| Joey Cote |
There is something I don't understand in regards to druid's using wildshape to polymorph themselves. In all the self polymorph spells I have looked at they all say "If you prepare this spell, choose from the options below." But druids with Wild Shape can use one of their Wild Shape pool to cast any of the polymorph effects they picked up as a class feat as a spontaneous effect, with the free heightening.
Which means, as far as I can see, the druid doesn't actually get any actual attacks since there is no base damage for any of these forms without a picked option. I guess we could default to unarmed damage of 1d4, but that seems more then a bit silly for dinosaur and dragon form. Plus, those forms also seem to give base movement for things like aerial form.
I am I missing something? I am not seeing anything on druids in the errata.
| Joey Cote |
I'm pretty sure the phrasing "IF you prepare" directly implies that the restriction only applies to prepared casters. Sorcerers, druids casting spontaneously via wild shaping feats, etc aren't preparing, so just get to choose at the moment of casting.
An interesting point! But I agree with David knott the language should be cleaned up a bit for spontaneous casters.