Bard 1st level muse spells - are they in addition to the spells gained through spell repertoire?


Rules Discussion


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

This may have been asked previously, but I can’t find a thread.

At 1st level a bard chooses a muse and gains a first level spell for their repertoire as a result of their muse choice. Under the spell repertoire section of the rules, it states that a 1st level bard gets two 1st level spells. I can’t see any reference to whether the muse spell is in addition to the two under spell repertoire. It would seem logical, otherwise the spell choice at 1st level is insanely limited. But I wondered if anyone could guide me to the correct approach

Thanks

Tim


Yes, it's in addition to the spells you pick to be in your repertoire. The key is in the wording of the muses themselves. It states that you "add" the spell to your repertoire. It doesn't replace it. Note, however, that you still only have 2 1st level spell slots at level 1, you'll just have 3 options of spells to cast with those 2 slots as a repertoire and spell slots are separate from each other.


Pathfinder Lost Omens Subscriber

Many thanks, that makes good sense to me

Tim


Aw3som3-117 wrote:
Yes, it's in addition to the spells you pick to be in your repertoire. The key is in the wording of the muses themselves. It states that you "add" the spell to your repertoire. It doesn't replace it. Note, however, that you still only have 2 1st level spell slots at level 1, you'll just have 3 options of spells to cast with those 2 slots as a repertoire and spell slots are separate from each other.

Seconded.

Sorcerer has the exact same wording. "Granted Spells: You automatically add the spells listed here to your spell repertoire".

Oracle has similar wording for adding a cantrip. "Granted Cantrip: You automatically add this cantrip to your spell repertoire, in addition to those you gain through divine spellcasting." With the added clarification that this is in addition to the number of freely chosen cantrips gained from level. Oracle is still limited to only having two spells in repertoire at 1st level.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
breithauptclan wrote:
Aw3som3-117 wrote:
Yes, it's in addition to the spells you pick to be in your repertoire. The key is in the wording of the muses themselves. It states that you "add" the spell to your repertoire. It doesn't replace it. Note, however, that you still only have 2 1st level spell slots at level 1, you'll just have 3 options of spells to cast with those 2 slots as a repertoire and spell slots are separate from each other.

Seconded.

Sorcerer has the exact same wording. "Granted Spells: You automatically add the spells listed here to your spell repertoire".

Oracle has similar wording for adding a cantrip. "Granted Cantrip: You automatically add this cantrip to your spell repertoire, in addition to those you gain through divine spellcasting." With the added clarification that this is in addition to the number of freely chosen cantrips gained from level. Oracle is still limited to only having two spells in repertoire at 1st level.

I believe that Sorcerer's bloodline spells are explicitly not in addition to their normal spell repertoire.

Sorcerer's Spell Repertoire wrote:
At 1st level, you learn two 1st-level spells of your choice and four cantrips of your choice, as well as an additional spell and cantrip from your bloodline. You add to this spell repertoire as you increase in level. Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–17), you add a spell of the same level to your spell repertoire. When you gain access to a new level of spells, your first new spell is always the spell granted by your bloodline, but you can choose the other spells

Bard doesn't have this text and explicitly gets to pick both of its 1st level spells. If the muse spells contradicted the stated text in the spell repertoire class feature, I think it would specify in either the Muse or spell repertoire feature.


Xethik wrote:

I believe that Sorcerer's bloodline spells are explicitly not in addition to their normal spell repertoire.

Sorcerer's Spell Repertoire wrote:
At 1st level, you learn two 1st-level spells of your choice and four cantrips of your choice, as well as an additional spell and cantrip from your bloodline. You add to this spell repertoire as you increase in level. Each time you get a spell slot (see Table 3–17), you add a spell of the same level to your spell repertoire. When you gain access to a new level of spells, your first new spell is always the spell granted by your bloodline, but you can choose the other spells

Yeah, that sounds right. Sorcerer at level 1 would get two spells of choice in repertoire and the bloodline spell added to repertoire. Making a total of three spells in repertoire - which matches the number on the class's table.

Sorcerer's Repertoire entry is a bit odd in this regard because it lists a different number of spells you get to choose than is listed in the table of spell slots. Bard doesn't have that mismatch. Oracle doesn't have that mismatch either.

Xethik wrote:
Bard doesn't have this text and explicitly gets to pick both of its 1st level spells. If the muse spells contradicted the stated text in the spell repertoire class feature, I think it would specify in either the Muse or spell repertoire feature.

It does. Muse feature says that it adds a specific spell to repertoire. Which the Repertoire (for both Bard and Sorcerer actually) mentions is a possibility.

Repertoire wrote:
Though you gain them at the same rate, your spell slots and the spells in your spell repertoire are separate. If a feat or other ability adds a spell to your spell repertoire, it wouldn't give you another spell slot, and vice versa.

So the Bard at 1st level would have the two spells of choice in repertoire and the spell added by Muse. Which is a total of three - different than what is listed in the table, but that is accounted for by the Muse adding a spell to repertoire.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Bard 1st level muse spells - are they in addition to the spells gained through spell repertoire? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.