| Nuds |
We are still running the play-test and last night we hit the orbital bombardment at the end of the first section. The Technomancer of the party cast the spell Containment to shield themself.
Containment seems very vague, RAI it makes an immobile bubble around one creature.
"You wrap a creature in an immobile force field, whether to protect it or those around it. The field blocks attacks, effects, and creatures that would pass through it, including the target. The field has Hardness 10, 40 Hit Points, and immunity to critical hits and precision damage. If the target of containment is unwilling, the effects depend on the target's Reflex save.
Critical Success The target escapes from the field as it's forming, causing it to collapse.
Success The field partially forms with 10 Hit Points instead of 40.
Failure The field has its normal effect."
However there are no conditions or stipulations on it preventing move actions or reflex saves, my player interpreted that since it says "immobile force field" they could not move including doing the reflex save and said they willing choose to fail the save. I explained to them that if they choose to not roll the reflex save from the bombardment they would default to a the critical fail result. They frustratingly agreed with the ruling but then got blinded by the critical fail and their Containment spell broke from the damage.
I am not sure if I handled everything as fairly as I could. Since the bombardment hazard is an environmental effect it is not strictly targeting or attacking so I am not sure it should default to critical fail. I also struggled with the spell, it does not actually tell you what limits the force field places on the target in mechanical terms. Please let me know your thoughts.
| Madhippy3 |
I would say the barrier acts like a wall for the purpose of Line of Effect and only the Field is effected, and not the character within. Whether to assume failure or crit failure is harder to answer. Its probably GM dependent as I don't see rules on this. Crit Fail seems the most logical (it literally didn't move), but a simple failure is a nice gesture to the player. As long as it only counts as one attack the shield breaking should be the only outcome with the PC being unaffected. Though becoming Blinded is an interesting effect you might still allow. The damage was blocked but not the light.