Ultimate Campaign, What does the * mean on Terrain Improvements mean?


Rules Questions


It says terrain improvements with an *can share the same hex with other improvements. So I can put an aqueduct, canal, farm, fishery, fort, road, watchtower all in the same hex, but I can’t put a road in the same hex as a mine?

I think they meant something like, you put all the * stuff in a hex and a sawmill or a quarry or a mine.

I found nothing about it in FAQ, does anyone have a better reading of this?


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I've always felt that they asterisked the wrong selection. The way it's supposed to work is that you can only build one non-asterisked improvement in any given hex, plus any number of asterisked improvements (I suppose only one of each type).

So, here's how to treat it:

Reverse the asterisks, removing them from the improvements that have them, and adding them to those that don't.

Then change the rule to the following: A hex can only contain one improvement marked with an asterisk.

Or, keeping the notation the same as it is now: A hex can only contain one improvement that is not marked with an asterisk, but any number of improvements marked with an asterisk.

There's a post somewhere around here from Jason Nelson (at least I'm pretty sure it was him, he wrote the UCam kingdom rules, but if not him it was Sean K Reynolds, who did the design pass after Jason turned it over) confirming that the above is the way it's meant to work.


Just to be clear, your interpretation and mine are the same correct?

"I think they meant something like, you put all the * stuff in a hex And a sawmill Or a quarry Or a mine."


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ultimate Campaign, What does the * mean on Terrain Improvements mean? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions