Valeros

HalifaxDM's page

Organized Play Member. 136 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.




I tried looking but could not find anything definite.

When using a spell or effect with an area of cone, how high vertically can it reach?

Can a 60 foot cone be angled so as to rise to a full height of 60 feet and attack enemies that high? Or is it considered to be launched on a horizontal plane, the effect extending 30 feet up and 30 feet down at the far end of the cone?

Is there any rule or guideline that covers this situation?


I looked through the CRB and Ultimate Combat and could not find out how much siege engines weigh, in particular the standard catapult and the gatebreaker ballista.

I think this is going to come up in the next session I run and was wondering if the community had any thoughts.

I was thinking at least a tonne for the catapult and probably about 3 times that for the gatebreaker ballista.


Does anyone know of any feat, spell or class abilities that give modifiers to caster level checks?

The only ones that come to mind are Spell Penetration and Greater Spell Penetration but I was wondering if anyone had come across others,

I see lots of spells and effects that modify skill checks, ability checks, etc. but nothing that specifically calls out caster level checks.

For example, sickened condition gives a penalty to all attack rolls, weapon damage rolls, saving throws, skill checks, and ability checks but seems to not modify caster level checks.

Thoughts or comments?


When using the Song of the Fallen performance to keep a dead ally fighting, is any additional damage done to the revived ally or any healing done a moot point?

My assumption is yes but I was wondering if any of the others here had an opinion on the matter.


Sorry to be a hassle, but I was not paying very close attention when I placed this order I intended to get the "I love this game shirt" and the "King Slayer Black Ale" shirt but I apparently forgot to add the King Slayer shirt to my cart (serves me right for shopping before the first coffee of the day).

Is there anyway that the King Slayer Black Ale shirt in XXL can be added to this order retroactively?

If not, no biggie, as I will just place another order but figured it would not hurt to ask.


So in reviewing the Energy Drain ability and the rules for negative levels, I noticed this line in the PRD regarding negative levels:

PRD wrote:
A creature with temporary negative levels receives a new saving throw to remove the negative level each day. The DC of this save is the same as the effect that caused the negative levels.

With the energy drain spell and the energy drain ability the negative levels become permanent after 24 hours if the Fort save is failed and with the enervation spell the negative levels do not last long enough for this to come into play. With raise dead a permanent negative level is gained.

As far as I know, these are the primary sources of negative levels.

So is anyone aware of any sources of negative levels that remain temporary indefinitely until the save is passed?

This is neither a complaint or rules query ... just a matter of personal curiosity. :-)


In one of my campaigns I am intending on having the players contend with a hobgoblin mercenary general who is known for riding a wyvern.

I know I could use the Leadership feat to give it to him as a cohort but I would like this enemy to be a cavalier. However I can't see any way that I can replace the mount ability with a wyvern (the general would be around 13th or 14th level).

My alternative would be a tactician fighter archetype using Leadership but I am rather set on a cavalier.

Any advice on how this could be accomplished with a cavalier without needing to use Leadership?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I am designing a Incendiary Cloud trap and I am confused about the CR.

According to the rules for a spell trap that does damage you calculate the average damage (6d6 for 21.5), multiply by 2 as it effects multiple people and multiply by 15 for the 15 round duration for a total of 630 damage which would make the CR of the trap 64.

I am going to use the CR of 9 (for highest level spell effect) but just wanted to check with you guts to see if I am missing something.


This questions stems from a silly musing a buddy of mine and I had the other day but is there such a thing as a scabbard/sheath/hanger for polearms and/or spears and longspears or are they something that are generally carried in hand?


Is there any sort of tracking available?

I have still not received order 1829235 and it has been almost 7 weeks.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

The PRD states:

PRD wrote:
Reach Weapons: Glaives, guisarmes, lances, longspears, ranseurs, and whips are reach weapons. A reach weapon is a melee weapon that allows its wielder to strike at targets that aren't adjacent to him. Most reach weapons double the wielder's natural reach, meaning that a typical Small or Medium wielder of such a weapon can attack a creature 10 feet away, but not a creature in an adjacent square. A typical Large character wielding a reach weapon of the appropriate size can attack a creature 15 or 20 feet away, but not adjacent creatures or creatures up to 10 feet away.

