Epsilon's page

Organized Play Member. 89 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 6 Organized Play characters.


RSS

1 to 50 of 89 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Grand Lodge

My PFS Character has an option to make 1 item (weapon or suit of armor) out of three different types of special starmetal (Noqual, Horacalcum, and Siccatite). I was thinking of a Siccatite (Cold) Haramaki. However, when I was rereading the text I came across this:
Hot siccatite can eventually ignite objects, and cold siccatite in water quickly surrounds itself with a 1-foot-thick shell of ice.

Siccatite Full Description:
This shining silver metal is either incredibly hot or freezing cold when found. As of yet, scholars have not determined whether siccatite is actually two similarly hued metals or a single type that determines its own temperature via some unknown process. When raw siccatite is found, it has a 50% chance of being hot siccatite; otherwise, it's cold siccatite. Physical contact with siccatite deals 1 point of fire (for hot siccatite) or cold (for cold siccatite) damage each round. Hot siccatite can eventually ignite objects, and cold siccatite in water quickly surrounds itself with a 1-foot-thick shell of ice. A weapon made of siccatite deals 1 additional point of damage of the appropriate energy type each time it strikes a foe, but also deals 1 point of the same energy damage to the wielder each round it is used in combat.

Siccatite armor deals 1 point of energy damage (fire or cold) per round to a creature wearing it, and deals 1 point of the same energy damage each full round a creature is grappled by someone wearing siccatite armor. Cold siccatite armor grants fire resistance 5, while hot siccatite armor grants cold resistance 5. (The type of armor does not alter the amount of resistance granted.) Siccatite increases the cost of a weapon by 1,000 gp and armor by 6,000 gp (regardless of the armor's type).

Is that line meant to be fluff or say if I fall into water while wearing Cold Siccatite armor my character will immediately encased in ice?

Any help would be appreciated. I don't want my character to spend a fortune only to find out it'd be useless when it came to scenarios with water in it.

My character will soon have cold resitance so I thought this would be an easy way to get fire resistance, among other things I have planned.

Grand Lodge

Chess Pwn wrote:
Extra reservoir doesn't say you get +3 to your daily recharge, just to the max you're able to have at one time.

It increases the amount you start with and your max.

Arcane Resevoir:
You gain three more points in your arcane reservoir, and the maximum number of points in your arcane reservoir increases by that amount.

If it was only max it would just say.
Increases the maximum number of points in your arcane resevoir by 3.

There would be no reason to add the extra if it was only max and the idea that you get 3 when you take the feat and it just disappears after the first day is also absurd. I've read way too much on arcanist. I feel disappointed that they only seemed to mention consume magic items and consume spells, which is meh.
Was really hoping the'd errata the elf fcb as that can be interpreted differently, even if it seems to mean it only increases your max amount.

My 2 cents on the errata is done.

Grand Lodge

Since an Aqueous Orb is made of water and I have a swim speed from the aquatic bloodline can't I just swim out of the orb? Since its made of water.

Grand Lodge

Chess Pwn wrote:
If you have a the school understanding and have a class that grants a school power the arcanist levels stack with the wizard levels.

I feel like here is always one person who ignores what I bold.

Read the part I bolded and you will understand that as Cuuniyevo said the first part is bypassed by the last sentence.

If the arcanist already has an arcane school (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted the arcane school when determining the powers and abilities of her arcane school.

I dip 1 wizard with air school, therfore I have an arcane school no. I no longer get uses per day and instead use the air school as is with my arcanist level stacking with my wizard level for determing the power of my abilities granted by my school, in this case the air school.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I'm planning on dipping 1 level into wizard for the air school as an arcanist.
Please read both especially the part I bolded under the school understanging exploit as I will be doing a 1 level dip and the part that is bolded is what is used and the rest is ignored.

My question is for the spells at will are my arcanist level stacking for those specific spells caster levels? I know my arcanist levels dont sack for normal wizard spells I prepare. But since I'm getting those three spells from the school I chose is my caster level different than just a 1st level wizard.

