Arcane Sorcerer with Arcane Bond (weapon)


Pathfinder Society

Grand Lodge

So, I am a new player to PFS (though not to gaming). I am playing a Sorcerer with the Arcane Bloodline, in the Core campaign. For her Arcane Bond, I choose a Weapon, which duplicates the class feature of the same name for Wizards.

"A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Feats)."

Now, if I am reading the Guide to PFS Organized Play correctly, item creation feats are not allowed. But since I do not need the feat, can I still empower the weapon with spells, as though I did have the feat (assuming all the other requirements are fulfilled, like level and money spent et al).
For example, when I reach the appropriate level and learn Fireball, can I add "Flaming" to my bonded weapon? With the understanding that the weapon will only be flaming when I use it, of course.

4/5

Yes. Arcane bonded items are the exception to the "no crafting feats" because the bonded item will only function for the person that originally created it. Furthermore, these items are even further restricted in that a magic user with an arcane bonded item must have that item in their possession in order to avoid having to make concentration checks for every spell they cast. Failure to make the concentration check means losing the spellcasting.

Grand Lodge 4/5

Short answer: Totally.
Long answer: Read this PFS Specific FAQ.

4/5

Jeff Merola wrote:

Short answer: Totally.

Long answer: Read this PFS Specific FAQ.

That's what I call teamwork.

Grand Lodge

Tsriel wrote:

Yes. Arcane bonded items are the exception to the "no crafting feats" because the bonded item will only function for the person that originally created it. Furthermore, these items are even further restricted in that a magic user with an arcane bonded item must have that item in their possession in order to avoid having to make concentration checks for every spell they cast. Failure to make the concentration check means losing the spellcasting.

Thank you!

Grand Lodge

Jeff Merola wrote:

Short answer: Totally.

Long answer: Read this PFS Specific FAQ.

Thank you!

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Arcane Sorcerer with Arcane Bond (weapon) All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.