COM - Archetypes - Medic - question on this archetype with Mystic Cure


Rules Questions


My questions are simple and yet I can rationalize both yes and no for them so I need a ruling question. For a reference I am going to set this up for a SFS character so answers would need to apply to that purpose..

Under the second level ability "Doctor" it has the following:

"• Whenever you use equipment or one of your abilities to restore Hit Points to a creature, any surplus healing beyond that required to restore the creature to its maximum Hit Points restores that many Stamina Points to the creature."

Would Mystic Cure work with this, would it qualify as an ability?

Would Mystic Cure from a spell chip, spell gem, or spell ampule since these are considered "equipment".

Would this work with Healing touch and Healing Channel?

I would think it would work for the last one since they are abilities. While the spell items are equipment, they do "cast" as spell, I would think they would. Finally I am not too sure about the raw spells. I know in, keep the pitchforks away just using this for clarification, 5e distinctly differentiates abilities and spells and they are two different things and effect that reference one do not reference the other. While I have not seen anything that distinguishes Class Features from spells for things like this, does this fall under that line?


They all work.


It works with all of them.

Please note that as per a board clarification, someone needs to be missing HP before any of them work to restore staminia. (once they're missing a point of staminia, you can restore all of it with a big heal or healing touch)

You also can't use your HP to heal their staminia off of a mystic cure 1 (thanks to the wording of mystic cure 1)


Thank you Xenocrat and BigNorseWolf.


Hopefully this thread isn't so dead to the point of necroposting, but I was hoping for some input along a similar line of thought.

The wording of Doctor only says that it restores as much over HP healing to SP, though it doesn't say that it does that instead. The reason I bring that up is because: Am I able to apply the over healing to my target's SP as well as my own HP?

(Per Mystic Cure's wording.)

CRB p367 wrote:

Mystic Cure

If the target regains all of its Hit Points as a result of this healing, you can apply the remaining healing to yourself, as long as your are living creature.

I figure I just choose which of the two to apply the healing to, but it doesn't hurt to get clarification if I'm wrong. This is probably very semantic.


As a general rule, you don't HAVE to use an ability you have if you don't want to. So if you want to I can't see any reason to stop at someones HP limit, NOT use your medic ability, and fix your own spleen.

I could see on a raw standpoint not letting someone split the staminia healing over flow with your hit point recovery, but not taking away the choice.

Community / Forums / Starfinder / Rules Questions / COM - Archetypes - Medic - question on this archetype with Mystic Cure All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions