What kind of activation method does a Ring of Spell Storing use?


Rules Questions

The Exchange

7 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Question unclear. 1 person marked this as a favorite.

(If an actual response of "No FAQ required" comes back I'm going to read that as command word.)

At first glance it seems to be command word since the rings section of the CRB says:

Quote:
Activation: A ring's ability is usually activated by a spoken command word (a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity) or its effects work continually. Some rings have unusual activations, as mentioned in the ring's specific description.

since the Ring of Spell Storing does not specifically call out a different activation method.

But when I actually read the description of the ring:

Quote:

A minor ring of spell storing contains up to three levels of spells (either divine or arcane, or even a mix of both spell types) that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell. The user need not provide any material components or focus to cast the spell, and there is no arcane spell failure chance for wearing armor (because the ring wearer need not gesture). The activation time for the ring is the same as the casting time for the relevant spell, with a minimum of 1 standard action.

For a randomly generated ring, treat it as a scroll to determine what spells are stored in it. If you roll a spell that would put the ring over the three-level limit, ignore that roll; the ring has no more spells in it.

A spellcaster can cast any spells into the ring, so long as the total spell levels do not add up to more than three. Metamagic versions of spells take up storage space equal to their spell level modified by the metamagic feat. A spellcaster can use a scroll to put a spell into the minor ring of spell storing.

The ring magically imparts to the wearer the names of all spells currently stored within it.

the description of how to use the ring sounds an awful lot like a spell trigger item.

Quote:
Spell Trigger: Spell trigger activation is similar to spell completion, but it's even simpler. No gestures or spell finishing is needed, just a special knowledge of spellcasting that an appropriate character would know, and a single word that must be spoken. Spell trigger items can be used by anyone whose class can cast the corresponding spell. This is the case even for a character who can't actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin. The user must still determine what spell is stored in the item before she can activate it. Activating a spell trigger item is a standard action and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.


Unless errata'd it be a command word.

The ring is much less restrictive than a spell trigger item since it allows anyone to cast the stored spells while spell trigger items require the spell to be on the casters spell list. Also casting from the ring still provokes AoOs. So they are similar, but not the same. And for the price of the ring, I should hope that anyone can cast those spells.

The Exchange

Avianfoo wrote:
And for the price of the ring, I should hope that anyone can cast those spells.

I'm trying to maintain a strictly matter of fact (matter of FAQ?) tone in this thread, so all I will say on that front is that this question grew from a PFS discussion on the cracked vibrant purple ioun stone which is a slotless item costing 2000 gp that can hold one spell level and acts exactly as a ring of spell storing.

When I attempted to clarify in that thread I realized that (as stated above) the ring of spell storing does not call out an activation type by name (leading to the assumption that it uses the standard command word activation for rings) but the language reads quite close to a spell trigger item (". . .that the wearer can cast. . ."). Indeed, the language is nearly identical to the activation text for wands and staves. But again, not specifically stated as "spell trigger."

At this point I do have an opinion (which may not be the same as my initial one) but I'm hoping for an official response.

AoO:
Avianfoo wrote:
Also casting from the ring still provokes AoOs.

I don't see how the ring could provoke an AoO. Neither command word or spell trigger items provoke and the ring does not specifically say that it provokes either.


I think the AoO hair being split is the "contains... spells...that the wearer can cast"

A spell trigger item, you point the item, use the item spell goes off.

IMO, the ring of spell storing emitting a spell it is targeting the wearer and conferring the ability to cast the spell. So the wearer would be bound by all the downsides of the 'casting a spell' action.
my 2 cents


MC Templar wrote:

So the wearer would be bound by all the downsides of the 'casting a spell' action.

my 2 cents

My thoughts exactly. On the other hand command word items do not provoke AoO's and the "casting" could be seen as done by the command word. So I am undecided now.

The cracked vibrant purple ioun stone seems ridiculously under priced to me.

The Exchange

Hmmm. I was looking to see if the FAQ request was answered/no response needed and see that it got marked as "question unclear." Anyone know what the proper next step is for that? Couldn't find any guidelines for it. Should I clarify here, start a new post, or is that an internal notation for someone else to take a look at it?

In case clarification is asked for here, I'll try again right now:

Which of the four possible types of activation methods does a ring of spell storing use?

-Spell Completion
-Spell Trigger
-Command Word
-Use Activated

Reason for confusion:
From the PRD section on using magical rings:
Activation: A ring's ability is usually activated by a spoken command word (a standard action that does not provoke attacks of opportunity) or its effects work continually. Some rings have unusual activations, as mentioned in the ring's specific description.

The ring of spell storing description is as follows:
A minor ring of spell storing contains up to three levels of spells (either divine or arcane, or even a mix of both spell types) that the wearer can cast. Each spell has a caster level equal to the minimum level needed to cast that spell. The user need not provide any material components or focus to cast the spell, and there is no arcane spell failure chance for wearing armor (because the ring wearer need not gesture). The activation time for the ring is the same as the casting time for the relevant spell, with a minimum of 1 standard action.

My reason for asking the question is that the description reads as if the wearer is the one casting the spell, something more in line with spell trigger (as quoted in the first post) than command word. However it does not specifically say "spell trigger."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / What kind of activation method does a Ring of Spell Storing use? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions