@Masika
In regards to your original inquiry, I believe some or all of this has already been mentioned, but let's streamline it here again.
Attacks of Opportunity (Core book Page 180)
- These free attacks are called attacks of opportunity.
- An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round.
Dazed (Core book Page 566)
- Dazed: The creature is unable to act normally. A dazed creature can take no actions, but has no penalty to AC. A dazed condition typically lasts 1 round.
The problem in the rules for PF that you are targeting is that the book only uses Actions in Combat to describe actions, since actions at any other time are not as necessary to micromanage. You sort of have to give forwards and backwards definition to something that is not specifically called out elsewhere. In this case, I submit that "Attack" is the keyword in AoO and "Actions in Combat" (Core book Page 181) covers all forms of attacking under various "Actions" heading (Action Types specifically). Therefore, ANY form of an "Attack" would be classified as an "Action", even if the specific type of "Action" is not called out as well. Specifically here because the AoO is acting as an interruption to the normal flow of actions in a round, and interruptions are not covered elsewhere in the rules (if anyone is familiar with old Magic the Gathering, this is the very reason they turned all Interrupts into Instants).
At this point, I would classify an Attack Of Opportunity as an Action for the purposes of Combat (which is the only time it would be available as an "Action" anyways). Under the rules for a "Dazed" creature, "a dazed creature can take no actions", therefore leaving an AoO as not possible for a creature under the "Dazed" effect.
For your secondary question raised later, asking if an AoO can provoke an AoO, the rule itself specifies that "An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack" (Core book Page 180) and that an Attack (melee) does not provoke an AoO (Core book Page 183, table 8-2 Actions in Combat). If someone is substituting some other action for an AoO, then it should be reviewed on a case by case basis for the ability/feat/spell/etc that is changing their AoO and see how the specific ability/feat/spell/etc itself would tackle the given situation.
An easier way to look at all of this is to go with the implied use/meaning of what you are asking. The Dazed condition, at the core, is to effectively skip a characters offensive actions for 1 turn (imho). That would include offensive reactions to me, which is really what an AoO is. The Dazed character/npc is in a situation of slight confusion, such as right after awakening, and is being defensive while their brain catches up, not looking to seize an advantage, such as an opening that can be taken with an AoO. By their next time to act, they have caught back up and may continue as normally.