Broen's page
Organized Play Member. 30 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.
|
Does the Repose Domain ability "Ward against death" protect against my negative channel energy for party members?
If you have the healing domain is your Channel Energy empowered?

Crimson Jester wrote: So the Cleric can boost himself up with spells. Then touch himself [snerk] to gain +5 to attack for this round and boost hist strength for non combat purposes by another +10 ..........At the same time? Talk about Giant Strength... He could kick any Giants ass handily [snerk] by himself, in one round. Where they set this as fair is that you cannot have 2 bonuses to STR from the same type of source. So the +10 would overwrite the +5, they are both faith bonuses.
Where this does not make ANY sense is that if I am solo and not in a party I cannot use this ability to get a good shot in for combat.
It's not like you can do this more than 5 - 8 rounds in a day at best, and is that all that damaging at 10th level to get a +5 on attack and damage for a single round?
The other domains have skills that are way more damaging. This is the closest to a fighting priest that you can do with a straight cleric, and if they did not mean for the cleric to use this ability I feel that it would just say that.
AerynTahlro wrote: Broen wrote: This is precisely why I brought this up. If I have a standard action to use this ablity and it goes away at the end of this current round, I get no effect from it for anything that I would do with it. Yep...which is why I said that cleric domains need an overhaul. This is only one of many abilities that end up nearly being a waste.
Specific to this ability, I feel it should either be a Swift Action to self-cast (Lay on Hands ability model, Self=Swift, Other=Standard) or should act like True Strike--goes to the end of your next turn. I'll take this insight with me to the 1st game to plead my case :) Thanks tons. I'll hope to see something official at some point I guess. Lay on hands really does seem like a good model to follow.
AerynTahlro wrote: Broen wrote: Also, in all other examples that I have found "Creature touched" can include the caster. Unless specifically stated, "Creature Touched" and "Ally" apply to yourself. You are a creature and you act as your own ally. This is precisely why I brought this up. If I have a standard action to use this ablity and it goes away at the end of this current round, I get no effect from it for anything that I would do with it.
Also, in all other examples that I have found "Creature touched" can include the caster.
I get the point you're making, even if how you are making it is enfeebling my mental faculties.
The spell list is all usable by a cleric anyway other than 1st and 6th. The point I was making is that the ability that you can use becomes useless unless some errata is added. If it works like Truestrike and I have to wait a round, fine. If it becomes a swift or move action like some of the actual official errata, that is fine as well.
To say it doesn't work for the cleric himself just sounds odd compared to some of the other domains.
Espcially since all the other domain powers are usable by the cleric himself as well.

Crimson Jester wrote: Strength Domain
Granted Powers: In strength and brawn there is truth—your faith gives you incredible might and power.
Strength Surge (Sp): As a standard action, you can touch a creature to give it great strength. For 1 round, the target gains an enhancement bonus equal to 1/2 your cleric level (minimum +1) to melee attacks, combat maneuver checks that rely on Strength, Strength-based skills, and Strength checks. You can use this ability a number of times per day equal to 3 + your Wisdom modifier.
Might of the Gods (Su): At 8th level, you can add your cleric level as an enhancement bonus to your Strength score for a number of rounds per day equal to your cleric level. This bonus only applies on Strength checks and Strength-based skill checks. These rounds do not need to be consecutive.
Domain Spells: 1st—enlarge person, 2nd—bull's strength, 3rd—magic vestment, 4th—spell immunity, 5th—righteous might, 6th—stoneskin, 7th—grasping hand, 8th—clenched fist, 9th—crushing hand.
Funny that. I did actually read the material first... The 2nd ability that one would gain at 8th level does not add to attack. So a cleric able to manifset his faith into great strength would get no gains from the 1st level ability himself? That seems pretty backhanded.
hogarth wrote: I'd probably let it last until the end of your next turn; I suspect that was the intent. Either that or let it be a swift or free action. I think swift action sounds fair, any chance of having an official ruling on it somehow?
Bobson wrote: Nope, there isn't any. It's not useful as a self-buff until later levels, when you have enough duration to make it useful. On the other hand, your fighter will love it, even at first level.
Whether or not it ought to be different, I'm not sure.
The duration is 1 round no matter what level the cleric. I will be a level 10 cleric and will be able to buff for 1 round up to +5 as a standard action.
If this only works for others that is fine, but even the domain is quoted "Your faith gives you incredible might and power" and that seems odd if the cleric cannot use this ablity himself.
This is going to have a simple answer I'm certain. I have a cleric that I will be playing that I am going to take the Str domain for. I will take this no matter how this is answered, but I still have one question.
The level 1 ability used by a level 10 cleric:
If I can touch to give str for 1 round as a standard action, how does this work if the cleric uses this ability? Is it used the round after?
The reason I ask is that some other abilities say that it is a standard action to activate this for another, but a swift action for the cleric.
Any errata on this one?
If I am making a magic weapon, and I am a 10th level caster, how does the item special ability factor in?
Can a 10th level caster only make a +3 weapon? Or can a 10th level caster make a +3 frost weapon, or does that count as +4 even for the item creations rules?
This is really confusing I'm certain, but I am having a hard time asking this properly...
How can I make my druid's earth elemental slam able to bypass damage reduction like a +1 weapon?
I have read and searched the rules and message boards but the answers are confusing...
It states that the target of the spell "Awaken" cannot serve as an animal companion. Does this also mean you cannot awaken your already serving companion?
The spell takes 24 hours to perform and there is a monotary cost. What would you use this spell for normally?
If you play a two weapon fighter with mithril battle axes are they considered light for the purpose of the two weapon fighting feat?
When you wildshape into an elemental, can you still use a weapon if desired? (Maul of the Titans or some other large weapon)

