Fallax's page

12 posts. Alias of Bartol Gobin.


RSS

The Exchange

Nooo... I was planning to shoot the floor, but hurt the monsters in the splash area. With INT high enough, and enough money...it's quite a boom, don't you think?

The Exchange

Yeah, I knew that, but I was checking for a confirmation. These splash weapons are quite useful on lvl 1-2 when using them goes around that save check and throwing two of them (one from each hand with appropriate penalty) can do some serious dmg on the start of combat. (2+2xINT splash only) Considering that floor AC is 5, it's useful even without the feat for two weapon fighting :D

The Exchange

Another question: alchemist adds his INT modifier on splash weapons damage, as well as splash damage. Is there a save for halving the splash damage as with bombs, or...? On "Throw splash weapon" article on SRD there is nothing mentioned about a save (except alchemist fire has DC 15 Ref for catching on fire/extinguishing fire), and neither on "Throw anything" alchemist class feature ("All alchemists gain the Throw Anything feat as a bonus feat at 1st level. An alchemist adds his Intelligence modifier to damage done with splash weapons, including the splash damage if any. ")

The Exchange

Yeah, got it. Seems a bit senseless though. I'm sure it was supposed to ban all the utility items (as well as potions, scrolls, etc.) and these weapons just got stuck in the same group and are banned from feat for no good reason :( My alchemist is sad now.

The Exchange

Wrong subforum last time, switched it here, dunno how to delete the previous thread. Admins will take care of it, I guess, because I'm a noob :D

I need a legal clarification on this:

"Quick Draw (Combat): You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action. Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat."

Are splash weapons considered as weapons or alchemical items here, since they logically apply to both groups (if you use them as weapons)?

Another thing: if splash weapons are more alchemical items than weapons, what sense does it make when a person can draw a warhammer faster than a bottle of napalm?

The Exchange

I need a legal clarification on this:

"Quick Draw (Combat): You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action. Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat."

Are splash weapons considered as weapons or alchemical items here, since they logically apply to both groups?

The Exchange

Why not? It's like you are being unable to use your perfectly fine and healthy arm for anything else but holding stuff. Even the rules on PFSRD say so:

"Benefit: The alchemist gains a new arm (left or right) on his torso. The arm is fully under his control and cannot be concealed except with magic or bulky clothing. The arm does not give the alchemist any extra attacks or actions per round, though the arm can wield a weapon and make attacks as part of the alchemist’s attack routine (using two-weapon fighting). The arm can manipulate or hold items as well as the alchemist’s original arms (for example, allowing the alchemist to use one hand to wield a weapon, another hand to hold a potion, and the third hand to throw a bomb). The arm has its own “hand” and “ring” magic item slots (though the alchemist can still only wear two rings and two hand magic items at a time). "

I believe the TWF is compatibile with that kind of a char because it is called "Two weapon fighting" and he is using two weapons.

@Phasics, I want to make that maniac, and Malag is just being nice trying to please both me and rules.

The Exchange

That's the problem with not specified rules. What about wielding a 2hander, light weapon and a shield?

The Exchange

...it deals damage normally and detonates as if the alchemist had thrown the bomb at the target...

Detonating as if he had thrown the bomb is detonating on touch, is it?

The Exchange

I would disagree, it is pretty undefined in the rulebooks, and take a look at this: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxj2ORNTUKI
Last weapon used is explosive missile. I think it is touch AC since it only has to "touch" someone.

The Exchange

What about wielding two shields + one two handed weapon? Tower shields perhaps...does the AC bonus applies from both of these shields? I want to make an Alchemist fighter.

The Exchange

Using an explosive missile with a crossbow. On what type of AC is the attack applied? I would combine touch+normal (e.g. if attack roll is higher than touch AC and lower than normal AC, bomb will hit, but crossbow won't)