
Throught |
Okay. I realize variations of this question may have been asked before. But every search of the forums has turned up as inconclusive on every turn.
We are playing through Wrath of the Righteous. A player is using the character Grazzle, the Oracle. He’s using the mythic path Mythic Marshall. He wants to use the spell “Frigid Blast” on a combat check. So, here’s the problem I have. The Spell says “For your combat check you may use your Divine skill....” In the rulebook while reading “Attempting a check”, you first have to determine which skill you are using. For the spell Frigid blast, it says you are using your Divine skill, but according to the rulebook “if your character has the skill Melee: strength +2, and you use your melee skill, both the Melee AND Strength traits are added to the check”. I understand traits and what references them and when/how they apply.
But what we really want to know, is because the check has the Charisma trait, does it count as a Charisma check, and therefor gain the bonus from the Mythic Marshal per mythic charge on the card? Is a Divine check ALSO a charisma check, if your Divine skill falls under Charisma? I realize the Skill is Divine. I realize the Divine calls for the charisma die to be used, THIS is what makes me believe it is a charisma check, using the Divine skill.
Thanks for your patience. I’m sorry if this is too wordy or convoluted.

Irgy |

Yes, it's a Charisma check and you get the bonus. Charisma is added as a trait to the check because the skill you are using is based on Charisma. If a check has the X trait, then that always means the check is considered an "X check" for the purpose of anything that asks (the converse may not always be true however).
This particular case is quite settled I think. The cases that cause controversy are more complicated issues. But I can certainly see why any thread you find would be chock full of people arguing about the more thorny questions.

elcoderdude |

+1.
Some cards and powers affect only specific types of checks, such as Dexterity checks, Acrobatics checks, or non-combat checks. If, on your character card, the skill you’re using refers to another skill, both skills count for the purpose of determining the type of check. For example, if you’re using the Arcane skill on a combat check, and your character card says that your Arcane skill is Intelligence +2, the check counts as both a combat Arcane check and a combat Intelligence check. Traits also determine the type of check; for example, if you’re attempting a combat check and you played a weapon that added the Ranged trait, it counts as a Ranged combat check.
If your check has the X trait, then for game purposes it is "an X check". (This is so intuitive to me after playing all four sets that at first I could not even understand what the OP's question was.)

elcoderdude |

+1.
Some cards and powers affect only specific types of checks, such as Dexterity checks, Acrobatics checks, or non-combat checks. If, on your character card, the skill you’re using refers to another skill, both skills count for the purpose of determining the type of check. For example, if you’re using the Arcane skill on a combat check, and your character card says that your Arcane skill is Intelligence +2, the check counts as both a combat Arcane check and a combat Intelligence check. Traits also determine the type of check; for example, if you’re attempting a combat check and you played a weapon that added the Ranged trait, it counts as a Ranged combat check.
If your check has the X trait, then for game purposes it is "an X check". (This is so intuitive to me after playing all four sets, at first I could not even understand what the OP's question was.)

elcoderdude |

NP. And I did not mean to suggest that it's an unreasonable question - rather, people who've been with the game all along may struggle to see how this is unclear to a newcomer.
It is so fundamental to the game that "a check with the X trait is an X check", you've convinced me that it should be spelled out more clearly in the rulebook.