|
Finwe 74's page
31 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|
brock, no the other one... wrote: Finwe 74 wrote: It's a good point...and I don't want make it harder than it should be I just want to make it right. We play at the highest level of reality. My bard actually have composed specific songs for his buffs
Anyway I have really appreciated your cooperation and patience Just bear in mind that a cleric with a shield and a weapon drawn would have to spend (a maximum of) 5 actions to cast a spell if you require both hands free, as opposed to (a minimum of) 1 (if it were a light shield). light shield and somatic weapon should work fine
brock, no the other one... wrote: "To cast a spell, you must be able to ... manipulate the material components or focus (if any)"
A divine focus component is not a focus component.
Additionally, you must be able to manipulate the focus component. Whether you need to do so is part of the individual spell description "Specifics for material and focus components are given at the end of the descriptive text."
If you want to impose an extra hardship on divine casters in your game, you can of course do so, but I've never seen it played that way anywhere else.
It's a good point...and I don't want make it harder than it should be I just want to make it right. We play at the highest level of reality. My bard actually have composed specific songs for his buffs
Anyway I have really appreciated your cooperation and patience
Ascalaphus wrote: You're making this harder than necessary. Manipulation is intentionally vague. If you have a holy symbol on your forehead or hand, just look in the direction or make gestures where you want to cast. As for channeling, since there's no facing rules in PF, you're looking in all directions at once. You can not use it to exclude enemies (take the feat) but you also don't need special contortions to include all your friends. I'm not saying you can't have a holy symbol tattooed on your forehead but if you do so you must have all the people you want to heal in front of you.
But still.... there's the manipulate question hehehe
Ascalaphus wrote: You're making this harder than necessary. Manipulation is intentionally vague. If you have a holy symbol on your forehead or hand, just look in the direction or make gestures where you want to cast. As for channeling, since there's no facing rules in PF, you're looking in all directions at once. You can not use it to exclude enemies (take the feat) but you also don't need special contortions to include all your friends. I don't know.....I'm trying to make it right....channeling is explosion no doubt. Explosion if you are behind a wall or a corner can't get you no doubt in that too.
so if you channel energy you show your symbol as a torch to be sure to cover all the space around you. Do you think I am wrong?
Manipulation is a specific word I can't tell why you think it's vague. I posted the definition and to me it is clear. It is not open to interpretation.

brock, no the other one... wrote: Finwe 74 wrote: Ashram wrote: Not specified. It could just as easily be said that the somatic and verbal components come first and the divine focus is presented afterward. I think this isn't possible because to take or leave something is an action itself.
My question come from the statement that for somatic a caster needs a hand free so I wonder if the FD in hand still keeps his hand free or not.
'Preparing' material, focus, or divine focus components is a free action, and no requirement is given for having a free hand (see Cast a Spell, under Combat).
My understanding of that is that you must possess something that is a divine focus, but you don't have to do anything with it that takes a hand or an action. It's reasonable to say it should be visible, but the rules don't seem to require that. There are magic items that act as a divine focus, such as the Cassock of the Clergy. This means that requiring you to take it off and hold it in your hand to use it would be absurd.
Note that you can only transfer your weapon to your shield hand with a buckler or light shield.
Channeling does require you to 'present' your holy symbol, which implies holding it. This makes having your shield or weapon count as a holy symbol valuable. You are right but takes no time because it's part of the casting but it's all done almost simultaneously somatic verbal and material/F/FD. when more elements come in to play the casting time is quite longer. for a standard action of around 3 seconds you speak move your hands and draw your materials or F/DF at same time you don't take something with one hand than leave it and take something else. My humble opinion is : material or FD one hand, somatic another hand that's it
Ascalaphus wrote: You can get your holy symbol tattooed or as a birthmark. It's a bit of a tradeoff; you don't need to worry about sundering and such, but it can be socially inconvenient/during infiltrations. Yes but what about the "manipulate" thing? you need to manipulate the holy symbol. It's stated in the manual.
Manipulate :To move, arrange, operate, or control by the hands or another body part or by mechanical means, especially in a skillful manner: She manipulated the lights to get just the effect she wanted. See Synonyms at handle.
And if the holy symbol is a tattooed for example on his forehead because channel energy is an explosion it dose not make turns and is subject to cover so those behind the cleric can't get any heal, can they? or if a you cast a ray from your holy symbol that is a scar on your hand you have to drop everything you are holding in that hand first? I wonder
Ascalaphus wrote: ...
On a rules level, somatic components explicitly require a free hand, while that rule isn't there for material and focus components. However, the grappling rules mention that you can only use material components while grappled if you have them in hand....
That clears everything! Somatic and materials are two different things, you can use materials if you have them in your hand already but you can't move your hands for somatic gestures.
By raw my opinion is: one hand free for somatic and one hand for M/FD it means both hands have to be free to cast a spell, of course feat like somatic weapon really come in "handy"
Ashram wrote: Not specified. It could just as easily be said that the somatic and verbal components come first and the divine focus is presented afterward. I think this isn't possible because to take or leave something is an action itself.
My question come from the statement that for somatic a caster needs a hand free so I wonder if the FD in hand still keeps his hand free or not.
Easy question: a cleric needs two hands free for somatic e DF. One hand to hold the FD and one hand to do the movement?
Thank you
Melkiador wrote: To be clear, Air Walk isn't flying for most rules applications. There are no fly checks, for example. Yes the only catch is that to move up or down....you have to move like if are taking the stairs hehehe you can't move in a straight line. Max 45% degree.
mdt wrote: Yep, so question answered. :) Impossible Speed adds to your flight... when using Airwalk... Indeed! Thank you guys

