Order of Operations (Energy Resistance and Vulnerability) and Half-Fiend Yetis


Rules Questions

The Exchange

1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Possible Maiden, Mother, Crone spoilers but also my question:
Hi! I need some help with the most recent Pathfinder, Maiden, Mother, Crone. In the Kostchtchie there is a specific mention of Fiendish Ice Elementals and Half-Fiend Yeti's as summonable by his priests. There are several questions concerning this.

1st) Does the Fiendish Ice Elemental keep their Fire Vulnerability or do they not keep the Fire resistance

2nd) If for some reason they have both, which is the correct order of operations?

a) Saving Throw -> Fire Resistance -> Fire Vulnerability

b) Fire Resistance -> Saving Throw -> Fire Vulnerability

Or

c) Saving Throw -> Fire Vulnerability -> Fire Resistance

I highly expect that (Saving Throw -> Fire Resistance -> Fire Vulnerability) is the correct order but I can't find where that specifically is spelled out.

3) Now as to the Yeti question, that's a bit more complicated! See the Half-Fiend template specifically says that it changes the creature's type to Outsider (Native). The Yeti's type goes from Monstrous Humanoid (Cold) to Outsider (Native). Would the Yeti lose its cold immunity and fire vulnerability as those are specifically granted by the Cold subtype or does he keep the Cold subtype for some reason?

Thank you all!


Hi Xevious! As a courtesy, could you edit your original post to put in some spoiler tags? It's possible other people are running through that same module and these details might give something away for them.

To do this, just enclose the plot-specific details - basically the second, third, and fourth sentences, and item 3, tags with the word spoiler? Remove the spaces:

[ spoiler ][ /spoiler ]

The Exchange

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

I have placed the entire thing in spoilers... but for the record, nothing in my question is even used during the course of the adventure and has NO relevance to the plot. At All.


xevious573 wrote:
I have placed the entire thing in spoilers... but for the record, nothing in my question is even used during the course of the adventure and has NO relevance to the plot. At All.

Sorry, I assumed based on the description of the post that these included details - creature types, etc. - on the encounters in the path. If that isn't the case then I apologize.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yeah, I understand. No, the things in my question do not make a appearance in the course of the actual adventure unless a GM specifically puts them in there. They are only relevant to a support article. I apologize if I come off a bit rude.


No harm done. :)

This is a tricky one. I found a 3.5 reference that might still apply, unless Paizo released something to clarify specifically for Pathfinder:

3.5 FAQ wrote:

From the 3.5 FAQ:

"If a monster has resistance and vulnerability to the same kind of damage (such as fire), which effect is applied first? [...]

If the creature has both resistance and vulnerability to the same kind of damage, apply the resistance (which reduces the damage dealt by the effect) before applying the vulnerability (which increases the damage taken by the creature). For example, imagine our frost giant wore a ring of minor fire resistance (granting resistance to fire 10). If the save failed, the frost giant would take 37 points of fire damage: 35 (fireball) – 10 (resistance to fire 10) = 25, plus one-half of 25 (12.5,
rounded down to 12). If the save succeeded, the frost giant would take only 10 points of damage: 17 (half damage from the fireball, rounded down) – 10 (resistance to fire 10) = 7, plus one-half of 7 (3.5, rounded down to 3). As a general guideline, whenever the rules don’t stipulate
an order of operations for special effects (such as spells or
special abilities), you should apply them in the order that’s
most beneficial to the creature. In the case of damage, this typically means applying any damage-reducing effects first, before applying any effects that would increase damage."

So in this case, you would roll damage, reduce that by the creature's resistance, then finally deal the remaining damage plus 50%.


Xaratherus pointed out your best source for questions 1 & 2 (Both, and A.)

For your 3rd question, the type would be Outsider (Cold,Native). The template does not say you lose subtypes.

The Exchange

Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That 3.5 FAQ is very handy for atleast giving us precedent but I am still uncertain about your answer Majuba. There doesn't seem to be enough information for me to be able to come to that conclusion. It may not say the creature doesn't lose any subtypes but it's very direct on what the creatures new type and subtype is.


But you can have multiple subtypes. It says you change the type to Outsider, oh yeah, and (native), since it's not really extraplanar probably. No reason to strip off the old ones.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Order of Operations (Energy Resistance and Vulnerability) and Half-Fiend Yetis All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions