Khalib

Calimar_T's page

Organized Play Member. 24 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 4 Organized Play characters.


RSS

Grand Lodge

Hi,

i'm currently trying to figure out how the powerful charge extra damage for the Kirin (CR7) works, cause i have to slam Augmented Summoning onto it.

Melee gore +14 (1d8+5), 2 hooves +8 (1d6+2)

powerful charge (gore, 2d8+14)

The "normal" formula for powerful charge seems something like double the dice, damage x1,5 or x2 (depending on a multitude of variables).

Here, it seems like they took the damage as if it was a single attack (x1,5) and doubling it.

So either i have to take 5, add 2 for the AS to it (7), multiply it with x1,5 (10) and double it (20).
Or... the Devs already took AS into the equotiation.
Or... i just add 2 more damage for the strength.
Or... i add 2 more damage and double it.

Help!

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Well, Slithery,

as the Casting Changes are not mentioned in the sentence were "as though" is mentioned, it *think* is safe to asume that the limited chance of success is what it refers to.

If it were for the Casting Changes, or anything else like somatic or verbal components, it would have been also mention, wouldn't it?

To sum up:

The differences between spells and slas are:

- no verbal (no exceptions),
- no somatic (no exceptions),
- no focus (no exceptions),
- and no material components (no exceptions).
- standard action (with the exception of being otherwise noted).

The only one thing being mentioned is:

- works "like" summoning monster, with limited success.

So: The "like summon monster" refers to limited success cause this sentence mentions nothing else as being different from Summon Monster.

Otherwise we have to wait for a Dev for an answer.
Can someone summon one? Do they need a sacrifice?

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

CampinCarl9127 wrote:

Calimar_T you are incorrect.

PRD wrote:
Using all other spell-like abilities is a standard action unless noted otherwise
Source

... unless noted otherwise, right.

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules #TOC-Summon-Sp-

Does that count as "noted otherwise"?

Grand Lodge

Sorry.

Just had a discussion about it and didn't really look at the date and time of the thread.
Next time i will make a new thread about the same question.

Regards,
Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi Zurai,

please quote a Source in the Rulebook which undermines that Sentence.

All Sources i have point to what J.R. Farrington was quoting.

What you said could be an GM's interpretation of the Rules, but the only thing i can read is what is written in the Rules.

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

@Blave

They are Summoning spells. Please have a look at the entry of the "Summon" Ability, i quote:
"A creature with the summon ability can summon other specific creatures of its kind much as though casting a summon monster spell...".

Summon Monster Spell = Full Round Action.

Regards, Calimar.

Source:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules #TOC-Summon-Sp-

Grand Lodge

Hi,

i could not find the answer in the Class Guide, so i'm asking here... which kind of action is "expending a point from the arcane pool" ?

The only thing i found is that if i want to boost a spell i can expend a point as a free action. But is there a general rule?

I'm especially curious how this works with the Counterspell exploit. Do i have to ready a standard action for it?

Regards, Calimar.

P.S. Here's what the exploit says:

Counterspell (Su): By expending 1 point from her arcane
reservoir, the arcanist can attempt to counter a spell as
it is being cast. She must identify the spell being cast as
normal. If she successfully does so, the arcanist can attempt
to counter the spell as an immediate action and by expending
an available arcanist spell slot of a level at least one higher
than the level of the spell being cast. To counterspell, the
arcanist must attempt a dispel check as if using dispel magic.
If the spell being countered is one that the arcanist has
prepared, she can instead expend an available arcanist
spell slot of the same level, and she receives a +5 bonus
on the dispel check.

Grand Lodge

Hm,
is there a Guide for an Evoker which can only use the CRB?
Or should i really, really consider another school for specialization?
Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi everyone,

i seem to have problems calculating the Barbed Devils "Impale" and "Barbed Defense" abilities with the Augmented Summoning, means i don't know if i'm right or wrong.

Normal:

Barbed Defense (Su)
A creature that strikes a hamatula with a melee weapon, an unarmed strike, or a natural weapon takes 1d8+6 points of piercing damage from the devil's barbs. Melee weapons with reach do not endanger a user in this way.

Impale (Ex)
A barbed devil deals 3d8+9 points of piercing damage to a grabbed opponent with a successful grapple check.

Augmented:

So, as Impale is the only one attack a BD can make while grappled, the +9 came from his STR (+6) x 1,5, so with Augmented Summoning it should be (+8) x1,5 = 12, right ?.

And if the Barbed Defenses +6 comes also from Strength (which i am wondering about, because those are Blades attached to his Body and he's not actively trying to hit) then it must be +8 instead of +6 ?

Thanks for help :)

Regards, Calimar_T.

