Evokers and scrolls: No love?


Rules Questions


The short version: Does an evoker lose his/her "Intense Spells" bonus no matter what when using a scroll?

The long version: Scroll scribers can add metamagic feats to scrolls, and readers can cast those spells with those feats even if they don't know the feat. Awesome.
According to this thread, there's a FAQ somewhere (the link no longer works) that says that no other "feats or abilities that modify spells" apply when you're using a scroll.

So imagine the poor evoker: He scribes a scroll, but his "intense spell" doesn't apply to the written spell. Otherwise, every magic shop selling damage scrolls would be carrying nothing but evoker scrolls. So it makes sense from a game perspective that it doesn't get included in the scribing.
But then when he triggers the scroll, it's not "casting a spell" so his evocation bonus yet again doesn't apply.

It doesn't seem like *that* big a deal, but it does seem like the evoker's getting "cheated" out of a class feature by using a scroll. And I'm sure people will come up with far more significant examples of the "double whammy" where neither scribing nor invoking allow a bonus that's been bought and paid for by the PC.

Anyone else notice this? Anyone else done anything other than accepting it as RAW and telling evokers to find a better school?

The Exchange

I don't know if we can help you. PCs usually only create scrolls - and, to a lesser degree, wands - with utility and defensive spells because of these sorts of limitations.

If you're a GM you can try house-ruling that characters can use their own DCs and caster levels with scrolls - I can't tell you for sure whether any unforseen difficulties will develop - but in the rules-as-written category I don't think any 'extra features' like Augment Summoning, etc. can be built into scrolls.


That's all I'm looking for. I'm actually a player in this campaign (believe it or not, I do occasionally get to play... once game every 2 months or so...). Just trying to be 100% clear on RAW so we don't try to argue anything silly. No house rules required.

It's more of an, "I think the rules say this. Am I right?" question.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Evokers and scrolls: No love? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions