
Zeragamba |
One of my fellow players is a self-described "grammer nazi" and points out that the word "Gain" in the acquire definition is not defined. They are also looking for a ruling for the Core Set, not previous editions.
Because Draw is a card from (effectively) any location to your hand, that has overlap with acquire. So, when playing as Ranzak, who has the power "When you acquire a boon on your turn, roll 1d6; on a (☐3,) 4, 5, or 6, explore your location", does drawing a card from the vault trigger his ability?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

As someone who plays Ranzak a *lot*
No, you are drawing the card, not acquiring it. You acquire a card when you make a check to acquire it.
So if it says "Summon and Encounter" then you encounter a boon and succeed at the check to acquire (or do whatever else the card says to acquire) that would count.
But just drawing would not.
Trust me, Ranzak really, really, really doesn't need any more explores.