School Understanding Exploit:

The arcanist can select one arcane school from any of the schools available to a character with the arcane school wizard class feature, but does not have to select any opposition schools. The arcanist gains one ability of that arcane school as though she were a 1st-level wizard, using her Charisma modifier in place of her Intelligence modifier for this ability. The ability must be one gained at 1st level and is limited in its use per day to 3 + the arcanist's Charisma modifier. As a swift action, the arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to bolster her understanding, allowing her to treat her arcanist level as her wizard level for the purpose of using this ability for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). During this time, she also gains use of the other ability gained at 1st level for her selected school. She does not gain any other abilities when using this exploit in this way, such as those gained at 8th level.
If the arcanist already has an arcane school (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted the arcane school when determining the powers and abilities of her arcane school.

Air Supremacy (Su):

You gain a +2 enhancement bonus on Fly skill checks. This bonus increases by +1 for every five wizard levels you possess. In addition, you can cast feather fall on yourself at will. At 5th level, you can cast levitate on yourself at will. At 10th level, you can cast fly on yourself at will. At 20th level, whenever you make a Fly skill check, assume the roll resulted in a natural 20.

Example: cause this is my current plan for my character at level 11.
(Aquatic/Orc) Sorcerer 1
Air Wizard 1
(White Mage) Arcanist 9
--(School Understanding)
--(Bloodline Development)

Does Fly get cast at caster level 10 or caster level 1?

I believe it's caster level 10 because it is coming as a school power and so my arcanist level are stacking to determine the power of the ability.

However I can see it the other way too. Granted it's tnot to big of an issue if its caster level 1 since it can be cast at will. So it will mainly be an issue in situations where I can't cast for awhile. i.e. combat, etc...

Grand Lodge

I'm up for playing but I'm not going to play Core Campaign. I have a lvl 2 Arcanist

Grand Lodge

I would wnat to do it on roll20 or similar site.

Grand Lodge

I was excited when I heeard about the game, but then school started and iterfeared with the time they set for emerald Spires. I only mangaged to play the first lvl.
Hoping to find a group to play online with and for pfs credit.
I'm still interested in playing and I figured there would be a ghood chance to find outher players who might want to play or DM here.

Grand Lodge

If you need a player I'm up for playing a CN Half-Elf Arcanist.

Grand Lodge

Are you still looking for players?

Grand Lodge

If it helps to figure out what blocks it, both Detect Magic and guidance are the spells used to craft it.

Grand Lodge

Just thinking, what if I fail a perception to notice, but an enemy in hiding cast a spell. Would I fail to act in a suprise round?

Grand Lodge

Just double checking on this item, because a DM I was playing with interpreted differently. (PFS Play)
I have all tattoos does this mean as long as a spells been caast withing 60 feet I know or do i still need to be spending an action using detect magic? Also do walls block range on it?

Runeward Tattoo (1000 gp, Magical Marketplace)
Each of these tattoos is keyed to a single school of magic. The bearer can use detect magic at will, but only to sense auras of that school. The bearer gains a +1 insight bonus on saving throws against spells and spell-like abilities of the keyed school and knows when such a spell or a spell-like ability has been cast withing 60 feet.

Grand Lodge

I'm hoping paizo can possibly make an errata for arcanist and this ability. Granted right now I'm playing PFS, but I'm only going to reach level 4, but when I was reading it I figured I'd post it in the hopes it get clarified for future reference.

Although there is this line under spell casting for Arcanist.
Feats and other effects that modify the number of spells known by a spellcaster instead affect the number of spells an arcanist can prepare.

By that maybe I considered it as an always prepared spell. So extra prepared spell slots just for those spells?

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

For 7th level Pathfidner Savant I will gain this. But I don't know how I would use it, since an arcanist is and is not a spontaneous prepared caster. Would I always have dispel magic known for the purpse of casting? Or would I convert a prepared slot and I could change that slot once I sleep again?

I am at a loss for how this would work as both seem wierd any ideas on resolving this?

