Garen Ga'resh's page

Goblin Squad Member. Organized Play Member. 3 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 1 Organized Play character.


RSS

Liberty's Edge

So a designer clearly stated that since the damage is typed it can only overcome DR of that same type, and is not itself magical.

But nowhere in the RAW description of DR does it say...

BigNorseWolf wrote:
This amount is subtracted from any damage dealt to them from a physical source.

So what about oddly-typed damage such as falling?

Liberty's Edge

Stringburka brings up an interesting point. Does DR function against a pit trap? Because the trap is not an attack and it does not deal a type of damage (except falling, which is never referenced).

It would make sense if the supernatural defense that DR represents has some sort of directive that only activates against attacks.

Of course that ignores DRs that are flavor based such as Skeletons (slashing and piercing not easily harming bone).

Liberty's Edge

2 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

We were recently fighting a Lich whom has a DR 15/Bludgeoning and Magic.
A lengthy argument arose over whether the damage from Stone Call would actually effect him. I was hoping to get some clarification.

I pointed out that the rocks appear from nowhere and vanish at the end of the duration. Would this not indicate that they are magical?

Also the description of DR mentions that it is overcome by all Spells.

Obviously I am trying to get people to agree with me. And I did notice that the spell specifically states that it does bludgeoning damage. Which it would not need to say if it was already bypassing DR.

Anyone have a final ruling?