spell storing rings and weapons


GM Discussion

The Exchange 4/5

the ring says minimum caster level where the weapon does not. how do most GMs rule on this? I have read threads and differant opinions there are. also dont agree with adding metamagic.

4/5 **

I always read it as spell level, not caster level, and I don't see any reason why you can't use MM feats (though I only have experience with spell-storing weapons and armor). As long as the spell level isn't higher than 3 (adjusting for MM feats, of course), you should be fine.

That said, if you're using rods for the MM feats, you should still consider the total level of the spell with the feats included. So, if you enhance a 3rd-level spell with a MM rod, it shouldn't fit into the weapon or armor.

(Also, I assume you're talking about 1e?)

Community / Forums / Organized Play / GM Discussion / spell storing rings and weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in GM Discussion