Dispelling Master (Su)
Starting at 7th level, if the savant prepares and casts spells like a wizard, he can spontaneously convert any prepared spell into dispel magic or greater dispel magic as a good cleric converts prepared spells into cure spells. If he casts spells as a sorcerer, he adds dispel magic and greater dispel magic to his spells known. Every time he successfully uses either of these spells to make a targeted dispel or counterspell, he heals hit points equal to the caster level of the effect dispelled or counterspelled.

Grand Lodge

Technically you do emulate caster level. Listed under Use a Scroll. DC 20 + caster level for the scroll. So if I wanted to cast Greater Restoration spell level 7, caster level 13. The DC would be 33, becuase I'm emulating a cleric caster level of 13.
Caster level is a class feature, since you casting spells is a feature for a class. Caster level == Class level. So better way to put it is you are emulating a 13th lvl Cleric.

Nevermind, finally found old forum post that explains things better thank you Nefreet.

Grand Lodge

So I was thinking as I read this. I'm currently a Arcanist, 5 / Pathfinder savant 2/ slayer 1. next Level i'll be leveling up Pathfidner Savant to 3.
He gets the ability Scroll Master which lets him use his own caster level instead of the items caster level for scrolls and spell completion items.

My question is if I umd class featere to fake a higher caster level can I use that caster level for the scroll when casting?

My caster level will be 7.
For the UMD example say I emulate a caster level of 11. I have +21 UMD + 10 (take 10) - 20 = CL 11

Scroll Master (Su)
A 3rd-Level Pathfidner Savant uses his own caster level instead of the item's caster level when using a scroll or other spell completion item.

Honestly I would say no, but I just want to double check on the forums.

Note: Almost forgot Pathfinder Savant lets me take 10 on UMD except when activating blindly. Before someone says you can't take 10 on UMD.

Grand Lodge

With diehard you automatically stabilize.

Grand Lodge

Say I stored 10 hit points and healed up but later I was insta killed by a mob. Once the battle is over I return to my body using the ioun stone meaning I would be at (-(con-1)) hit points.
Would the shawl of life keeping activate after I revived my self using the ioun stone?
The shawl heal when you drop below -1 health, but it makes an exception if the damage is enough to kill you the shawl won't do anything. Although I could be misinterpreting what the shawl does. Since the line (This healing cannot prevent the wearer from being killed.) Implies that it won't go off if the damage done is enough to kill you.

Shawl of Life-Keeping 1,000 Gold
This magical shawl is woven from silken, diaphanous material. Once per day, the wearer can speak a command word to transfer some of her life energy into the shawl (up to 10 hit points). If she is wearing the shawl and is reduced to –1 hit points or below, the shawl immediately heals her an amount equal to the number of hit points stored in the shawl. This healing cannot prevent the wearer from being killed. The life energy stored in the shawl lasts for 24 hours or until it heals the wearer, whichever comes first. If the shawl is destroyed, the stored life energy is lost.

Pale Orange Rhomboid 200,000 or (12,000 for Flawed)
This stone absorbs your soul as the magic jar spell immediately prior to your death. You can't transfer your soul from the ioun stone receptacle to another creature's body, and are, for all intents and purposes, dead. While your soul is in the ioun stone, you can sense any life forces within 120 feet as though you were placed in a magic jar. At any point within 12 hours of your soul's transfer into the pale orange rhombus ioun stone, you can return to your body as long as it is within 120 feet of the ioun stone. Upon returning to your body, you are unconscious and dying with a number of negative hit points equal to your Constitution score minus 1. If you fail to stabilize and aren't healed after 1 turn, you die and your soul is not absorbed by the ioun stone. Your soul can be absorbed into a pale orange rhombus ioun stone only once per 24-hour period.

Grand Lodge

You can only use two rings. Also look up false focus, alchemical power components, and Pathfinder Savant prestige class.
Also Jolt and a few other cantrips aren't isn't PFS legal.

Cantrips for a Arcanist alone isn't a big deal as every other level you you get another prepare slot for cantrips up to 9 at level 10.
The ones you should always have is Detect magic and Read magic.

