
Beorn Nitmo |
Much of this is a Moot point as retrieving items with the tail is a swift action not a free action and you only get one of those a round.
Also a Mace or Rod is light melee weapon not a "Small" melee weapon. You could probably craft it size small though (as for a small character) but otherwise it does not qualify for retrieving a "small" item in my opinion otherwise. It may be light but standards are 2 to 3 feet long and 5 pounds.
Glove of storing seems to be the best answer over all. The free actions it permits to summon and dismiss the item are priceless! Not to mention technically, "The item is shrunk down so small within the palm of the glove that it cannot be seen." I might argue that it IS wielded in a glove of storing as it is "Shrunk Down" and technically in the hand.
"Unless stated otherwise, activating a use-activated magic item is either a standard action or not an action at all and does not provoke attacks of opportunity, unless the use involves performing an action that provokes an attack of opportunity in itself. If the use of the item takes time before a magical effect occurs, then use activation is a standard action. If the item’s activation is subsumed in its use and takes no extra time use, activation is not an action at all." If all Meta-magic Rods were Standard Actions to Activate it makes them near useless in combat.
I would rule that using a Meta-magic rod does not take an action because it needs to be wielded to me used. Since it does not say in the description that you need a command word to activate it then it just makes since that is not an action to activate. You can find this quote from http://www.d20pfsrd.com/Magic-items/#TOC-Using-Items Paizo site or in the Core Rule book.