Amaurot's page
Organized Play Member. 37 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists. 8 Organized Play characters.
|
>>You don't roll extra dice for energy damage. You multiply the total.
Sorry for my unclear question.
I was trying to ask, say, evasion negate all damage with a success Ref save. But vulnerability states that "regardless of whether a saving throw is allowed or if the save is a success or failure", "it takes half again as much damage".
So I was not sure if the 50% part damage is (A) calculated individually, or (B) multiply with the final damage.
(A): 50 x 50% + 50 x 0
(B): 50 x 0 x 150%
>>Vulnerability is the last thing calculated
Any rules or FAQ support?
The question should have been asked several times but I want a Official answer.
How is the damage of Vulnerability calculated?
Does the +50% applies to the original damage,
or does it applies to the final damage after all other effects get in?
Say casting a Fireball (1d6) to someone with/ without evasion, what will be the damage?
Successful Reflex Save (with Evasion):
a) 1d6 x 0 x 150% = 0
b) 1d6 x 0 + 1d6 x 50% = 1d6 x 50%
Successful Reflex Save (without Evasion):
a) 1d6 x 50% x 150% = 1d6 x 75%
b) 1d6 x 50% x 150% + 1d6 x 50% = 1d6 x 1.25%
Vulnerabilities (Ex or Su)
A creature with vulnerabilities takes half again as much damage (+50%) from a specific energy type, regardless of whether a saving throw is allowed or if the save is a success or failure.
Evasion (Ex)
If she makes a successful Reflex saving throw against an attack that normally deals half damage on a successful save, she instead takes no damage.
I know by RAI it is not for allies, but I have no RAW material to persuade the player, as he suggests the term 'creature' includes ally (which I agree), and PC does have CR as well (which I think is debatable).
A PC uses Kirin Path against an ally so as to gain free movement with the help of the team.
So questions arise,
1. Does ally counts as 'creature'?
2. Does PC has CR?
Kirin Path: While using Kirin Style against a creature you have identified using that feat, if the creature ends its turn within your threatened area, you can spend a use of your attacks of opportunity that round to move up to 5 feet times your Intelligence modifier (minimum 1).
Kirin Style: While using this style, you can spend a swift action to make a Knowledge check to identify a single creature (DC 15 + the creature’s CR for this purpose).
Oh, I was asking for the PFS house rule, because I am running one actually.
Sphynx wrote: The rules say no, Amaurot, however in the Pathfinder Society, they house rule that it does indeed suffer a -4 penalty. The only rules about -4 is on page 184 where it specifically states that "If you shoot or throw a ranged weapon at a target engaged in melee with a friendly character, you take a -4 penalty on your attack roll."
Thus it is generally accepted as a house rule for most games, but it is not a canonical ruling.
May I ask for a citation please?
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
|
Does firing a NON-ray, NON-weapon-like ranged touch spell,
such as a Reach-metamagiced-Shocking Grasp, into melee
suffers -4 penalty?
Alchemical Reagents can alter the effect of spells as M or F.
But can they be applied to a spell that does not have M or F originally?
Thanks for all the reply.
Sadly, he insists that a 2011 reply is out-of-date, and people should always read the rules as written, I don't if there is any other thing I can do to convince him.
Anyway, as the MotFF is a sanctioned module before Tier 1-2, can I play with a 2nd level character for once, just like other T1-2 modules, or is it 1st level only?
Paz wrote: Amaurot wrote: Because my friend insists that Tier 1 and Tier 1-2 are two separate things and only the later allow replay, and since MoFF is a Tier 1, it cant be replayed That seems like a very strong position to insist on. Can he provide a citation to back up this claim? his major agruement is that the pfs organized guide (literally) only states that 'only tier 1 scenarios and tier 1-2 sanctioned modules are replayble', never mentioning any tier 1 sanctioned module (MoFF)
Besides, he said that the official should have announced if there is a system error, so long as paizo doesnt say anything about the system, then it is not a bug, but inmplying MoFF is not replayable in nature.

Joshua J. Frost wrote: yoda8myhead wrote: I like that it will "serve as an introduction to the Pathfinder Society Organized Play" though I'm curious how that will work. It will function as a Tier 1 scenario, meaning it's only for beginning 1st level PCs and has no level range. The back inside cover is a chronicle sheet and anyone who plays through it can use that chronicle sheet to get their character in Pathfinder Society started. This allows us to effectively run Pathfinder Society events at every Free RPG Day store and gives us an introductory adventure for Pathfinder Society that can be downloaded for free and played anywhere.