mdt wrote: Other things that reference 'base land speed'
Racial Stat blocks : Racial stat blocks, those that describe the race, like Human in core book, reference 'Base speed of ## on land', which is 'Base Land Speed'
Horseshoes of Speed : they increase the animal's base land speed by 30 feet; this counts as an enhancement bonus.
Combat Chapter : Tactical Speed -> Your speed while unarmored is your base land speed.
Sky Druid Archetype : At 13th level, a sky druid gains a fly speed equal to twice her base land speed (good maneuverability).
Hunter Stag Focus : The creature gains a 5-foot enhancement bonus to its base land speed. This bonus increases to 10 feet at 8th level and 20 feet at 15th level.
Barbarian Power : Elemental Blood, Greater (Su): While raging, the barbarian gains a special movement type or bonus based on her chosen element: acid grants a burrow speed of 30 feet, cold grants a swim speed of 60 feet, fire grants an increase of 30 feet to her base land speed, and electricity grants a fly speed of 60 feet (good maneuverability).
So actually, I was mistaken above, they reference it as Base Land Speed all over the place, not just in Mythic. That was just the first half dozen links I found using the term.
Yes base land speed is just a way to say base speed x1 and probably they use it in some cases to be sure that players don't use that kind of speed for other types of movement (as climbing swimming ecc)

One of my players took this mythic ability, "impossible speed" that states that:"Your base land speed increases by 30 feet. In addition, if you expend one use of mythic power, for 1 hour your base land speed increases by 10 feet per mythic tier."
I Was wondering, if I give my group a Spherewalker staff (2 charges x Air walk) dose this spell allow him to use"impossible speed" even if he's flying? I mean air walk says :"The subject can tread on air AS if walking on solid ground. Moving upward is similar to walking up a hill. The maximum upward or downward angle possible is 45 degrees, at a rate equal to half the air walker's normal speed."
I know air walk says AS if....and this should means that is not like to be on actual ground by the way I'm curious to know your opinions about it. Land speed means you HAVE to be on the ground? why impossible speed doesn't say just speed or movement but ground speed? it's the first time I find this specific "base land" word so I don't want make mistakes.

