Hey guys,
2 Handed Medium Exotic Weapon
What do you think? Double Weapons are essentially Two Weapon Fighting combined into one package. After studying other examples and mechanics of double weapons, I came to the conclusion the inherent disadvantage of the double weapon being potentially disarmed, dropped, or sundered is offset by ignoring the 1 handed/ light weapon combination. So in essence the Xago Flail works like a normal flail and a scimitar (rules wise). I've imagined the weapon to be a spade or crescent shaped blade at one end of a chain with and a metal ball at the other end.
I was browsing the "Extra" feats and noticed that all of these feats can be taken additional times with no limit with the exception of the Summoner's Extra Evolution and Summons. These are limited to 1,5,10,15 and 20. Why is this? I am a novice to the class and found it odd that only a single class's "Extras" would be limited this way.
Velcro Zipper wrote:
I am going to try analyzing the wording of the feat as it is pertinent to my halfling cavalier (helpful trait, order of dragon, & bodyguard) "An ally who also has this feat provokes no attacks of opportunity for moving through squares adjacent to you or within your space." I will break the "or" statement apart. "An ally who also has this feat provokes no attacks of opportunity for moving through squares adjacent to you." (no mention of threatened spaces)
Easy part: Halfling uses tactician, granting the feat to my party (mount included- allies need not meet prerequisites) I no longer provoke AoO from enemies when passing through party member spaces and adjacent spaces to them. This is assuming they are stationary as we move on different initiatives. Likewise, ally's do not provoke when moving through my space and adjacent spaces to me. Tough part: Because my mount and I share the same space, we are not moving though any space relative to one another. We move as one unit. However if I were to dismount, I am moving in space relative to my mount while dismounting- I do not provoke AoO. Once on ground we are treated as 2 allies and treated as written in the easy part. I could also talk about non-ownership of spaces while moving and whether or not I count as my own ally - both moot point While this feat works with mounts, it does not allow rider and mount total immunity from movement based AoO.
We have a power gamer who likes to interpret all rules in his favor, so when he used his ability to smite evil on an object I was doubtful. I went back to my book (2nd printing) and read the smite evil section it begins by using the label "target" but later uses the label "creatures". The rules also state that smite lasts until the target is dead. This leads me to think that objects are not suitable targets for smite evil. Has there been an errata that allows paladins to use smite evil against objects and bypass hardness, similar to creatures and bypassing DR?
We've got a creature that has a swim and land speed. Can he use the charge action from water onto land? We're split 50/50. I'd say yes, citing how crocodiles, killer whales, and some sharks will charge onto land. Because the creature has a swim speed it can easily charge through water... it can also charge on land. Another player says no, she points out that having a swim speed will not allow the creature to ignore the assumed difficult terrain of the shore line. Is this in the rules anywhere, or should we house rule this allow amphibious (and a select few aquatic) ambush creatures to charge from water onto land?
So what would happen if a druid attempts to teach his (3 INT) companion the Druidic language? Would the druid then become an ex-druid and the companion lose all of its companion buffs including knowledge of the Druidic language? Or since the animal companion is part of the druid class all would be fine because it would lose all buffs and knowledge of the language anyways when released from service? Its not like the companion can speak the language... just understand it.
The subject pretty much explains my question, but I have a player insisting that he can select Universalist as a prohibited school. Although the book doesn't outright say he can't in the wizard section, starting on the bottom of page 209 Universal isn't listed in the 8 schools of magic. I hope this is not the case. In the core book he'd only be restricted with 4 spells from that school. I hope a mod, game designer, or a prominent rules lawyer can help. Thanks!
James Jacobs wrote:
Thanks for the clarification. I'll reread the casting defensively entry. We were thinking that since casting a spell will provoke an AoO, failing the check for casting defensively leaves the spell caster open to attack.
Thanks for the tidbit on the Improved Natural feats. Been thumbing through the new feats. The entry for Spellbreaker on page 134 looks off- Benefit: Enemies in your threatened area that fail
Spells still provoke, thats the point of casting defensively... Is this entry supposed to read as follows? Benefit: Enemies in your threatened area that pass
otherwise, this feat seems moot.
Too bad Half Orcs had a stat change Question for ya:
Also:
|