
![]() ![]() |

Am I correct in my reading of Adventure's Armory that the Urumi and Bladed Scarf are no longer reach weapons?
Eric W. Brittain
You are correct in the fact that it does not state it. Whether or not that is an error is a discussion for the ruleforum, not the society forum, as it is not society specific.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. 1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Raise thread, since I can't find anything definitive on this in the FAQ or PFS boards, and just had one of my players ask me about the Bladed Scarf:
Rise of the Runelords Player Guide (which she owns) says they are:
12gp, 2lbs, 1d4 (small), 1d6 (medium), 19-20 x2 crit, slashing, reach, trip, can be used against an adjacent foes too (and deals 1d4 slashing to any creature grappling you) 2-handed exotic weapons.
Archives of Nethys (citing ISWG and Varisia Player Companion) says they are:
12gp, 2lbs, 1d4 (small), 1d6 (medium), x2 crit, slashing, disarm, trip 2-handed exotic weapons.
Since pages 10-11 of RotR Player's Guide is still a legal additional resource, does that make both versions of the weapon PFS legal?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

Barring clarification, I believe that both versions are still legal.
"Yeah, I picked this scarf up from a couple of Scarnettis at the Swallowtail Festival last year in Sandpoint. It is a bit longer than most Varisian bladed scarves, and the razor blades are quite a lot sharper, but it isn't as good at disarming people."

![]() ![]() ![]() |

The Rise of the Runelords Players Guide was utiliizing 3.5 rules, when a bladed scarf was a reach weapon. In Pathfinder it became a non-reach weapon. I had the exact same problem bite my first character.
As far as I know, the only way to legally use a Bladed Scarf with reach is to be a Kapenia Dancer Magus.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Both are a legal source, yes, but ISWG has the updated version you should refer to.
Yes, this can be confusing, but they do update these weapons once in a while. Not to mention, reach+adjacent is way too powerful.
The issue is that the player owns the RotR book, but none of the others, meaning that for her, it's the only one she can legally use .

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I understand the issue, but I don't think it is really an issue. She has a legal source for the weapon in question. Just as long as that weapon's most recent stats are used, it's all fine.
This gets brought up now and then, and I'd like to know.
Is there actually a written rule somewhere that says that you use the most recent version? Or is this "common sense" that's imported because it's normal in a lot of other games?
Thing is, you're supposed to bring a text as both 1) proof of ownership, and 2) as rules source. Now suppose your text is older but still legal according to Additional Resources. But you don't own the newer version. How are you supposed to do that then? You can't be asked to bring a text you don't own, and according to AR the old source is sufficient.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
3 people marked this as a favorite. |

You go with the source you have.
There is no rule I've seen that states you use the most recent printing.
If that was the case, characters purchasing Mithral Shields would constantly have to pay an extra 500gp, and then get refunded 500gp, every time the Core Rulebook and Ultimate Equipment got reprinted.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Another example would be the Klar, which has 2 different versions in 3 different sourcebooks.
The most recent (Ultimate Equipment) lists it as a Shield with Armor Spikes, which has caused so many arguments it's not funny.
I printed out a page from Varisia, Birthplace of Legends, where it describes the Klar as a Spiked Shield, and use that instead.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

Personally, while I probably know the player that caused the Mike to raise the thread I haven't seen the character. My 2c.
Assumptions:
Players need to own the source material.
That source material either needs to have the item in question called legal or not deemed illegal by the AR.
In this case she meets both criteria, she can use the scarf.
As for the reach part. I'd say it becomes a logic problem. We run into two conflicting pieces of information.
1. Be able to provide the source material (so that the GM can read it in case of questions) - Explicit Rule
2. Use the newest stats. - Implicit
Since, source material is an explicit rule that we are asked to enforce I'm not sure how I can tell someone to go ahead and use a legal weapon but with different stats they don't have (purchased) access to. I understand in this case it is a mechanically better option, but as it is still a legal option it should stand as a legal option as is. If that player comes to a table she can show the source material (with relevant AR page) not have to show the source material and say something like "Oh I got it from here, but you'll need to pull out the ISWG or Nethys to actually see the stats I use."

Exultation |
I've run into this same issue myself (well, with the urumi rather than the scarf, but the effect is the same). There are a few cases where more than one version of something exist in the rules. The Dueling weapon property is a rather well-known instance. When it's intended for one version to completely replace another, this has been made explicit in Additional Resources. Take, for example, the Living Monolith prestige class. So, if the AR says it's legal to play, then it's legal to play.
You may end up running into trouble, however, with GMs who state that only the most recent version is allowed, although you won't see an actual source on that. The "most recent version only" rule does not exist. It never has existed. But many GMs will enforce it anyway, and there's not much you can do about it.
End result: it's legal, but expect table variation. If all the local GMs are against it, you may have to bow to custom over law.