Then after that Acid Splash and Disrupt Undead. Message can also be pretty useful and who could forget the best cantrip Prestidigitation.

Rings of Wizardry are very expensive, not saying don't buy them but you probably won't be able to afford the first one until you are level 5-7 assuming you've been saving for it.

Been Playing a Blood Arcanist 5/ Pathfinder Savant 1/ Slayer 1. Oh the fun I've been having.

Grand Lodge

Yeah, but then he can't select an arcane school.

Exploiter Exploit

At 1st level and every 4 levels thereafter, the exploiter wizard gains a single arcanist exploit. The exploiter wizard uses his wizard level as his arcanist level for determining the effects and DCs of his arcanist exploits.

This ability replaces arcane school.

Grand Lodge

Does a Robe of arcane heritage also work for a Blood Arcanist?

Since my arcanist level is equal to sorcerer level for the purpose of gaining and using bloodline powers.

Grand Lodge

You don't need to do a 1 level dip in wizard. If you want the school take the School savant archetype for arcanists. It will still let you use int for school abilities, but you won't need to do a 1 level dip in wizard.

Grand Lodge

Character: Blood Arcanist 3 / Slayer 1

Studied Target:
A slayer can study an opponent he can see as a move action. The slayer then gains a +1 bonus on Bluff, Knowledge, Perception, Sense Motive, and Survival checks attempted against that opponent, and a +1 bonus on weapon attack and damage rolls against it. The DCs of slayer class abilities against that opponent increase by 1. A slayer can only maintain these bonuses against one opponent at a time; these bonuses remain in effect until either the opponent is dead or the slayer studies a new target.

Conjuration:
School conjuration (creation) [acid]; Level sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S, M (rhubarb leaf and an adder's stomach), F (a dart)
Range long (400 ft. + 40 ft./level)
Effect one arrow of acid
Duration 1 round + 1 round per three levels
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no

An arrow of acid springs from your hand and speeds to its target. You must succeed on a ranged touch attack to hit your target. The arrow deals 2d4 points of acid damage with no splash damage. For every three caster levels you possess, the acid, unless neutralized, lasts for another round (to a maximum of 6 additional rounds at 18th level), dealing another 2d4 points of damage in each round.

Rays:
Scorching Ray
School evocation [fire]; Level sorcerer/wizard 2
Casting Time 1 standard action
Components V, S
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Effect one or more rays
Duration instantaneous
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance yes

You blast your enemies with a searing beam of fire. You may fire one ray, plus one additional ray for every four levels beyond 3rd (to a maximum of three rays at 11th level). Each ray requires a ranged touch attack to hit and deals 4d6 points of fire damage. The rays may be fired at the same or different targets, but all rays must be aimed at targets within 30 feet of each other and fired simultaneously.

Can you apply studied target's bonus to weapon attack and damage rolls for Ray spells and conjuration spells where you need to do a ranged touch attack?
At least for rays I would think yes since they are considered weapons but I'm unsure about conjuration spells if it would apply to those spells since it says weapon attack and damage rolls.
I know rays qualify for the weapon focus feat.
Any help appreciated.

Grand Lodge

Also great for PFS since at the start of a new game it is full and so far I have only played one game where we had multiple days to rest. Granted I'm playing a half-elf so i don't deal with the negative con store.

Grand Lodge

For elf it increases your max number of arcanist points by +1.

Gnome it increases how many point you charge each day.

Assuming you take racial bonus for both at all levels.
Recharge:
You recharge when preparing spells for the day.
Elf Arcanist lvl 6
Arcane Reservoir:
Maximum (3 + 6(+1 for each level) + 6 (+1 from racial bonus))
Max = 15
Recharge per day (3 + (1/2 * 6))
Recharge = 6

Gnome Arcanist lvl 6
Maximum (3 + 6(+1 for each level))
Max = 9
Recharge per day (3 + (1/2 * 6) + (1/6 * 6)) = (3 + 3 + 1)
Recharge = 7

Honestly I prefer increasing maximum. It doesn't seem you get that good of a deal with the gnome bonus. It still kinda sucks that your max will always be higher then the amount you can recharge per day.