Grand Lodge

Bbauzh ap Aghauzh wrote:
Chalk Microbe wrote:

Is there anything else that Summoned Monsters can't cast besides Wish and summoning another monster?

What's the cut off in GP for this rule to apply:

"Creatures summoned using this spell cannot use spells or spell-like abilities that duplicate spells with expensive material components (such as wish)"

Is the 50gp of Ruby dust needed to cast Continual Flame too much to expect out of a summoned creature?

I would say that if the component isn't assumed to be in your spell component pouch, then the summoned creature couldn't cast that spell.

Looks like i have to play Necro with this Thread... uh...

Anyway, 2 more Questions for that:

1. Whats with a Focus? If a Creature summoned has a spell prepared, is it safe to assume that it has the Focus (The Rules state "Material Component" and i don't know if the really mean only Material Components or if that also includes an expensive Focus)?
2. Whats with Spell-like abilities which are constant in effect and don't have to be cast? (Fly, True Seeing, See Invis etc.)

Regards, Calimar_T.

EDIT: Well, my search turned out a Post in the Society General Forums, not in the Rule Forums... if anyone could still answer that, i would not have to post it in the General Rules Section again ;-)

Grand Lodge

*puts some Gentle Repose over the thread*

Kchaka wrote:


Q. Does Uncanny Dodge works whem I'm blinded or in total darkness?
A. Yes, you retain your Dex bonus when you're blinded, but you can't make AoO agains foes you can't see (total concealment).

Hi Kchaka,

could you explain why Uncanny Dodge works when you're blinded?
I can't find an exact reference in any Handbook.

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi!

Just got to Summon Monster 7 and have a Question about how the Damage of the Giant Squid works, in special the Constrict Damage.

The Giant Squid has:
- (Primary) A Bite +14 (2d6+7)
- (Primary) 2 Arms +14 (1d6+7)
- (Secondary) tentacles +12 (4d6+3/19-20 plus grab)

It can deal Constrict damage (using grab):
- 4d6+10

Where does the 4d6+10 Constrict Damage come from ?

I assume that it comes from the tentacles (as in the Constrict Description) but if, why does it deal +10 Damage and not +3?

Looks like the +10 are the STR x 1,5 Bonus, but i cannot find any reference where this is described. Could also be a special "Giant Squid" Rule, but (another but) if it were so, should it not be written in the Description?

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi,

@Morten & Secane: Thanks, that was what i was looking for :)

@Lludd: Only one (with the Clear Spindle).
The Cracked Rest will be flying over my head.

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi,

i'm currently looking to get a Wayfinder and some Ioun Stones (Clear Spindle) for resonant powers and some Cracked ones.

Just got the Society Primer, but there's not everything described what i'm looking for, so what i searching is the right PDF for the Job:

- Clear Spindle + resonate Power + Wayfinder
- Cracked Dusty Rose Prism
- Cracked Scarlett & Blue Sphere.

The other ones (Cracked Magenta and Cracked Tourmalin) where in the Primer.

Thanks in advance,
Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi,

i ordered yesterday 6 PDFs:

Pathfinder Campaign Setting: Inner Sea Magic (PFRPG) PDF
Pathfinder Campaign Setting: The Inner Sea World Guide (PFRPG) PDF
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Advanced Race Guide (OGL) PDF
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Advanced Player's Guide (OGL) PDF
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Ultimate Combat (OGL) PDF
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game: Ultimate Magic (OGL) PDF

After trying it two times and getting the message that my payment details were wrong, i tried it a third time and got the message that i have insufficient funds.

I checked my CC Account and saw that i got billed 2 times for the PDFs (€42,15 for one order), but my Order is still in the shopping cart, i didn't get any downloads...

So i need help :)

-> As i don't need 2 times the same pdfs with the same watermarks in it, would it be possible to sent half of the money back (€42,15) and put the PDFs in my downloads ?
It was 22:05 GMT+1, if that helps.

Regards,
Calimar_T.

Grand Lodge

Hi!

After searching for an answer here and on your friendly Search Engine (don't be evil), i come here and ask :)

I've a problem understanding specific Magic Item Creating Rules.

I've looked here already: http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic-items#TOC-Magic-Item-Creation but the table "Table: Estimating Magic Item Gold Piece Values" gives me headaches.

How do i calculate this:
"Charges per day" - "Divide by (5 divided by charges per day)"

And how do i calculate the Base Price here and where does it come from ?
"Charged (50 charges)" - "1/2 unlimited use base price"

I think this here is the "Unlimited Use" which was spoken of in the table somewhere?)
"Use-activated or continuous" - "Spell level x caster level x 2,000 gp2"

So, for an Example:

A Cleric wants to put a "CLW" on his Breastplate and thinks about different methods of activation and resulting costs:

- Charges per Day
- Charged with 50 Charges (rechargeable from himself - and how?)
- Once per Day (or several times per Day) per Command Word.
- Action triggered (if i fall below 1 HP, cast CLW on myself).

