Zexcir
|
So it came up tonight that the summoner's Eidolon was the target of confusion. On a 76%-100% The confused creature attacks the nearest foe. The question came up:
Can an Eidolon attack it's summoner if it's confused, and vice-versa - can a summoner attack its Eidolon if they are confused??
We went ahead and just said since they were bonded that the Eidolon would attack the next closest(since the summoner sits upon the Eidolon)
What would be the ruling on this?
Thank you
| Rikkan |
Well RAW, the nearest creature is the Eidolon itself.
But I houserule that (so it can't attack itself), because the RAW is stupid.
And the confused text states:"Attack nearest creature (for this purpose, a familiar counts as part of the subject's self)."
So I think my houserule is RAI too.
I also find it stupid that all familiars are treated as part of the confused creature too, so I houserule that to: "your own familiar is counted as part of yourself"
Snorter
|
It has to be pointed out there is an error in the original post.
The result is not "76%-100% The confused creature attacks the nearest foe.".
The actual text is "Attack nearest creature (for this purpose, a familiar counts as part of the subject's self).", so it can go after an ally, if they are unlucky enough to be closest.
But does that potentially targetted ally include the Summoner, himself? Hmmm.
The Summoner and eidolon aren't specifically called out as being considered one creature, as familiars are, but that's a result of the spell being written before the Summoner class existed, so it could be a GM call what the APG designer's intent was.
What would you rule, if it were a druid's animal companion? Would that gnaw on the druid, or not?
Because if you say no, then you probably ought to rule that the eidolon doesn't attack it's Summoner, either. Because their bond is stronger.
If you you rule yes, the Animal Companion would gnaw its own druid, then the eidolon situation is still up in the air, as the AC is a low-Int animal, and isn't linked as closely as Summoner and Eidolon, which is a higher-Int creature, whose Int can be boosted, and has the power of sentience, shared senses, and a pool of shared hit points.
It could get very wierd, if a mid-level Summoner is attacked by his own eidolon, and siphons all the damage back at it.
For extra fun, throw in an allied caster who's cast shield other on one of the pair, and see everyone come up with a different figure.
Snorter
|
And of course, we haven't touched the Synthesist, yet!
I'd rule that the Synthesist eidolon cannot attack its own caster, even if it wanted.
What about the Broodmaster Summoner? I'd rule that the individual eidolons could potentially attack each other, since their life bond is with their Summoner, not with each other.
OilHorse
|
While I don't see the ability of a Synthesist Summoner getting targeted by its own Eidolon as a result of a Confusion spell, I do see that most normal Summoners would be able to get targeted.
This leads me to asking, since I am in the process of making a gestalt Synthesist/Cleric for a campaign and am wondering about the Channel Energy ability affecting both the Eidolon and Synthesist while they are merged.
Any thoughts?
Apologies on thread hijacking...
| Rikkan |
This leads me to asking, since I am in the process of making a gestalt Synthesist/Cleric for a campaign and am wondering about the Channel Energy ability affecting both the Eidolon and Synthesist while they are merged.
Any thoughts?
Apologies on thread hijacking...
Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature.
So if you channel positive energy towards them, they count as one target and are thus affected only once.
OilHorse
|
OilHorse wrote:This leads me to asking, since I am in the process of making a gestalt Synthesist/Cleric for a campaign and am wondering about the Channel Energy ability affecting both the Eidolon and Synthesist while they are merged.
Any thoughts?
Apologies on thread hijacking...
Synthesist wrote:Neither the synthesist nor his eidolon can be targeted separately, as they are fused into one creature.So if you channel positive energy towards them, they count as one target and are thus affected only once.
As I do more reading I follow the "fused into one creature" part, but as temp HP does the Eidolon regain HP through CxW spells and Channel Energy?
OilHorse
|
Oh, come now, if you really want to hijack a thread, you can do much better than that.
How about targetting a Synthesist and his Eidolon with Channel Energy, when one of them has Negative Energy Affinity, and the other hasn't?
Let's make the staff really work!
Maybe, but I didn't need to, you did it for me.
Thx for getting my back on this one.
| Rikkan |
As I do more reading I follow the "fused into one creature" part, but as temp HP does the Eidolon regain HP through CxW spells and Channel Energy?
Nope.
The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points.
CxW & CE don't restore thp (temporary hitpoints). So they don't work. They do restore 'normal' hit point damage the summoner might have taken, for example by using fused link.
The eidolon’s temporary hit points can be restored with the rejuvenate eidolon spell.
So the rejuvenate spell does work though.
OilHorse
|
OilHorse wrote:As I do more reading I follow the "fused into one creature" part, but as temp HP does the Eidolon regain HP through CxW spells and Channel Energy?Nope.
Quote:The synthesist gains the eidolon’s hit points as temporary hit points.CxW & CE don't restore thp (temporary hitpoints). So they don't work. They do restore 'normal' hit point damage the summoner might have taken, for example by using fused link.
Quote:The eidolon’s temporary hit points can be restored with the rejuvenate eidolon spell.So the rejuvenate spell does work though.
So it really isn't a case of them being a single entity, but that Eidolons are not affected by CxW and Channel Energy.
Just to confirm...there is no limit to the amount of HP damage you negate to the Eidolon via Fused link.
| Rikkan |
So it really isn't a case of them being a single entity, but that Eidolons are not affected by CxW and Channel Energy.
Just to confirm...there is no limit to the amount of HP damage you negate to the Eidolon via Fused link.
Both actually.
Channel Negative energy for example would only do damage once to the fused target.And yes there is no limit. Well 'till your summoner runs out of hit points, I guess.