Diego Rossi wrote: PRD wrote:
Security Mannequin CR 3
Aggregate security AI mannequin robot
LN Medium construct (robot)Security Mannequin
plus
D20PSRD wrote: The Robot Subtype
"Robot" is a special subtype that can be applied to any construct without changing its CR. Robots share some features with clockwork constructs, and as with clockworks, you can simply remove the robot subtype and its traits to transform it into a typical construct animated by magic. A construct cannot possess both the robot and the clockwork subtypes. All robots gain the following traits, unless noted otherwise.
Intelligent: Robots are intelligent, and thus have skills and feats as appropriate for their Hit Dice. Unless otherwise indicated for a specific robot, all robots have Intelligence scores of 10. The following are class skills for robots: Climb, Disable Device, Fly, Knowledge (all), Linguistics, Perception, and Sense Motive.
Vulnerable to Critical Hits: Whenever a robot takes extra damage from a critical hit, it must make a DC 15 Fortitude save to avoid being stunned for 1 round. If it makes a successful saving throw, it is staggered for 1 round. The robot remains immune to other sources of the stunned condition.
Vulnerable to Electricity: Robots take 150% as much damage as normal from electricity attacks, unless they are immune to electricity via other special defenses.
Difficult to Create: Robots are crafted via complex methods hidden and well guarded in ruins or other technological bastions.
No immunity to spell targeting constructs here.
So, by RAW, they work.
About your objection, it all depend on what the control spell do.
PRD wrote:
Control Construct
School transmutation; Level sorcerer/wizard 7
...
Duration concentration
Saving Throw none (see text); Spell Resistance no
You wrest the control of a construct from its master. For as long as you concentrate, you can control the construct as if you were its master. You must make a Spellcraft check each round to ... Absolutely! but no doubt the link between a construct and his master is a magic link (as stated in the spell) and in order to take over control of a construct you need to override the master magic.
Again: I will allow this spell on robots but no wonder if I point out that a pell designed to work and transmute magic may not work on something that is using electronics and maybe radio frequencies to take orders.that's it
Saldiven wrote: Magicians manage to successfully Dominate humans without having an advanced degree in neuropsychology. And understanding of how the thing functions is not necessary for magic to work on it. That's true but my concern about a spell like "control construct" was if it was designed only to work on something created by magic(even a clockwork have a spark of magic in them). I agree that you don't need to be a neurologist but just because spells do the dirty work for you( you don't need to know how to start a camp fire to cast a fireball). Just to be clear, I think the spell works on robots too but, at the same time, I hope I made my self clear about my doubts on this specific spell and the way it should work.
Finwe 74 wrote: CampinCarl9127 wrote: I would draw inspiration from the fact control undead is almost entirely used for mindless undead, but is still valid to use on intelligent undead. That being said, robot rules are not my strong suit. Absolutely true and "Control construct" is a transmutation and not an enchantment spell and this gets your point of view stronger but maybe it's me (too much sci fi movies) and I can't stop thinking that a robot is driven by its AI and you must mess with it to change its behavior and in my mind this is a job for a technician or at least for a mage with specific haking spells. A construct is a magic product and it's easy to understand that you can fight fire with fire....but when magic and tech come into play it's harder to make them interact in consistent way.
CampinCarl9127 wrote: I would draw inspiration from the fact control undead is almost entirely used for mindless undead, but is still valid to use on intelligent undead. That being said, robot rules are not my strong suit. Absolutely true and "Control construct" is a transmutation and not an enchantment spell and this gets your point of view stronger but maybe it's me (too much sci fi movies) and I can't stop thinking that a robot is driven by its AI and you must mess with it to change its behavior and in my mind this is a job for a technician or at least for a mage with specific haking spells.
Robots are intelligent (they have feats'n skills) but they have the construct subtype too, so I was wondering if "Control construct" works or not on them.
My humble opinion is that a robot should be haked not enchanted but by RAW you apply all the subtype traits present on the creature sheet ( and a robot has the construct subtype).
What's your opinion? takes a mage or an engineer to take over control of a robot?
Is it possible? can friends or foes to teleport inside or outside a prismatic sphere?
By RAW "Teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane. Anything that blocks astral travel also blocks teleportation." This means that if the prismatic sphere dose not exist in the astral plane can't block a teleportation?
alexd1976 wrote: It means it gains none of those armor types listed. Thanks, is what I thought, you know, sometimes people play lawyers and not their characters planting the seed of doubt in my mind.Thanks again
the RAW states:"As a standard action, make a single ranged attack. The target does not gain any armor, natural armor, OR shield bonuses to its Armor Class. You do not gain the benefit of this feat if you move this round."
Just out of curiosity the, "OR" means AND, right? I don't have to choose between natural armor or shield, do I?
If a mythic character has different powers granting him extra standard actions can this character use them all in one round? Is it possible to have several extra standard actions in one round or is not allowed to duplicate the same effect even from different powers?
E.g. I have 3 different powers and each of them allow me, spending one mythic point, an extra standard action, can I spend 3 points (maybe as 3 free actions) and get 1 standard action + 3 extra standard actions?

The rule says:"Surprise Strike (Ex): As a swift action, you can expend one use of mythic power to make a melee attack or ranged attack against a target within 30 feet, in addition to any other attacks you make this round. When you make a surprise strike, the target is considered flat-footed regardless of any class features or abilities it might have, and you add your tier to the attack roll. Damage from this attack bypasses damage reduction."
Now....this attack can be done only in "addition"? I mean can you make just a surprise attack in your round if you do not make any other attack? If for example you use your standard action to do something else instead of an attack or for some reason you can't make a standard action so you can't attack, can you make a surprise attack anyway? My doubt rise about the swift action....if you can use a swift action to make one attack everyone knows that after a swift action you can still make a standard and move or full round action so why to specify in addition to any other attack? I hope I made my self clear
Staggered condition says:"A staggered creature may take a single move action or standard action each round (but not both, nor can he take full-round actions). A staggered creature can still take free, swift, and immediate actions. A creature with nonlethal damage exactly equal to its current hit points gains the staggered condition."
I was wondering if a mythic power activated with a legal action (no action, free, immediate, swift) or even an eroe point that normally gives an extra standard action works or not.

max00 wrote: Feanor76 wrote: Thanks Daddy :D
But these are daily so i guess should be refreshed as well with sustained by faith?
Absolutely. My humble opinion is that In addition to the spells per day that Sustained by faith let you get back, with recuperation you get (if you spend 1 MP and rest 1 hour) half your HPs ( if you are a 15th lvl warrior with 200 Hps this means 100 Hps back with one MP and one uninterrupted hour of rest, not bad at all!!)that's all.Now Illeist says that is "common opinion" that you regain all the used spells even if you can't (of course) prepare them again (you can do that only once in 24 hours) but I'm not 100% positive about that. Do not forget the raw that clearly says that: "When he prepares spells for the coming day, all the spells he has cast within the last 8 hours count against his daily limit." still applies.
Recuperation says:"This rest is treated as 8 hours of sleep for such abilities." so all the spells casted in the last 8 hours count in the daily usage as usual.