Grand Lodge

The problem though is when your playing in PFS and you get used to several GM say make DC checks to move through it. (skeleton died from failing a save trying to move it). But then another game where the DM argues opposite saying it only deal damage when you move the sphere into a creature's square.

If it enters a space with a creature, it stops moving for the round and deals 3d6 points of fire damage to that creature, though a successful Reflex save negates that damage.

What's interesting is that phrase. Several things. First enter a space with a creature would that work opposite where a creature moving into its space also trigger the effect.
Second if say next turn a creature is still in the same square. Is it possible to attack a different creature. Even attempting to move should trigger the effect so the wizard would attempt to move it but since a creature is already in the square it would stop and do damage and not be able to target a different creature.
Note: My brain is in programming mode right now. I've had to deal with so much with loops and if statements glitching on me (-_-). that's my input. Good luck.

Grand Lodge

My plan was to make an item I can use in case of swarms so I don't have to waste spell slots, sort of oh s%&% moments. Just wanted to make sure I was calculating everything correctly thank you. Was also thinking about making an item for our cleric so he can cure light wounds unlimited times. Just need to save up enough gold though.

Grand Lodge

So getting into playing a home game, playing rise of the runelords, and trying to figure out rules for crafting items. I was thinking about cost of making gloves that can cast burning hands. Just want to know if I'm doing this correctly. Any help appreciated.

Burning hands with 3 charges at caster level 3 would be.
Base Price = ((caster-lvl * spell-lvl * 1800) / (5/charges))
3240 = ((3 * 1 * 1800) / (5/3))
Craft Price = 3240 / 2 = 1620

Unlimited Charges (at will)
Base Price = (caster-lvl * spell-lvl * 1800)
5400 = (3 * 1 * 1800)
Craft cost = (5400 / 2) = 2700

DC for the spell is 11 = 10 + 1

Used hand of the mage for unlimited charge (at will)
Its base price is 900 gp = (1 * 1/2 * 1800)

Not sure if there is anything else you are supposed to add for making an item with unlimited charges.

Grand Lodge

A good scientist wouldn't even be studying this subject since it only exists in the realm of fantasy.

Grand Lodge

2 people marked this as a favorite.

I can't believe how long this thread has gotten -_-. You people are really perverted.

Grand Lodge

Spell Lattice is useful for arcanist's. Since if you hold it is considered a spell prepared for an arcanist. A page of spell knowledge doesn't have this option.
Spell Lattice is useful for an arcanists.
Page of Spell Knowledge for sorcerers.
A page of spell knowledge on the other hand would only let an arcanist* know the spell so it would have to be one of the spell's prepared for the day for the arcanist to use it. Even then it's vague since arcanist spontaneous cast spells, but they need to prepare spells for the day.
*Not entirely confident on this probably best to ask a GM to see how they would rule it in their game.

Grand Lodge

Read my last post. I said never mind ignore my comment about it being negligible. Unless you could craft a very tiny lantern and stick it in your pouch.

Grand Lodge

You know what just looked at the pouch.

Spell Component Pouch
Price 5 gp; Weight 2 lbs.

A spellcaster with a spell component pouch is assumed to have all the material components and focuses needed for spellcasting, except for components that have a specific cost, divine focuses, and focuses that wouldn't fit in a pouch. Most spell component pouches are waterproof and can be strung onto a belt or bandolier.

So never mind about the lantern. Unless it is a very tiny lantern lol.

Grand Lodge

Matthew Downie wrote:
Epsilon wrote:
Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible.
I wouldn't take that too far. Transformation has a potion of Bull's Strength as a component. The cost of the potion isn't given in the spell description, but it is given elsewhere.

The potion bit is obvious that you need the potion. Lantern is still negligible.

Grand Lodge

Actually focus are also in the pouch. Did no on read my post? A focus with negligible cost is also in the pouch.
Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.
Straight from the rules on magic.
Dancing Lantern:
Components V, S, F (a lantern)
The lantern is also a negligible cost so it is also is assumed to be in the pouch.
Maybe a pouch is a small bag of holding?

