Do alchemist bombs critical?


Rules Questions

Acquisitives

as the question says, the critical hit came up in the game and the dm said because it was a splash weapon it does not receive an chance for a critical hit at all so no multiplying the 1d6+int bonus by the usual x2 damage. can we have clarification on critical hits and alchemist bombs.

Dark Archive

On a direct hit, an alchemist’s bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier. The damage of an alchemist’s bomb increases by 1d6 points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike).

So the answer would appear to be yes, the first 1d6+int would crit, but any other damage from it does not.

And bombs are not splash weapons, they just use the splash weapon rules.
Bombs are considered weapons and can be selected using feats such as Point-Blank Shot and Weapon Focus.


it can critical, it even says it in the description. However it doesn't critical very well, the extra d6 added at 3rd 5th etc etc is not multiplied, so if you where a 5th level alchy with 18 int you bomb would normally do (1d6+4)+2d6 and a critical would look like (1d6+4)X2 +2d6

Acquisitives

Can any Pathfinder society judges confirm this? Wanting to make sure before showing the gm.

That and the gm plays an alchemist in a game I am not part of and was told this.

Dark Archive

Kalebon wrote:

Can any Pathfinder society judges confirm this? Wanting to make sure before showing the gm.

That and the gm plays an alchemist in a game I am not part of and was told this.

Maybe ask in the PFS section of the forums.

But by the wording it is pretty clear that the bombs are capable of criticals.

Acquisitives

cool, got a response. will show him when the game is done.

the Pathfinder Society response.

http://paizo.com/forums/dmtz6iqs?do-Alchemist-bombs-Critical

Sovereign Court

thrown splash weapons.

A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. If the target is Large or larger, you choose one of its squares and the splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as the damage from the rogue's sneak attack class feature).

Sneak attack damage cannot crit. which means bombs cannot deal crit dmg, even a direct hit

it doesnt matter if its a roll to hit or even a direct hit attack the fact is Paizo and pathfinder consider the alchemists bomb a genade like SPLASH weapon.

Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack.

so they cannot crit and count as precision damage.

The damage of an alchemist’s bomb increases by 1d6 points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit... I repeat: (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit...

Sovereign Court

the alchemist does not get str bonus to damage with bombs either its explicitly with his int bonus.

even in this situation

As a standard action, the alchemist can infuse a single arrow, crossbow bolt, or one-handed firearm bullet with the power of his bomb, load the ammunition, and shoot the ranged weapon. He must be proficient with the weapon in order to accomplish this. When the infused ammunition hits its target, it deals damage normally and detonates as if the alchemist had thrown the bomb at the target. If the explosive missile misses, it does not detonate.

in this situation the ammunition may crit, the bomb may not.

Dark Archive

Evan Riggs wrote:

thrown splash weapons.

A hit deals direct hit damage to the target, and splash damage to all creatures within 5 feet of the target. If the target is Large or larger, you choose one of its squares and the splash damage affects creatures within 5 feet of that square. Splash weapons cannot deal precision-based damage (such as the damage from the rogue's sneak attack class feature).

Sneak attack damage cannot crit. which means bombs cannot deal crit dmg, even a direct hit

it doesnt matter if its a roll to hit or even a direct hit attack the fact is Paizo and pathfinder consider the alchemists bomb a genade like SPLASH weapon.

Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack.

so they cannot crit and count as precision damage.

The damage of an alchemist’s bomb increases by 1d6 points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit... I repeat: (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit...

Lucky for those Alchemist players out there you are wrong.

Bomb (Su)

In addition to magical extracts, alchemists are adept at swiftly mixing various volatile chemicals and infusing them with their magical reserves to create powerful bombs that they can hurl at their enemies. An alchemist can use a number of bombs each day equal to his class level + his Intelligence modifier. Bombs are unstable, and if not used in the round they are created, they degrade and become inert—their method of creation prevents large volumes of explosive material from being created and stored. In order to create a bomb, the alchemist must use a small vial containing an ounce of liquid catalyst—the alchemist can create this liquid catalyst from small amounts of chemicals from an alchemy lab, and these supplies can be readily refilled in the same manner as a spellcaster’s component pouch. Most alchemists create a number of catalyst vials at the start of the day equal to the total number of bombs they can create in that day—once created, a catalyst vial remains usable by the alchemist for years.

Drawing the components of, creating, and throwing a bomb requires a standard action that provokes an attack of opportunity. Thrown bombs have a range of 20 feet and use the Throw Splash Weapon special attack.Bombs are considered weapons and can be selected using feats such as Point-Blank Shot and Weapon Focus. On a direct hit, an alchemist’s bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier. The damage of an alchemist’s bomb increases by 1d6 points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike). Splash damage from an alchemist bomb is always equal to the bomb’s minimum damage (so if the bomb would deal 2d6+4 points of fire damage on a direct hit, its splash damage would be 6 points of fire damage). Those caught in the splash damage can attempt a Reflex save for half damage. The DC of this save is equal to 10 + 1/2 the alchemist’s level + the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier.

Alchemists can learn new types of bombs as discoveries (see the Discovery ability) as they level up. An alchemist’s bomb, like an extract, becomes inert if used or carried by anyone else.

The text says they use the splash damage special attack, it does not say they are treated as splash damage, actually it explicitly says they count as weapons.

On a direct hit, an alchemist’s bomb inflicts 1d6 points of fire damage + additional damage equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier. The damage of an alchemist’s bomb increases by 1d6 points at every odd-numbered alchemist level (this bonus damage is not multiplied on a critical hit or by using feats such as Vital Strike). So the BONUS damage which increases every odd level is not applied on a crit, clearly meaning that the original/base 1d6 plus INT damage does.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Do alchemist bombs critical? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions