Starship Combat - Engineer Actions - Overpower, to the same system all 3 times?


Rules Questions


In regards to Ship Combat. For the Overpower action, can you apply that to the same system multiple times? Like use it to send extra power to the engines 3 times so they'd get a +6 to there speed? Or do they have to be separate systems?

It doesn't say you can't. But I wasn't sure if this falls under the restriction of Bonuses/Penalties. Even though the bonus provided by the Divert action (Since Overpower is more or less the divert action done 3 times) is untyped.


Nope.

Engineer Actions
Source Starfinder Core Rulebook pg. 323

As an engineer, you can take any of the following actions, depending on your ranks in the Engineering skill. These actions can be taken only during the engineering phase. Unless otherwise noted, each action can be performed only once per round, no matter how many engineers are on a starship.

It has to say you can or you can't. Divert is diverting, whether you divert to weapons or divert to shields or divert to engines.

Sorry, you can't all just keep adding more plugs to the same outlet. Thats not safe even by starfinder standards :)

The Exchange

Santobon wrote:

In regards to Ship Combat. For the Overpower action, can you apply that to the same system multiple times? Like use it to send extra power to the engines 3 times so they'd get a +6 to there speed? Or do they have to be separate systems?

It doesn't say you can't. But I wasn't sure if this falls under the restriction of Bonuses/Penalties. Even though the bonus provided by the Divert action (Since Overpower is more or less the divert action done 3 times) is untyped.

Overpower wrote:
If you have at least 6 ranks in Engineering, you can spend 1 Resolve Point and attempt an Engineering check (DC = 15 + 1-1/2 × your starship’s tier) to squeeze more out of your ship’s systems. If you’re successful, this functions as the divert action, but you can send extra power to any three systems listed in that action. This action and the divert action can’t be taken in the same round.

"Any three systems." That's three distinct systems.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / Starship Combat - Engineer Actions - Overpower, to the same system all 3 times? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions