to you, move that creature to an adjacent open space (if no space is available, your grapple fails)."

So let's say my Enlarged Fighter innitiates a grapple with an enemy that is at my extended reach of 10ft AND is currently being threatened by other party members. WHEN (not if lol) my grapple succeeds and I place the creature in a space adjacent to me, does that count as that creature leaving a threatened square provoking AoO's from any other party members that threatened the square the enemy left? If so at what (if any) penalties?

Same question but in regards to weapons like Grappling Hook, Mancatcher, Kyoketsu Shoge, etc. Weapons with Range/Reach and Grapple Qualities. Do they Automatically "pull" the creature adjacent to you once you succeed with a grapple? I know Grapple weapons require a successful critical hit to start a grapple, but will a successful grapple move them adjacent and trigger AoO's from every square they move through to get adjacent to you from the Grapple effects?

Thanks for any help you can give me!

*Edit: tried to clarify my wording :-/*


Thanks! I really appreciate the clarification :)


Sorry if this is a double posting, but I couldn't find the answer to my question in an older thread:

http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jxd6?Aid-Another

While looking over the d20pfsrd site rules for Aid Another, I've managed to confuse myself on what exactly you roll/add for this type of check.

The rules state to make an attack roll... so do I add my BAB and an Ability Modifier? If so, which?

Thanks for any clarity you can give me!


xXDEMONICXx wrote:
Is this finally a way to kill the dreaded tarrasque?

This recently came to light for my adventuring group and our idea on how to "kill" the Tarrasque.

You would need an 18th lvl (or higher) Witch with Grand Hex - Forced Reincarnation available.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/classes/base-classes/witch#TOC-Grand-Hex

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/r/reincarnate

Once the soul of the Tarrasque is in a new body/form and no longer has all those pesky abilities you kill the new form and enjoy the fresh pile of constantly regenerating meat.

Thoughts?


Thanks! So basically the table "Extracts per Day" IS my Extracts Known. The Bonuses from my Int remain "inert" until I gain the appropriate lvl Extracts on the Base table. I appreciate the clarity. :)


Hi everyone, I'm still pretty new to Pathfinder and I've been delving into the SRD online and I've come to a point with the Alchemist class that I can't find any resolution on.

Extracts/Day vs Extracts Known.

From the SRD.

Alchemists, like wizards, get extra extracts/day based on their Intelligence. So if I plugged (for example) a 16 into my Intelligence stat, the bonus extracts would be 1 additional 1st/2nd/3rd lvl extract/day. Making my Extracts per day 2/1/1/0/0/0. Now that is limited by the following line.

"An alchemist begins play with two 1st level formulae of his choice, plus a number of additional forumlae equal to his Intelligence modifier. At each new alchemist level, he gains one new formula of any level that he can create."

There's a table showing Extracts/Day as you level on the SRD. But there's nothing that shows what lvl extracts I "know" (gain access to) per lvl.

Because I have an Intelligence of 16 I would get 3 additional formulae at first level. Would I be able to pick a formulae of any level I can create (i.e. the bonus 1st, 2nd, or 3rd lvl slots from my high intelligence), or am i restricted to grabbing 3 additional 1st lvl formulae? And what about 2nd lvl? The table shows my base extracts per day as 2/0/0/0/0/0, which would be modified by my Int to 3/1/1/0/0/0, would I be able to take a lvl 2 or lvl 3 extract at 2nd level?

The reason I ask is I've played a Sorcerer and Bard before and they have tables for both Spells/Day AND Spells Known. That's why I'm confused about what Extracts/Day and Extracts Known are for an Alchemist. Thanks for any clarity you can give me!