
![]() |

Sorry if I am asking a question that has already been beaten (no pun intended) to death but over the weekend I ran into an issue while using my whip in combat.
While I understand that attacking with reach into melee may incur a -2 cover penalty when using a whip if my target is behind another person or has "cover" from some other means. But I was told that since I was attacking into melee with my whip that I suffered a -4 penalty for my attacks since I did not have Precise Shot feat. This made my total attack penalty -6 (-4 [attacking in melee] + -2 [cover from my ally]). I am not sure if this was changed with any errata to reach weapons in general.
Also, reading the description, I wonder if the wording of within the whip caused the confusion.
"Using a whip provokes an attack of opportunity, just as if you had used a ranged weapon".
Again, I apologies for bringing this subject up if it has been debated and discussed many moons ago. If this was a mistake on the part of my DM, where would I get an official ruling that I may keep with me if this comes up again at future games days or Cons?
Cheers,