Shields clarifications!


General Discussion


A) Can shields have Potency/Property runes? I am not seeing this in the rule book...! Where is it specified, page wise?

B) The bottom of page 176 says:

Quote:

Gaining a shield’s circumstance bonus to AC and TAC requires using the Raise a Shield action. A shield’s check penalty applies whenever

you’re holding the shield, regardless of whether you have it raised to gain its bonus.

Would I be correct to assume that this includes any Potency/Property the shield might have on it?

Thanks for the heads-up!!

TOS Admin

Paizo Employee Director of Game Design

3 people marked this as a favorite.

Shields do not benefit from runes as of the current rules.

Hope that helps.


That said, I'm pretty sure shield bosses/spikes can, since they are a weapon attached to a shield.

If this is incorrect, please let me know.


Dilvias wrote:

That said, I'm pretty sure shield bosses/spikes can, since they are a weapon attached to a shield.

If this is incorrect, please let me know.

That's correct. However, it only affects attacks with the shield. It has no effect on defending with the shield in any way.

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Pathfinder Playtest / Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion / Shields clarifications! All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Playtest General Discussion