Feanor76 wrote: Ok thank you all for your replies.
I still have some doubts about Recuperation:
Recuperation (Ex): At 3rd tier, you are restored to full hit points after 8 hours of rest so long as you aren't dead. In addition, by expending one use of mythic power and resting for 1 hour, you regain a number of hit points equal to half your full hit points (up to a maximum of your full hit points) and regain the use of any class features that are limited to a certain number of uses per day (such as barbarian rage, bardic performance, spells per day, and so on). This rest is treated as 8 hours of sleep for such abilities. This rest doesn't refresh uses of mythic power or any mythic abilities that are limited to a number of times per day.
Those features/abilites between parenthicals are examples or so they seem. But for what i get in case of Recuperation clerics also regain their spells right?
NO spells per day are for example some spells (talking about cleric) a domain gives Example the air domain gives "Lightning Arc (Sp): As a standard action, you can unleash an arc of electricity targeting any foe within 30 feet as a ranged touch attack. This arc of electricity deals 1d6 points of electricity damage + 1 point for every two cleric levels you possess. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier." or animal gives "Speak with Animals (Sp): You can speak with animals, as per the spell, for a number of rounds per day equal to 3 + your cleric level." those are the spells a cleric regain like a mage regain only the arcane school daily spells and so on
Rynjin wrote: That was from the Playtest, the final version of Mythic Adventures (the version you're asking about), would be what they came up with AFTER they went back to the drawing board.
This is what it used to read (from my playtest PDF):
"If you spend at least 1 hour of
prayer or meditation you require no food, water, or sleep
for 24 hours. This time can be the same time you use to
prepare spells. You must still rest 8 hours to regain spells
but you are not subject to fatigue or exhaustion due to a
lack of sleep. Additionally, once per day you may expend
one use of mythic power as a full-round action to refresh
yourself as if you had rested for 8 hours for the purposes
of regaining spells and healing heal hit point and ability
damage."
Much clunkier.
Case closed
Illeist says:Generally, authors and developers only comment on threads with real contention. In this case, the answer is reasonably clear: Sustained by Faith doesn't allow you to prepare spells more frequently.
That's it.

Illeist wrote: Feanor76 wrote: Nice pa Finwe:D
And thank you all for the partecipation and opinions.
But seriously I'm still waiting for authors.
Let an ability from hyerophant called Sustained by Faith regain only arcane is spellcaster or it's a written mistake or it's simply stupid.
Seriously this will be the first (and only) game system with such a conceptual b*$%~@#$ :D
I can't believe it! It doesn't let you regain arcane spells, either. You can only regain arcane spells once every 24 hours. It will, however, get you channels, domain abilities, spell-like abilities, and other abilities usable a limited number of times a day. And you get all that without spending a point of mythic power. Oh, and you don't need to eat, drink, or sleep, and you can ignore the need to breathe for an entire day with a single mythic point. It's actually one of the hierophant's best mythic abilities, in my opinion; it was the third one my Mythic Cleric picked up. Feanor you are wrong with recuperation too....it works like she says

Feanor76 wrote: Nice pa Finwe:D
And thank you all for the partecipation and opinions.
But seriously I'm still waiting for authors.
Let an ability from hyerophant called Sustained by Faith regain spells only to arcane spellcasters or it's a written mistake or it's simply stupid.
Seriously this will be the first (and only) game system with such a conceptual b$$+&%~! :D
I can't believe it!
IMO least but not last it's much more impactful for arcane spellcasters in a game.
The ability is "Sustained by faith"and the emphasis is on "Sustained" not bless nor favor, nor gift or anything else . The divinity power fuels your body and you don't need to eat drink or sleep anymore.That's all. In addition you get, even if you don't sleep, after one hour of meditation all the abilities that need rest to be regained.
No need to blame the game or the "concept" if this ability doesn't work the way you like.
Remember that there is another ability that by spending 1 MP gives the mage the power to cast ONE extra spell and according to your opinion you should refresh all your spell for free,,,,something is wrong don't you think?
Listen to your father boy!
Sustained by faith clearly dosen't give a cleric his spells back.
|