What does the limit on explorations prevent?


Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion


What does the following section of the rules apply to:

The Rules wrote:
You may explore your location once per turn. Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn; if, during a single exploration, multiple effects each give you an additional exploration, it counts as a total of 1 more exploration, not a series of additional explorations.

My first read through was essentially that everyone could explore once and you could only make further explorations if you had some card/power/etcetera which specifically granted you an additional exploration. However, that pretty much summarises the rule up to the semi-colon. What does the bolded mean? Or rather, how does it matter?

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

1 person marked this as a favorite.

We welcome you to our radio play "Ezren Explores the Academy."

Ezren: "I explore the Academy!"
The Academy: "You acquire an item with the Magic trait! It is not a spell, so you may explore again!"
Ezren: "My power lets me explore again if I acquire a card with the Magic trait! I explore twice!"
Mike: "As if."

We hope you've enjoyed our play.


Beaten to it again! (Every time I reply to a post, someone else replies while I am carefully, and slowly, constructing my post. Still can't complain when it's Mike that gets in first!) Anyway, no reason not to complete my post.

Consider a case where you explore a location, encounter a card that says you get to explore again, while encountering the card you play another card that also allows you to explore again. When you finish the encounter you only get to explore once more, even though two different card effects during the encounter gave you an extra explore.

However, that still doesn't prevent you from playing another card after the encounter (e.g. blessing or ally) to explore again.

Steve Geddes wrote:

What does the following section of the rules apply to:

The Rules wrote:
You may explore your location once per turn. Many effects allow you to explore again on your turn; if, during a single exploration, multiple effects each give you an additional exploration, it counts as a total of 1 more exploration, not a series of additional explorations.
My first read through was essentially that everyone could explore once and you could only make further explorations if you had some card/power/etcetera which specifically granted you an additional exploration. However, that pretty much summarises the rule up to the semi-colon. What does the bolded mean? Or rather, how does it matter?


Mike Selinker wrote:

We welcome you to our radio play "Ezren Explores the Academy."

Ezren: "I explore the Academy!"
The Academy: "You acquire an item with the Magic trait! It is not a spell, so you may explore again!"
Ezren: "My power lets me explore again if I acquire a card with the Magic trait! I explore twice!"
Mike: "As if."

We hope you've enjoyed our play.

Ah okay, thanks.

To be clear though - can Ezren explore the Academy, find an item with the Magic trait, explore again, then use a blessing to explore and then use an ally to explore, find a second item with the Magic trait and then explore once more?


Well, I've been playing that wrong. I wondered what that phrase in the rulebook meant too, but since there was no example, I've been playing Ezren wrong (and others, but it seems to happen more with Ezren).

Mike, thanks for that explanation. I really recommend you put in an example (like the one above), because I didn't understand what that meant either until your example.

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Steve Geddes wrote:
To be clear though - can Ezren explore the Academy, find an item with the Magic trait, explore again, then use a blessing to explore and then use an ally to explore, find a second item with the Magic trait and then explore once more?

Yes.

The sequence would be:
Ezren explores.
Ezren finds a Magic item.
Ezren explores.
Ezren plays a blessing (which he picked up somewhere, I guess).
Ezren explores.
Ezren plays an ally.
Ezren explores.
Ezren finds a Magic item.
Ezren explores.

At no time did Ezren run into a point where he stacked two explorations. He just did his actions in sequence with no problems.


Thanks very much, Mike. I didn't really appreciate the possibility of one "event" triggering two potential extra explorations. That all makes sense now. Cheers.


I understand how this works (Mike: your comments have only reinforced my interpretation of how it works). However, I am somewhat curious as to WHY you guys felt this rule was needed. After something like 40-50 scenarios completed on my part, this has literally never come up. In addition, Ezren seems like one of the few characters would it would be likely to happen... and Ezren's ability to explore is pretty mediocre in general. Was it really necessary to make this rule to reign in the extra explores? Am I missing something? Thanks!

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game Designer

Generally, because this game hates memory. We try not to create situations where you have to remember that you have a thing to do after another complicated thing happens, unless you can see the card in front of you telling you to do that thing.


Ah I see. That's actually a good reason for it then. Thanks!

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Adventure Card Game / Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion / What does the limit on explorations prevent? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions and Gameplay Discussion