Grand Lodge

That's the thing it does have negligible cost for the spell therefore as long as you have the pouch its "free." Read the rules that I posted. Since no cost is listed in the spell description its assumed you have it in the pouch. Too make some keep track of items that have negligible cost is a dick move. Dart costs nothing for acid arrow, you have it if you have the pouch.

Grand Lodge

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pizza Lord wrote:
Matthew Downie wrote:
'A lantern' is an example of a component that probably wouldn't fit in the pouch.

Yes, but a lantern has an actual price to it, just like the focus for the acid arrow spell is a dart. Just because a price isn't listed in the spell description doesn't mean it has negligible cost. A dart has a specific cost (5 sp), so that 'does' have to be noted in a PC's inventory because it won't be included in a spell component pouch.

There are similar items, like silver pins, or silver rods, or crystal rods. They don't have a cost listed in the spell's but can be assumed to have a specific cost that can be located somewhere, or at least easily be accepted as not having 'Cost: -'.

So yes, while a lantern would qualify I didn't mention it because as an item with a non-negligible cost, it already has to be tracked.

From: http://paizo.com/prd/magic.html

Material (M): A material component consists of one or more physical substances or objects that are annihilated by the spell energies in the casting process. Unless a cost is given for a material component, the cost is negligible. Don't bother to keep track of material components with negligible cost. Assume you have all you need as long as you have your spell component pouch.

Focus (F): A focus component is a prop of some sort. Unlike a material component, a focus is not consumed when the spell is cast and can be reused. As with material components, the cost for a focus is negligible unless a price is given. Assume that focus components of negligible cost are in your spell component pouch.

Acid Arrow:
Components V, S, M (rhubarb leaf and an adder's stomach), F (a dart)

Since a cost isn't given it is negligible, regardless if it is a focus or a material component. As long as a price isn't listed in the spell description it is considered negligible cost.
The dart is still negligible since it doesn't list a price for the spell in the description. It says specifically you don't need to keep track of it since no price is given.

Grand Lodge

Great think about holy symbol tattoo is it is a lot harder to get rid of kinda. Erase spell or other method of damaging it. If your also worried about it being destroy have a few backup holy symbol tattoos hidden on your body. Oh you erased my tattoo on my hand *reveals symbol on [insert open spot on body]* 50 gold to craft your own tattoo that's worth 100g. Only requirement is it has to not be covered if your going to use it.

Benefits:
-No dealing with sunder spell component pouch.
-Don't have to worry about it being stolen, lost, etc ...
-Screw it with keeping track of materials < 100 g
-Depending on GM allowing the use of free power components (when used as material components) from adventures armory and alchemy manual. Note: Made the argument already for why it should be allowed not going to argue it here.

Downside:
-Very easy to tell which deity you worship
-Difficult to infiltrate cults different from deity.
-May in the case of my character (worships Desna) be the target of enemy worshipers i.e. Lamashtu clerics and such.
-Screwed if spellcaster has erase and you don't have backup tattoo's
-Gives your GM some ideas about enemies you may face. (When doesn't this happen though)

Grand Lodge

I would rather just use the false focus feat and holy symbol tattoo. Then I only have to keep track of components greater than 100 gp.

Grand Lodge

But then what if you had multiple runestones? Or is it Make a necklace of runestones, and you touch the corresponding one when you cast it?

Grand Lodge

It's probably GM discretion how they want to handle that part.

Grand Lodge

I would completely agree with you its that text though about draw upon that is bothering me.

Grand Lodge

It doesn't say it's used as a focus. It recharges after 24 hours. It also say draw upon a runestone of power. It used as part of a spellcasting action, which at least to me implies that the person just needs to be carrying it for it to be used.

Grand Lodge

Ring of Wizardry says increases spells per day

This special ring comes in four varieties, all of them useful only to arcane spellcasters. The wearer’s arcane spells per day are doubled for one specific spell level. A ring of wizardry I doubles 1st-level spells, a ring of wizardry II doubles 2nd-level spells, a ring of wizardry III doubles 3rd-level spells, and a ring of wizardry IV doubles 4th-level spells. Bonus spells from high ability scores or school specialization are not doubled.

