
Dravick |

Another question about spells and combat. How many spells per round can a character cast? Say his BAB is 6/1. This means he gets two attacks if he uses the full round action with only a 5 foot step. Can a spell caster cast, say, two fireballs in one round with only a 5 foot step or none at all? Most spells count as 1 standard action as does an attack. Therefore, my reasoning is at higher levels, spell casters should get more than one spell per round. Thoughts? Directions to PHB page stating that you only ever get one spell per round? I've had this argument with the players I DM for, and I want an official ruling. Thanks in advance.
Well, casting a spell isn't the same as swinging a melee weapon. A spell flat out takes as much time to cast as it says in its stat block under Casting Time. If a spell calls for 1 Standard Action to cast then that's what it takes to cast it. Iterative attacks granted by a high base attack bonus are compleatly unreleated to how many spells you can cast in a round. That only applies to melee, unarmed and ranged attacks. The only way to use iterative attacks in a round is by taking the Full Attack Action and doing that doesn't say it grants you additional spell casting. The exception would be spells like Scorching Ray that grant you multiple attack rolls for one spell. In that case though I believe they're still 'considered' one attack. You just roll multiple times to see which rays hit so your BAB doesn't diminish with each successive attack. Of course you can cast two fireballs in a single round if you Quicken one of them. ^_^
Edit: Everyone's quick on the draw. ;-p