Darl Quethos

Ayyavazi's page

8 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Hello all,

I was hoping you could help me clear up a few of the rules questions my Pathfinder group has had. We have a multiclass barbarian rogue, and I need to know if the character can sneak attack while raging. Also, what about other forms or methods of attack such as combat maneuvers and such?

Thanks,

--Norm


In regards to the Kensai ability Perfect Strike (page 55 of Ultimate Combat) of the Magus Kensai Archetype, can it be used to maximize the damage of one die from a critical hit, such that say a rapier would do 6 (maximized damage die) + Str x 2 + 1d6 (un-maximized die) on a critical hit? Or, must he use the 2-point option that increases the critical multiplier meaning his damage becomes 3d6 + Str x 3? In essence, is the choice use 1 ki point and maximize damage on non-critical hits, and use 2 instead on critical hits to increase the multiplier, or can the Magus use 1 on normal hits and choose between the two options for the critical hits?


Thanks Grick. I appreciate the breakdown. Its not what I expected, but it sounds solid enough. I figured that the penalties from two-weapon fighting were a way to demonstrate the difficulty of fighting with two weapons, and that since rounds are all the same six second lump , the penalties would apply across the board, as you are not making all of your attacks in one instant, you're just resolving them in one instant for the sake of keeping the game coherent. Being that it isn't represented in the rules, I'd be hard pressed to enforce that though. Thanks again,

--Norm


Thanks guys. That confirms my suspicions. Also, what about attacks of opportunity made while two weapon fighting or flurry of blows? Also, I've got a rules lawyer on my team that is going to practically demand a page reference for this ruling. Could you help me find the passages for these circumstances?

Thanks again,
--Norm


Hey all! My group has been struggling with a few different rules questions and I was hoping you could help me through one of them.

When Two-Weapon fighting (or flurry of blows) in combination with the Haste spell (or other effects that give you an extra extra attack at your highest attack bonus), does the -2 penalty from two-weapon fighting apply to those attacks? (assuming a light off hand weapon and possessing the feat) Also, does it apply to all attacks within the round (as in Attacks of Opportunity)?

For example: A monk in my game uses Flurry of Blows and is targeted by a Haste spell. His normal highest bonus for unarmed strikes is +10 (+8 when flurrying). Is the attack granted by haste at the +10 bonus or the +8 bonus? Does the answer also apply to two-weapon fighting and other instances of extra attacks such as the Monk's Ki Pool ability on page 59 of the core rulebook?

Thanks again,

--Norm


Two things:

1. The order of casting is very important here. If he casts the normal shocking grasp and then casts the quickened shocking grasp before discharging the first, then the initial charge is lost. This is from page 186 of the Core rulebook. This means of course that you have to break up the castings with at least one attack.

2. From the same paragraph, it explains that an unarmed attack will discharge the spell. In fact, even touching a friend unintentionally will discharge it.

As for whether a swift action can be used as part of a full attack, page 188 of the Core rulebook indicates you can use a swift action whenever you could use a free action, therefore, it is totally above board to cast on turn 1, flurry and discharge with the first attack, and then swift cast and continue the flurry. Have fun decimating your party. I suggest trying a similar trick with touch of fatigue.

Cheers,--Norm


Hello all. I would really appreciate some insight into the following rules questions which have come up in my weekly game. If possible, please provide page references and/or examples.

1. When using Two-Weapon fighting (or flurry of blows) in combination with the Haste spell (or other effects that give you an extra extra attack at your highest attack bonus), does the -2 penalty apply to those attacks? Also, does it apply to all attacks within the round (as in Attacks of Opportunity)?

For example: A monk in my game uses Flurry of Blows and is targeted by a Haste spell. His normal highest bonus for unarmed strikes is +10 (+8 when flurrying). Is the attack granted by haste at the +10 bonus or the +8 bonus? Does the answer also apply to two-weapon fighting and other instances of extra attacks such as the Monk's Ki Pool ability on page 59 of the core rulebook?

2. In regards to the Kensai ability Perfect Strike (page 55 of Ultimate Combat) of the Magus Kensai Archetype, can it be used to maximize the damage of one die from a critical hit, such that say a rapier would do 6 (maximized damage die) + Str x 2 + 1d6 (un-maximized die) on a critical hit? Or, must he use the 2-point option that increases the critical multiplier meaning his damage becomes 3d6 + Str x 3? In essence, is the choice use 1 ki point and maximize damage on non-critical hits, and use 2 instead on critical hits to increase the multiplier, or can the Magus use 1 on normal hits and choose between the two options for the critical hits?

3. Can you use the Sneak Attack feature of the Rogue class while in a Barbarian Rage? Likewise, can you cause any kind of Precision based damage (or is this just an old 3.5 term I am having trouble forgetting?)

4. When multi-classing as a monk, do you add the Base Attack Bonus of your other class into your Flurry of Blows progression. For example: one of my players has a level Magus level 3 and Monk level 4. His normal Flurry of Blows progression would be at +2/+2 if only the monk level were used, as the Flurry of Blows entry seems to indicate (and of course adding in Str and other bonuses.) Should his bonus instead be +4/+4 (2 from the monk table. and 2 from his Magus Levels)? The rules as written seem to indicate that it would just be +2/+2, but that would render multi-calssing as a monk completely worthless.

5. When using Combat Maneuvers as part of multiple attacks in a round, does your CMB go down by the cumulative -5 normally applied to iterative attacks? For example say I was a 20th level fighter. My BAB progression would be four attacks +20/+15/+10/+5. Obviously there would be other bonuses in there such as Strength modifier, magic weapon enhancement bonuses and such, but we'll ignore those for now. When using my fourth attack to attempt a trip or disarm (or any other combat maneuver that can be done in place of an attack) Is my CMB calculated using my full Base Attack Bonus of +20, or using my reduced BAB of +5? If it is the former, using maneuvers in place of your 3rd and 4th attacks becomes the natural choice in most circumstances. Likewise, do you use the reduced BAB from Two-Weapon Fighting, essentially reducing you CMB by 2 (or more if using the wrong types of weapons)?

Thanks for reading that novella and for any insight you might offer,

Cheers,
--Norm


More likely than not this will be a 4th edition setting. Think about it. The second complete adventure ships its last issue in August 2008, the same month the Campaign book comes out. Beyond that, assuming Paizo has purchased the crafters kit from wizards ($5000 for businesses), they will actually have full rites to release 4th edition content as early as July 2008. The timing seems far too coincidental for it to be 3.5. Further, given that Paizo and Wizards enjoy a very close relationship, its possible and even likely that Wizards comped Paizo the construction kit for 4th edition automatically as a show of good faith. Plus, they will be primed to start their third adventure path in September 2008, and I don't think Paizo would force us to wait six months after 4th ed's release just to start getting 4th ed adventures for Pathfinder.
--Norm