It won't have faction missions or prestige award, though it will have the typical +1 XP and purchasable items off the chronicle sheet. Once the adventure is successfully completed, there's an option to join the Society as both a character and a player and if you do so, that's when you make all of the appropriate choices for your official character. Is it a Tier 1 scenario or a Tier 1 sanctioned module?
Cause I heard only the former can be replayed while the later cannot (Only the Tier 1-2 sanctioned modules can be replayed AFAIK)
Would you kindly cited any official quotes stating 'Tier 1 (not Tier 1-2) sanctioned modules are also replayable'?
And is there any official list of replayable scenario/ modules?
Sorry for all the questions but this is too complicated for me, and I really want to get clarify with this problem.
Because my friend insists that Tier 1 and Tier 1-2 are two separate things and only the later allow replay, and since MoFF is a Tier 1, it cant be replayed
and... sorry a few more questions
1. For the Sanctioned Modules, are the Tier 1-2 the only one replayable? Are Tier 1 sanctioned modules replayable?
2. What exactly MoFF is?
Tier 1 or Tier 1-2 sanctioned modules?
Or Tier 1 scenarios?
Cause the chronicle sheet stated it as a Tier 1, but I heard some said it is actually a Tier 1-2.
3. And how about other freeday modules?
Which one can actually be replayed?
Thanks for the reply, and there is one more question.
The 'Free RPG Day modules' section in the Guide to Pathfinder Society Organized Play states 'if you have played any of the Free RPG Day modules listed above and been awarded Chronicle sheets for them, the XP, the Prestige Points, and gp you received remain unchanged.'
What exactly does it mean?
Need a little clarification for replaying and applying credits on different characters
A. All Tier 1 Scenarios: Replayable for PC and GM credit on 1st Level character
B. Tier 1-2 Sanctioned Modules: Replayable for PC and GM credit on 1st Level character, and
GM credit on a single 2nd Level character once only
C. Freeday modules: Same as T1 Scenarios, but only grant 1xp and 1pp
Did I got anything wrong? Cause a friend of mine GMed MoFF twice and tried to apply the credit on two different characters but failed, system saying 'player has already run section...'
Necro. Would like to know the answer too.
So, the effect still lasts while I am sleeping?
Does that mean I can cast all the prolonged Buffs on myself, take a rest with renewed spell slots AND a bunch of Buffs with me?
Does positive buffs that affect oneself continues after sleeping?
Say I cast a level 10 Mage Armor on myself, after 8 hrs of sleeping, will there be 2 hours Mage Armor left?
|
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
1 person marked this as a favorite.
|
You can augment the power of a hex by expending a spell slot or prepared spell of at least 1st level. Each additional time you use this ability in the same day, it requires a prepared spell or spell slot 1 level higher (a 2nd-level spell the second time, a 3rdlevel spell the third time, and so on). When you amplify a hex, you can choose one: increase its saving throw DC by 1, increase its range by 30 feet (if it already has at least a 30-foot range), or increase its duration by 1 round (if it already has a duration of at least 1 round).
How long is the effect? One single use of Hex? Or is the chosen Hex amplified for the whole day?
Raging Blood:
You gain the 1st-level bloodrager bloodline power for your bloodline...
...If you have more than one bloodline, you choose the bloodline this applies to upon taking the feat.
Mongrel Mage:
Each day when she refreshes her spell slots, the mongrel mage selects one sorcerer bloodline...
...She gains this bloodline's 1st-level bloodline power for that day, using it as if she were only a 1st-level sorcerer.
If a Mongrel Mage chooses Raging Blood
Does the effect applies on one chosen bloodline only? ('cause she has more than one bloodline)
Or any bloodline she chooses by every new day?
Or she cant choose Raging Blood at all? (because she doesn't have any bloodline technically)
Oh and one more question,
5. After a successful throw attack with a non-thrown weapon (say Longsword), where will it go?
Is it considered lost like ammunition or dropped on the enemy's grid?
1. Can I wield another weapon, say, a sword, when equipped with the following "weapons"?
a) Cestus
b) Brass Knuckles
c) Tekko-Kagi
d) Spiked Gauntlet
2. Will feats that work with ranged weapons work with throw weapons too?
(e.g. Deadly Aim, Rapid Shot)
What about the weapons that are not meant to throw?
(weapons without throwing range)
3. Will feats that work with throw weapons work with these weapons?
(say Distance Thrower)
4. The QDraw feat states that "...may throw weapons at his full normal rate of attacks (much like a character with a bow)..."
What is meant by normal rate of attacks?
nope, i just want to clarify the rules
Adoptive Parentage: If the race does not have weapon familiarity, you gain either Skill Focus or Weapon Focus as a bonus feat that is appropriate for that race instead.
What skills or weapons are considered "appropriate"? Is there any thing I can refer to?