.

A creature standing two squares diagonally from the wielder of the reach weapon is technically 15 ft away.

I recall from 3.5 a specific ruling and a diagram that indicated that the reach weapon still threatened two squares diagonally as an exception to the normal rules for calculating distance.

Is this still the case in Pathfinder and if so is there a specific part of the rules that addresses this? I apologize if this has come up before; I did search both the CRB and these messageboards but could not find an answer.


I know that a character starts with a free set of clothing of 10 gp value or less but I seem to recall (quite possibly erroneously so) that the clothing one wears does not count towards encumbrance.

Of course, I cannot find said reference.

Does this ring any bells with anyone else?


Hey guys,

With order 1777806 I had ordered a pack of Gaming Paper: 1" Squares (Singles) but when it arrived today it was not the pack of 100 sheets that I was expecting but rather the 30" x 12' roll of gaming paper.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I am not sure if I am missing something or not but with the wounds and vigor variant in Ultimate Combat it does not seem to address dying characters.

The rules state that once wounded, you gain the staggered condition and if you perform a standard or move action you lose a wound point and must succeed at a DC 10 Con check or fall unconscious.

What happens at this point? Does a character now begin dying? If so, do the mechanics for stabilization and recovery change at all?


6 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

The prone shooter feat from UC states that the character can ignore the penalty for firing a crossbow or firearm while prone but as far as I can tell there is no penalty for firing those weapons while prone.

Am I missing something here?


39 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 3 people marked this as a favorite.

A questions for the designers.

Is there any intention of updating the rules for burrow as they are technically absent from the current core rule set?


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Reading through the piecemeal amor variant rules in Ultimate Combat, I noticed that the entry for Dragonhide states that if the dragon has immunity to an energy type then the armor pieces also have that immunity but do not confer immunity to the wearer unless they are fully dressed in a suit of dragonhide armor.

This seems to contrary to the rules in the PCR that state "If the dragonhide comes from a dragon that had immunity to an energy type, the armor is also immune to that energy type, although this does not confer any protection to the wearer." (although adding resistance to that energy type is cheaper).

Am I missing something or is this a change to how dragonhide works in general? Or is this just simply a change that is incorporated with the variant rule?


Just curious how other DMs deal their players selling art items or gems that they have not successfully appraised?

Do you give them part value? Full value?

Just curious as to how others feel the fairest way to deal with this that does not negate the need for Appraise.


In the PSRD it states that "A bull rush attempts to push an opponent straight back without doing any harm."

If I am successful am I allowed to push the target away from me but at a diagonal or must it be in a straight line directly from me?

In the diagram I am X and my target is O. Can I move my target to only square A or could I also push the target to either of squares B if I was to choose to?

**********
**********
*******B**
*****XOA**
*******B**
**********


The final version of the Inquisitor has the Judgment ability granting a static bonus based on the character's inquisitor level.

However, the Slayer and True Judgement abilities do not seem to have been modified to take this into account.

Has there been any ruling about how they should work with the change to the Judgement ability?


The Pathfinder armory lists a block and tackle which gives a +5 bonus to Str checks made to lift heavy objects.

However, the only rules I am aware of that govern how much one can lift are in the Carrying Capacity rules located on page 169 in the PRPG Core in which list some very specific numbers based on Strength.

Is there something else I am missing
. or is this just an anomaly?


If the designated target of a spiritual weapon becomes invisible does the weapon still get to make attacks on that target?

What if the target moves?

Is the spiritual weapon affected by concealment effects?


Does failing to activate a spell trigger item with the Use Magic Device skill expend one of the items charges?


I searched and could not find a specific answer to these question?

1) Can you use a targeted dispel against a foe under the benefits of mirror image and have a chance of dispelling the image or will it randomly target an image?[for this one I am leaning towards being able to cast it on the foe and have a chance of dispelling]

If a caster is under the protection of both a spell turning and mirror image would any spell targeting an image be reflected as well? Example, firing a bunch of magic missiles at MI protected foe to try and pop a few images ... would the entire spell be reflected or just the missiles that hit the real target.

Its come up a bit in the games I have been running and just wanted some objective thought on it.


I am running the Spire of Long Shadows right now and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for a miniature to represent wormcallers?