| Aghost |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
My two cents, rules for potions should be more about who drink it than how it enter your mouth.
I just want to explore someting and i can be really wrong.
1. If a Familiar feed a potion or drink a potion it require activiation.
2. The familiar can't activate no matter it's form or abilitys. Sad but crystal clear and we don't want them to blast thing with magical wand/ring or other item like in PF1 of course.
I always tought the person drinking the potion was the one activating it. (when feed, the action is spend by somenone else).
If my familiar can't feed me a potion, can i feed him a potion? The other way around is legit?
If (in theorie) i feed a Dragon's Breath Potion to my familair. In the next hour he can Breath the effet. Cause im the one activating a item.
It's just i tought it make sense and balance to a familair feeding a potion to a fallen ally or mutagene to a ally, enven to his incouncious master (independent and manual dexterity require).
I also think it make no sense to fed a dragon's breath potion with combat effect to my familiar. It feel more like cheap to do that.
It's hard to explain why he can feed me water but is incapable if the water is a potion. What happen, the potion fall on the ground, is drink but has no effect cause it lack a activation.
RAW : A potion is a magical liquid activated when you drink it, which uses it up. Potions have the potion trait. You can activate a potion with an Interact action as you drink it or feed it to another creature. For me it mean the one activating it is the one who drink it.
For the rest the winning about the utility of the familiar isn't pertinent. Some options are weak and the rule don't change just by that fact.
EDIT: I troll my own post, the the activation is not abour drinking but more about feeding. Can we activate a potion by feeding a mecanical construct, of course not by a familiar.
(Second language english writer, no hate)