Sorry for my poor English, but I just cant grasp the meaning of this spell.
Binding Darkness (Sp) from illusion (shadow) school of wizard:
"...a creature entangled by your shadows has concealment from those without darkvision or the ability to see in darkness, and other creatures likewise have concealment relative to it..."
Does that mean the entangled creature is considered concealed from others who don't have darkvision, and, on the opposite, others are considered concealed from the entangled creature?
What are the "other creatures likewise"? Other creatures who have darkvision? Or any other creatures?
And what if the entangled creature has darkvision?
So... I actually have a way to change my eidolon's skills? Cool.
"An eidolon receives a number of skill ranks equal to 6 + its Intelligence modifier per HD"
"Eidolon skill ranks are set once chosen, even if the creature changes when the summoner gains a new level."
"These abilities, called evolutions, can be changed whenever the summoner gains a new level, but they are otherwise set."
"Ability Increase (Ex): Increase one of the eidolon’s ability scores by +2."
tl;dr: eidolon's skills are based on INT and set once chosen
there is evolution that increase eidonlon's INT
What if I pick the skills and then discard the increased INT evolution?
How should the skills be count?
Does confused creature attack whatever attacked it last round?
Or does it attack after rolling the d%?
RAW:
01–25 Act normally.
26–50 Do nothing but babble incoherently.
51–75 Deal 1d8 points of damage + Str modifier to self with item in hand.
76–100 Attack nearest creature (for this purpose, a familiar counts as part of the subject's self).
Any confused creature who is attacked automatically attacks its attackers on its next turn, as long as it is still confused when its turn comes.
So even if the spell can deal touch attack, it is not considered a touch spell? I wonder if I can find a official clarification for this.
Anyway, thanks for the replies
i was checking this faq
http://www.d20pfsrd.com/extras/pathfinder-faq?lan=tw&lan=tw&lan=tw# TOC-Produce-Flame
and this thread as well
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2jvue?Rules-Clarification-Produce-Flame
but the faq said it is supposed to grant pc the ability to due touch attack, thats why i am confused.
i have checked the faq but i still dont get the anwser. all i get is:
1. it is not a wepon but a spell
2. it cant do iterative attacks
but does the standard action required to cast it include a free attack, as it does with other touch spells?
the queation seems to be left unanswered
The Wizard's Share Spells states that
The wizard may cast a spell with a target of “You” on his familiar (as a touch spell) instead of on himself.
A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar's type (magical beast).
Are these two statements separated? Or is the former one a condition for the later?
In other words, does that means I can cast spells only target to "You", but unlimited to creature type;
or, I can cast any spells even if the affect creature type is not of the familiar's, plus any spells that have a target of "You"?
Say, can I cast Giant Vermin on my Greensting Scorpion familiar?
GIANT VERMIN
Range close (25 ft. + 5 ft./2 levels)
Targets 1 or more vermin, no two of which can be more than 30 ft. apart
Duration 1 min./level
Thanks for the FAQ, should have checked it more thoroughly.
And one more question, can I cast Giant Vermin on my vermin familiar?
As the Share Spells states "A wizard may cast spells on his familiar even if the spells do not normally affect creatures of the familiar's type (magical beast)."
Thanks for your reply. Does that mean even the feat did say "For purposes of using that power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2", it won't grant me any pseudo-sorcerer casting ability?

I have searched for the topic and know it have been asked several times but I still don't get the answer so sorry please pardon me.
Eldritch Heritage:
Gain a first-level bloodline power, treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2.
Improved Eldritch Heritage:
Gain a 3rd-level or the 9th-level power (your choice), treat your sorcerer level as equal to your character level – 2.
Greater Eldritch Heritage:
Gain a 15th-level (or lower) power that you do not already have, treat your character level as your sorcerer level
New Arcana (Ex) (From Arcane Bloodline):
At 9th (Sorcerer) level, you can add any one spell from the sorcerer/wizard spell list to your list of spells known.
This spell must be of a level that you are capable of casting.
You can also add one additional spell at 13th level and 17th level.
Q1. are the rules supposed to let us gain new spells from New Arcana from IEH even if we don't have sorcerer level?
Q2. if Yes, what is the capable casting level meant by "This spell must be of a level that you are capable of casting."?
Does that mean the pseudo-sorcerer level that is capable to cast the spell?
Say if I am a lvl 11 Oracle, the pseudo-sorcerer level will be 11-2=9, a lvl 9 Sor is capable to cast a 4th lvl Sor/Wiz spell, so I can gain a 4th lvl Sor/Wiz spell, am I right?
Q3. and which oracle slots will be used to cast the spells? 4th?
|