What i wanted to know is not only how much it costs (Casterlevel 1), but also how to calculate it.

Regards, Calimar_T.

Grand Lodge

Hi!

i just got my Monster 5 Summons and got stuck on calculating the Woolly Rhinoceros, precisely the "Powerful Charge" Damage.

-> Powerful Charge (gore, 4d8+18).

A Rhino has a Strength of 28 and does normal gore damage of 2d8+12 (1,5xstr).

Now comes the Augment Summoning into play: Str+4 (so it has str 32 and does 2d8+16).

Does the Augment Summoning also enhance the Powerful Charge damage and if, how is the PC calculated in the first place ?
I assumed gore damage x2 - looks like the Rhinos Horn counts as a Lance, but i wanted to know for sure (and if this is documented anywhere in the Rulebooks and just could not find it).

Regards, Calimar_T.

Grand Lodge

Hi,

thanks seebs, i did read the description but it seems i didn't understand the what "wearer" did imply in that context.

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi,

well, i read a lot of those Headband Posts, but could't find what i was searching for, so...

Easy Question:

I did craft a Headband +2 on Level 4.
My History Skill which i crafted into it has now 4 Skill Ranks.

When i level to 5, does the Headband then grant me 5 Skill Ranks for History (as i would have gotten if i was crafting it on Level 5) ?

And here comes the hard part:

If yes, where is it written that the Headband levels with you ? :)

Regards, Calimar_T.

Grand Lodge

So,
to sum up:

Every Natural Weapon counts as light for the purposes of Weapon Finesse and for "can it claw his way out of a monster if swallowed" and similar things...

Every Creature with only one Attack gets the Str x 1,5 Bonus, regardless of size.

All Exceptions are noted in the Stats of the Monsters (like the Dragon, which gets the Bonus on his Bite, even if he has more attacks).

Thanks all :)

Grand Lodge

Hm, all the Creatures from the Statblock 1 don't account for the x1,5 Str Mod... and all are small.

So i thought, that maybe there are an additional Set of Rules for Creatures smaller than medium.

Thanks :)

Grand Lodge

Hi,

this may be a total Newbie Question (well...) but i have to ask anyway:

Following the Summon Monster Statblocks here:

http://www.d20pfsrd.com/magic/all-spells/s/summon-monster/summon-monster-1- statblocks

The augmented "Dire Rat" has a Str of 14 and does 1d4+2 Damage.

As the Bite is its only Attack, shouldn't it be 1d4+3, according to:
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/bestiary/rules-for-monsters/universal-monster-rules #TOC-Natural-Attacks

"If a creature has only one natural attack, it is always made using the creature’s full base attack bonus and adds 1-1/2 times the creature’s Strength bonus on damage rolls."

Or are there another set of rules which i overlooked (e.g.for creatures smaller than medium) ?

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi,

as i'm a fresh conjurer i also stumbled over the Hound Archon; after studying the Melee Attacks, my understanding was, that

Melee bite +8 (1d8+3), slam +8 (1d4+1) or mwk greatsword +9/+4 (2d6+3), bite +3 (1d8+2)

means:

The first Bite is the Primary attack in Canine Form (hence the +8 Attack and the 1w8 (large Canine) +3 (Str x1,5).

The Slam and second Bite are the Primary and Secondary Attacks in Archon form (then the -5 to the Bite would make sense) but what i wondered was the str bonus on the slam... shouldn't it read 1d4+2 ?

And the mwk greatsword... yeah, well... if it is attacking with it and not attacking with his natural attacks.

So the only one thing which i would consider "wrong" here is the Str Bonus for the Slam Damage.

Could anyone shed some light to it ?

Regards, Calimar.

Grand Lodge

Hi,
is there any new Info about that topic ?
The last Dev Answer was from Mark Moreland in 2011, in a time, when (correct me if i'm wrong) the Bestiary II was not yet included in the Additional Ressources List.

Now it is.

The Bestiary II entry in the Additional Ressources also specifies a list of creatures which is now legal for one thing or another (Familiars, Beast Shape etc.), so, how about the Elementals/Mephits ?

I'm not talking about adding entirely new Monsters to the Summon Monster spell, just to clarify the entry which reads "Elementals", if other Elementals (specificially from the BII: Mud, Lightning, Magma, Ice) are balanced enough and legal for PFS.

Regards,
Calimar.