It's not prepared spells, unless its for a wizard. It would increase both arcanist and sorcerers spells per day they can cast.

Grand Lodge

Problem is they cant use pearls of power since they never actually expend a prepared slot. Example: lvl 1 (18 int) can prepare 2 1st level spells and can cast up to 3 1st level spells per day. So runestones of power is there only option.

Grand Lodge

Do you need to hold a runestone of power to use it, or can I leave it in my backpack and still use it.

Advanced Class Guide:
A runestone of power is a small chip of polished stone etched
with a rune. These objects are potent aids to all spellcasters
who cast spontaneously (but not to spellcasters like clerics
who have the option to spontaneously cast certain spells).
Once per day, a spontaneous caster can draw upon a
runestone of power
to cast a spell—doing so is part of the
spellcasting action, and expends that runestone’s power for
the day rather than one of the spellcaster’s actual spell slots
for the day. An expended runestone of power recharges its
capacity after 24 hours. The spell must be of a particular
level, depending on the runestone.

It seems unclear to me whether you need to be holding it or it can just be used as long as its on your person.
If I can use it regardless of where it is can it also be used if it was in a bag of holding or handy haversack?

Grand Lodge

Look at Spell Lattice description

From Advanced Class Guide:
A spell lattice is a block of transparent crystal, internally
etched with a three-dimensional representation of a spell.
This spell is chosen when the item is created (the contained
spell determines the school of the lattice’s aura). When a
spell lattice is wielded by a spontaneous spellcaster who
has the spell contained within it on her class spell list, she
can use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one of
her spells known. When an arcanist holds a spell lattice, as
long as she has the contained spell on her class spell list,
she can use her spell slots to cast that spell as if it were one
of her spells currently prepared
.
A spellcaster who uses a spellbook or formula book can
copy the spell from a spell lattice as if it were a scroll. Doing
so expends the spell from the spell lattice.

Arcanists prepare spells but they can spontaneously cast any spell they have prepared for the day up to there limit of spells per day.

So runestones of power are for Arcanists.

Ring of Wizardry works for all arcane spellcasters.

Grand Lodge

Okay so I bought Alchemy Manuel so I can read up on it. Looks fun too and the stuff there is a lot cheaper for doing some stuff with spells.

Alchemical Reagents
The following reagents are purified through long processes from their raw states for use in alchemical recipes.
Each alchemical reagent may also be used as an alchemical power component, augmenting the effects of certain spells when used as an additional material component. Alchemical power components were first introduced in Pathfinder Player Companion: Adventurer’s Armory. Using a reagent as an alchemical power component requires a number of doses of the reagent, affects only spells that meet the listed criteria, and augments only an effect the spell already produces (for example, you can use black powder as an alchemical power component only for a spell that deals energy damage). Reagents do not stack with either themselves or one another, and are expended after use.

Posted Black powder as an example.
Black powder
Price 10 gp
Weight —
Black powder is a volatile explosive and
is the primary component in fireworks
and other explosives.
Power Component
Doses 1 (10 gp); Spells evocation school
Effect +1 energy damage

At least with alchemy manual its clarified that reagents don't stack, but they also call them additional material components to the spell.

Grand Lodge

You didn't even read my post it says you use it as a material component.
Spells followed by a (M) expend the alchemist item as a material component

Alchemical Power components is an alchemical item used as a material component or focus for a spell in order to alter or augment the spell's normal effects. What follows is a sample of these effects; your GM may allow other combinations. Spells followed by an (M) expend the alchemical item as a material component; those followed by an (F) use the item as a focus and do not expend it. In both cases, the alchemical item does not have its normal effect and does not affect any other parameters of the spell. You cannot use the same item as both a focus and a material component at the same time.

It clearly says you are using it as a material component.
The spell expends the item as a material component. It's a material component.

1 to 50 of 89 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>