Khuldar wrote: Broen wrote: Can you permanency shrink item on a magic weapon in pathfinder? Can I have a magic Longspear that can shrink on command? Shrink Item wrote:
You are able to shrink one nonmagical item (if it is within the size limit) to 1/16 of its normal size in each dimension (to about 1/4,000 the original volume and mass). This change effectively reduces the object's size by four categories. Optionally, you can also change its now shrunken composition to a clothlike one. Objects changed by a shrink item spell can be returned to normal composition and size merely by tossing them onto any solid surface or by a word of command from the original caster. Even a burning fire and its fuel can be shrunk by this spell. Restoring the shrunken object to its normal size and composition ends the spell.
Shrink item can be made permanent with a permanency spell, in which case the affected object can be shrunk and expanded an indefinite number of times, but only by the original caster.
Bolding mine.
Not with the Shrink Item spell. You could have a masterwork one shrunk, and keep it and an oil of greater magic weapon in your pocket for emergencies though.
In 3.5 there were a few different ways to re-size spears in the magic item compendium (collapsable, changeling) but I'm unsure if any found their way to official Pathfinder products. If you have a masterwork shrinking item can it be enchanted at that point? Would you be adding to an already magic weapon at that point?
Can you permanency shrink item on a magic weapon in pathfinder? Can I have a magic Longspear that can shrink on command?
The reasoning is for a longspear for an elven bard. While I am in combat I wield the spear. Since he is not always fighting I wanted to shrink it when not in use to store on my belt.
Can you permanency shrink item on a magic weapon in pathfinder? <--real question I guess..
If you use Permanency on Enlarge person and Shrink item, does it allow you to use the effect whenever you desire?
If a paladin is wielding a +1 Holy Longsword and uses the Paladin ability to give the Holy Attribute what happens?
In the description for the ability it says that bonuses stack. But does that include the extra weapon damage?
So just the Shadow out of the Bestiary? For AC and everything other than saves and BAB?
What weapon does the shadow use when summoned? It states that it uses the Shadowdancer's Base Attack and Saves. What is the AC and weapon?
Very detailed explanation. Thank you!
Broen wrote: If I change from a dwarf to a tiger which speed do I keep? I find it hard to swallow that my land speed would not change to 40 as a huge tiger when you can change into something to get a 60ft burrow at the same level he is now. Is this ruling explained anywhere?
Also I see posts that talk about becoming a dire tiger, if the spell only gives a fixed bonus what would the difference between a tiger and dire tiger for a druid to shape into? Wouldn't the bonus be the same if both animals are large?
If I change from a dwarf to a tiger which speed do I keep? I find it hard to swallow that my land speed would not change to 40 as a huge tiger when you can change into something to get a 60ft burrow at the same level he is now. Is this ruling explained anywhere?
Druid question:
If I change from a dwarf to a tiger which speed do I keep? I find it hard to swallow that my land speed would not change to 40 as a beast when you can change into something to get a 60ft burrow at the same level he is now. Is this ruling explained anywhere?
Broen
Mirror, Mirror wrote: FWIW, I think the feat is somewhat underpowered. I do not think it should allow a save, especially considering you need to actually hit it's AC. I would make it no save.
OTOH, I would LOVE the idea that it could heal an ally. I want to see the Battle Cleric shout at the fighter asking for healing "Get back in there and fight, you pansy!" while channel smike healing him with a small sap!
I can see this argued with just about any DM. You have to touch the healing recipient to use original spell, so a healing cleric with smite should be able to add the channel on his heal as well.
After reading the majority of the posts here I am astounded to find that no one has said anything about a Neutral cleric using Inflict spells with this.
A Melee touch attack for my cleric.
Level 3 cleric:
2d8 +3 inflict wounds
2d6 channel smite
|